We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal Alcaravaneras
Nearby Hotels
NH Las Palmas Playa las Canteras(Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Faycan(Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)
$48
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Apartamentos Brisamar Canteras(Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)(Great Value!)
$44
$43
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
NH Imperial Playa(Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Cantur City Hotel(Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)
$80
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Parque(Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
AC Hotel Gran Canaria(Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
AC Hotel Iberia Las Palmas(Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)
$97
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Bull Reina Isabel & Spa(Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)
$150
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pujol(Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)(Great Value!)
$54
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
14
16
22
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
16
22
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroombus stopsanta catalinaper nightciroprivacyeurosbalconyluggagesupermarket
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 63 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Everything was ok, but maybe it's a bit to noisy - from the street. Room was clean, also the bathroom. WiFi worked perfectly. The owner was not here, so we payed to the cleaning lady, which had access to reception (which is in 2. floor). Hostel is open all the time, so there is no problem when you are coming, but you must contact the owner first, that he can leave keys of your room inside of it.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank matjazzeleznik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAlcaravaneras, Gerente at Hostal Alcaravaneras, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su opinión. La recepción tiene un horario, y para cualquier cosa fuera de ese horario contactamos con los clientes para facilitarles un nº móvil de contacto nuestro por si fuera necesario y y las indicaciones para acceder a su habitación.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed in July in a single ensuite. The room was small, but clean. There was no window, just a vent. Had to wait half an hour upon arrival for the receptionist since the reception (a room on the second floor, they don't have a separate desk) is almost always closed.

Payment upon arrival, no refund. There is a kitchen upstairs, with a fridge and a microwave, so that's good. The location is boring, 30 minutes away from Telmo bus station and 20 from Santa Catalina. Nearest supermarket is 5 minutes away. The area is calm.

Couldn't sleep for 2 nights since an elderly, senile guest who stayed in room next to mine fell asleep watching TV on full volume for the entire night. Couldn't contact the reception to deal with this since it was closed. Other guests were hostile, most people staying there didn't understand or speak English.

Overall, I don't recommend this hostel since guests have free rein to do whatever they want once the receptionists leaves.

Room Tip: Get room with shared bathrooms, they have windows and balconies.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fragus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAlcaravaneras, Gerente at Hostal Alcaravaneras, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014
Google Translation

Gracias por su opinión. Todas las habitaciones del Hostal tienen ventanas, bien para la calle o para un patio interior. En cuanto a la espera por el recepcionista pedirle disculpas le habrá surgido algo y no pudo estar allí a la hora de su llegada. El Hostal está situado en el centro de la ciudad a 10 minutos del Parque Santa Catalina. Tenemos en los paneles informativos de cada planta un nº de teléfono para cuando la recepción esté cerrada poder contactar con el recepcionista para cualquier cosa ( como en su caso fué las molestias por parte de otro huésped ).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

All in all, it was ok. Good price and clean common bathroom. Good position but at night it can be pretty noisy. You can easily reach the Playa de las Canteras and the Parque Santa Catalina. On the fourth floor, there is a small common kitchen which is unfortunately not fully equipped.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aquiyahora5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAlcaravaneras, Gerente at Hostal Alcaravaneras, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias, su opinión nos ayuda a mejorar. En cuanto a la falta de utensilios en la cocina desde que lo supimos fueron reemplazados por unos nuevos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Due to a delayed flight, I had to find accomodation late and quickly. Through Internet I found this place, that seemed to fit my immediate needs. However, I checked out as soon as possible in the morning, with the hope never to have to return. The bed I got was awful, the room not very clean, and the other guests noisy.

I realize that I may have got a room that was the very last one they would give away, a room that maybe wasn't cleaned yet, or - maybe - a room that the night staff usually used? I realize that it may seem unfair to judge the whole hostel from a short night's experience. But still, if so, they could have reduced the already low price further, and I would have been a lot more understanding.

I did not consider this neighborhood that bad, and still I do not, since I'd two times before stayed at the Hostal Falow, just one block away: Even less expensive, quiet and much tidier.

Room Tip: Unless you're into boozing all night, find another hostel.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Johan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAlcaravaneras, Gerente at Hostal Alcaravaneras, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Thank you very much, your feedback helps us improve. My apologize for your wating in your check in. the reception is not 24 hours so we give to all the guest a front door´s key.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I stayed there for one week in March 2011. That`s true, that they give key from main door and reception doesn`t wokr all the time. Room was ok. Clean. But i don`t know about other rooms. The hostal is about 15 min walk from main beach.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAlcaravaneras, Gerente at Hostal Alcaravaneras, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias, su opinión nos ayuda a mejorar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews