We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there, when you are a smoker !”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't go there, when you are a smoker !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

There are 2(!) smoke-detectors in the room, the only possibility to smoke, is in front of the hotel on the street or at the roof-terrace, but in both places there is no shelter/roof or anything protecting from wind and weather. If you are single your room has only a window in the quadrangle, most of the times when opening the window there was only kitchen smell but no fresh air. Compared to other hotels, charges for accommodation and drinks where very reasonable though!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    125
    116
    46
    26
See reviews for
53
150
44
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Astoria is a nice, reasonably priced hotel. Astoria is located near Las Canteras beach, there a grocery stores, restaurants and bus stops nearby. It's also within a walking distance to many sights and shopping areas in Las Palmas. Public transport services are good in the area. Rooms are clean, and you have all the important things there: free wi-fi connection, nice bathroom, hairdryer, tv, air conditioning and enough closet space. There's also an in-room safety deposit box, but you have to pay extra to use it. Not much, but it was a surprise.

There's also a nice, heated pool on the roof. The use of the pool, gym, sunbeds and sauna facilities is included in the room price. The bar on the roof is also nice and the drinks are not expensive. There are two elevators in the hotel. Reception personnel was very nice and helpful, but some of them did not speak English at all.

My room was in the second floor and facing Calle Venezuela, there was no noise from bars or streets at all.

If you plan to rent a car, read this carefully: Hotel Astoria has no parking, but it has a deal with a parking garage near by, Parking Las Canteras. You get a card from the hotel, so the garage will let you park for 6 euros per day. That is really cheap, and there are very few, if any parking space available on the streets. But, the garage is small, all the corridors and parking spaces are very narrow and it's dark inside. And the worst thing is the garage staff does not speak a word of any other language except Spanish. I though I could manage parking a car and paying, but it was not that simple. There are no instructions in English, the ticket machine only has Spanish menus and buttons and the system for long and short time parking is different, we had numerous problems with the gates, ticket machines and the staff. They were not prepared for tourists at all. If I worked there I would print out instructions sheets and in different languages, but no, they did not. If your Spanish is not fluent, park elsewhere, even though the price is tempting. If I went to Las Palmas again, I would rent a car for one day at the time, let the rental company bring it to the hotel in the morning and take it back in the evening. That's also handy if you just want to relax for a day between driving days: as wonderful as the mountain roads are, it can be tiring to the turn the steering wheel all day.

The buffet breakfast was good. There's plenty of dishes to choose from, both warm and cold courses. Sparkling wine is also included.

Over all the Astoria is a very nice hotel for the price. It's not a luxury hotel, but there's nothing big to complain about. The best things are location, breakfast and the internet connection, which is works faster than the free wi-fi in most hotels and the signal was strong everywhere: in the room, lobby or roof terrace.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nestorex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed 4 nights in March 2014 & was pleasantly surprised, having been disappointed by the other Bull Hotel the Reina Isabel a few weeks before. Do not get me wrong however: the Reina Isabel is a good, if not a very good hotel, desperate for a refurbishment, but the Astoria is much cheaper, especially, if like me you got a great deal from Travel Republic. The food is much worse & the tiny swimming pool is on the sixth, not fifth floor, up some very steep & high steps, not for the disabled. The dining room was not quite as bad as I was led to believe, as there is some natural light on the left hand side. The Buffet was awful for dinner, but just about acceptable for breakfast. My Rioja was superb though. The Fifth floor bar is to die for, however, very very cheap & with the natural orange juice they should be serving at breakfast. As I have said before at the Reina Isabel a cold buffet is one thing, but a hot buffet another; for hot food one needs waiters as they are cheaper & it saves space, so everyone gets a table. The dingy basement needs to be a spa with indoor swimming pool & the restaurant moved to the fifth floor, where there is much more space & light. I did not see the cafe in evidence that you need on the ground floor. The hotel public areas are bright & airy, but the room corridors again need refurbishment badly. 4th floor rooms were quite big & very quiet, even though I had to open the windows to get some air. It is even close the great Dino supermarket & excellent & cheap La Barca fish restaurant; eat there not in the hotel on the paseo.

Room Tip: Fifth floor is where all the action is, especially if you are disabled. Only the left hand lift goes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Astoria for a Winter week break and to see the carnival. This hotel ticked all our boxes, being ideally located with good value with good facilities. We were half board and whilst the food in the buffet did not vary much, it was possible to make a different choice each day. The price of drinks, both at the table and in the pleasant roof-top bar/lounge approached bargain levels (It was possible too have a great Rioja with the meal for no more than one would pay at the winery!). There was also a gym and pool on the roof. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank TonyM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Surprised there are so many negative reviews for this one. There is really nothing wrong with it. Nice enough room (although I had a difficult to open door) with a good powerful shower. Had an internal room, so very quiet.
Staff friendly, good choice at breakfast including hot food - it didn't vary much from day to day, but for less than £35.00 a night with breakfast its not to be expected.
On floor 5 there are 3 computers with free internet.
The hotel is very near Playa de Las Canteras and if you like Indian restaurants within easy walking distance there is the Aanand, the Nawabi and one which I cant remember the name of, but you can see it from the path by the beach not many turnings from the hotel going north.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sidestep41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rauma, Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed in this hotel one week and we liked about it. Our room was big enough and there weren't any noise from traffic or anything despite of some writings about noise. Our room was in the 1st floor and still quiet. Room was clean and bathroom seemed to be repaired lately.
Location of the hotel is very good. It is near the sea and also near shopping centers and restaurants. There were also many grocery stores near the hotel. It seems that many local people also lives in the area so not only tourists which is great.
From my point of view breakfast was also good. Even it was almost same every day there were many choices so you didn't need to eat same breakfast every day. The breaksfast includes different kind of breads, some warm food like bacon, sausages, roasted potatos, eggs... some salads and fruits and something sweet like cakes etc. We didn't have dinners in the hotel so I don't know about the dinner.
On roof there were good size of place to sunbath and also a small swimming pool. I didn't test the gym but seemed to be ok. Not big but at least some excercise is possible in there.
All in all nice hotel where were good to spend one week.
I don't have anything bad to say about the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marja1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

City hotel, big noise when opened window, this hotel is not the 3 stars category - more 2 stars. The offer of dinner was horrible, each day chicken and pizza, restaurant in basement without windows, the dish wasn´t clean. By spanish hotel we expected better service.

Room Tip: no windows to the street, upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Karolina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Las Palmas de Gran Canaria hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Palmas de Gran Canaria hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alisios Canteras
Hotel Alisios Canteras
#24 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Concorde Hotel Gran Canaria
Concorde Hotel Gran Canaria
#27 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Faycan
Hotel Faycan
#18 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Brisamar Canteras
Apartamentos Brisamar Canteras
#23 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Exe Las Canteras
Hotel Exe Las Canteras
#34 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
3.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Verol
Hotel Verol
#12 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Property: Astoria Hotel
Address: Calle Fernando Guanarteme 54, 35010 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 42 Hotels in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Astoria Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Astoria is one of the most centrally located hotels in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria. It is situated in the commercial area of the city, near the financial area and beside the spectacular Playa de Las Canteras. The hotel has a wonderful swimming pool on the top floor with spectacular views, plus a fully equipped gym. If you are looking for a central hotel with affordable prices, Hotel Astoria is undoubtedly your hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria. In addition to a privileged location, our hotel has excellent facilities to help you make your stay in Gran Canaria a real pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Gran Canaria/Las Palmas De Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing