We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but...”
Review of Cantur City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cantur City Hotel
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Blond-haired woman at the front desk was very rude. Asked for help in the safe door to fix it. We asked for help three times without success. Repair man never arrived. We maintained our money and our passports with us. Really bad service! Otherwise, the hotel was nice. The room was spacious and clean. Room Servant (Isabel) did an excellent job. The waiters were professional, prompt and friendly. Breakfast was good as well dinner. We missed, however, more Spanish cuisine. The hotel is ideally located in the center.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seija574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantur, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Cantur City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Seija,

I am writting in connection with your commentary.Thank you for writting your experience.
We are trying to imporve each day to garantice the best service.
In according to the safe box, we tried to explain that it was necessary you called the recepction when you were inside the room. Because the maintenance had to explian you how the safe box works.We had never received your call, it was the reason why the maintenance didnt go to your room.
Thank you for telling us your experience.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
There are newer reviews for Cantur City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 454 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

first at arrival had a problem with the credit card we had used to pay for a full 2 weeks as we used my fathers card and he was still in England until the next week, we had to cancel and pay a higher rate, staff have a huge attitude problem, breakfast is the worst as all the hot food is cold, we complained and they assured me that it will be hot the next day , it ended up warmer but still cold. the bar on the roof is closed until the weekend , we booked a smoking room and did not get one, and the roof has no ashtrays until the bar is open, i think they should remove stars.

Room Tip: get another hotel, its not worth it
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kraig v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantur, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Cantur City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Kraig V,

First of all thank you for you commentary. I am terrible sorry for your bad experience.
In connection with the payment form, we want to explaint that is necessary to pay the stay in the check-in at the moment. Hotels rules.
About the smoked room, it would be better if you choose it in your book, because at the check in moment they could be occuped.
In relation with our breakfast, we offer several food. You can choose between cold and warm dishes. The warm dishes are being controlled each day. We use some register. On the other hand, we have alredy passed our audit succesfully.
Finally, we are thankful with your commentary. It is necesarry to improve our service.
I am looking forward to hearing from you,
Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Cantur. The room was lovely.... very modern, clean & spacious. Little things really made our stay - Kettle, tea & coffee, free water (replenished daily), fridge, windows that open (!), 'proper' hair dryer (ladies... it is safe to leave your hairdryer at home!), gel & shampoo dispenser in the shower plus toiletries, room service.....
They also offer smoking rooms (yay!) which in no way effect the quality of the room.
Little moans about the room... single beds (made up with single sheets), not enough pillows, shower only - no bath. We did get a lot of road noise but I think that's to be expected in a big city.
The hotel itself is very nice, with a bar in reception plus roof top bar with pool, jaccuzzi & sun beds. In Summer they have a DJ & BBQ up there.
We only ate breakfast at the hotel & the choice was excellent. Not too busy & easy to negotiate the help-yourself buffet etc. However, after 9.30am there were quite a lot of 'gaps' and we had to ask on a few occasions for the staff to replenish. Also, the hot plate food was stone cold. Shame as other than that it was a good breakfast experience.
The staff were all lovely & very helpful.
As with most hotels in Las Palmas there is NO parking. On street parking is a total nighmare in the city so (expensive as it is) I'd recommend parking in a multi storey car park and leaving your car there for the juration! The Cantur offer a 'deal' with a carpark 2 minutes up the road for 14euros a day.
The hotel is perfectly located for central Las Palmas & 2 minutes from Las Canteras beach with it's bars & restaurants. There are also lots of fast food cafes, tapas bars & icecream bars around the hotel. A 10 minute walk to Cortes Del Ingles etc and one of the big Commercial shopping centres, plus the port and central bus station. Easy taxi ride to Las Arenas (THE biggest & best shopping centre!) and to La Triana in the 'old' town.
Overall a great hotel. Very highly recommended. Value for money depending if you book direct or not......

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LanzaBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Booked this as picking up a cruise and weren't disappointed. Helpful reception staff when we checked in and rooms good quality. Within walking distance of the beach so enjoyed a stroll along the Playa then wine and tapas. Good buffet breakfast. Were thinking of a a taxi to the port but reception said that it was only 10 minutes walk so that made it very easy. Would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Even those this hotel doesn't have room balcony, or pretty view from the rooms.. you feel excelent!
On our first day in this hotel, we left a lil bit of mess.. on the morning when we went with the ferry to Tenerife, and when we came back.. we had a pleasent surprise.. how clean was our room, and all our belongings were put in order..
The view from the top floor was lovely and also the jacuzzi..
The breakfast was good, with plenty of food..
I enjoyed staying at this hotel, and I definetevly recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CorinaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great hotel, the food was excellent and plenty to eat although my son a bit fussy had to get him food a couple of days. The maid service was excellent as we stayed 1 week. We found not alot to do except
sun bathing, if you want to be nearer to more going on you need to go further down the coast line.
We didn't need to take towels for the beach as can be hired for a deposit .
A great hotel and holiday

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Great location with plenty of cheap eating nearby. Good rooms, the only downside is no balcony. The breakfast at hotel is very good, plenty to choose from although sometimes a little cold. Staff very good apart from one receptionist who should not work in the customer service industry, but don't let this put you off

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brett7956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Palmas de Gran Canaria hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Imperial Playa
NH Imperial Playa
#4 of 43 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
691 reviews
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Gran Canaria
AC Hotel Gran Canaria
#10 of 43 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
822 reviews
2.3 mi away
AC Hotel Iberia Las Palmas
AC Hotel Iberia Las Palmas
#8 of 43 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Santa Catalina Hotel
Santa Catalina Hotel
#6 of 43 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
1,000 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Las Palmas Playa las Canteras
NH Las Palmas Playa las Canteras
#5 of 43 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sercotel Cristina Las Palmas
Sercotel Cristina Las Palmas
#16 of 43 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cantur City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cantur City Hotel

Address: Calle Sagasta 28, 35008 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Hotel Cantur)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
#5 Business Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
#6 Luxury Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Price Range: $91 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cantur City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel, 20 metres from Las Canteras Beach, features an outdoor pool and sun terrace, sauna and hot tub. There is a free Wi-Fi zone and free water and coffee in rooms. Air-conditioned rooms at Cantur City Hotel offer a pillow menu and feature parquet floors. There is a flat-screen satellite TV and a laptop safe. The marble bathroom comes with amenities and a hairdryer. The hotel's restaurant offers modern dishes and has a terrace with panoramic views. Room service is also available. At weekends the roof terrace serves cocktails with chill out music. There is a 24-hour reception, and you can hire a bicycle from the tour desk. An airport shuttle service is available for an extra charge. Full equipment Fitness Center Free of charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Cantur City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cantur
Best Western Las Palmas
Las Palmas Best Western
Cantur City Hotel Gran Canaria/Las Palmas De Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing