We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Caldera de Bandama

Caldera de Bandama
Book In Advance
More Info
$74.28*
and up
Trekking to the Caldera de Bandama in Gran Canaria
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Las Palmas (Gran Canaria)
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

It is a real volcano caldera ( = crater ) of 1 kilometer od diameter and situated in a Natural Protected Area.Magnificent sights from the top (469 meters above sea level )reached by a very good road.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank canario09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    270
    68
    11
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lanzarote
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Old volcano with good views from viewpoint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Firstly the drive to it gets you away from the city of Las Palmas and view from the viewpoint is impressive. Sometimes this area is crowded with coaches and the road up is narrow and very windy (not windy as in wind) Is worth doing with a drive in that area or with Arucas or other smaller towns.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank lanzainsight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
421 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“What a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

As part of a coach tour, we stopped at the crater for about 10-15 minutes for photos. There is no parking area so you are just parking off the road. You need to be careful when getting on & off a coach as the road is narrow and there is a far bit of traffic both ways. We had a clear sky so the views into and across the crater were wonderful.
Would recommend a visit if you have the time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pkpuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing views from the top and the bottom!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We went to this volcano as part of an organized hike through Happy Hiking, it was a truly breath taking experience - literally! This was our first hike and it was an amazing experience it took us about an hour and a half to walk down, enjoyed a fab picnic at the bottom before we made our climb back up which took just over an hour. This was one of our highlights of our holiday.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Raj V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Drove up here to have a look. Nice views over the crater and part of island and also over the alleged oldest golf course in Spain. We didn't walk down into crater as didn't have the time.
Worth a detour if you are around this part of island.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlustfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caldera de Bandama also viewed

Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria
 
Gran Canaria, Canary Islands
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria
 

Been to Caldera de Bandama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing