We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room With a Great View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AC Hotel Gran Canaria
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We just stayed at this hotel, which is the highest tower in the island. Our room was 1910, on the 19th floor and we had a small balcony with a wonderful view of the city, the beach, and the port. The tower is circular in shape, so our room was a bit pie shaped. The headboard and furniture seemed to be made of a light colored wood. The floor was made of parquet. The very good thing was that the minibar was free and every day the maid would replenish the drinks we took, which included water, soft drinks, and beer.

The breakfast buffet was on the 23rd floor at the Bitacora Restaurant. The price per person of the buffet was 15.75 euros. There was a wide variety of food at the buffet. I have to thank Jose, the cook, who would fry me an egg, and who was very friendly and always smiling. One of our waitresses was Ester, who was also very sympathetic. We had lunch here three days and the menu of the day cost 17 euros each, and was very good. Needless to say, the views at the restaurant were terrific.

On the top floor there was a swimming pool that was protected from the wind by glass panels. However it was too cold for us to swim.

The location of the hotel was quite good. It was only a 5 minute walk to go to the Las Canteras Beach. The Santa Catarina Park was beside the hotel and there was a tourist office there where we got information about tours of the island. The El Corte Ingles store was a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

I would return to this hotel if I went back to Las Palmas.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor to get good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (829)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 829 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed five nights, so felt insulted when a mature, unfriendly male receptionist tried to fob us off with a room (1412) smelling of drains!! However, after complaining, we were given another room on the 15th floor. The positives: The sound insulation to the neighbouring rooms is excellent. The beds are big, mattresses comfortable. Nice views from the upper storeys. Drinks in the free mini-bar (small beer the only alcoholic drink) were replenished daily. Female receptionists friendly and helpful. Everything very clean. Large TV with programmes also in English, French, German, Italian and Portuguese. Free internet access in the lobby.

The negatives: The wooden floors transfer high-heel clip-clop to the rooms below (ladies, please consider this!). Complimentary toiletries were not replenished. Not all bathrooms have been renovated. The balconies are in need of decoration. Traffic noise can be heard in the front and side rooms, so ask for a room at the rear of the hotel (west), with a view of the beach. The rooftop pool is small and not designed for swimming. The gym is also
small, but has several pieces of good eqipment.

We did not eat at the hotel at all, so cannot judge the food. After perusing our bill, we noticed that the price of our room ranged from €90 to €150, depending on the day, so check out different dates carefully. If you can get a decent price, the hotel is recommendable.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear (west) have a view of the beach and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IgelEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Good hotel and recommend the food. Views from the hotel over the harbour are also good.
The room was spacious, clean and in very good decorative order. During my trip the hotel didn’t have any pre-paid room internet card and trying to register online in reception was a college degree task. Although a task, you can walk down to reception/foyer and us your laptop there using the free hotel Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank postnote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Not a bad hotel. The room was good sized, with 2 LCD TV's, a nice large bathroom, big comfortable bed, and 2 balconies.

The internet leaves much to be desired, and is normally at cost (for non platinum members), is quite slow, and requires a pre-paid 24 hour card for each device you want to connect. I also had much trouble getting it to connect at times (sometimes it would take me over an hour just to get it to connect).

The swimming pool on the rooftop is small but nice.

The restaurant is nothing special.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The location is right next to the sea port, but 30 minutes by taxi from the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joesmoe00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Sensibly priced for business stop-overs.
Easy to locate as the cylindrical hotel rises 23 storeys into the air. Night-time the top of the building also lit up with the AC logo.
Rooms are modern and clean with the added bonus of a free mini bar! Yes "free"! All the AC hotels provide this nice touch.
Internet is only free in the lobby area.
2 minutes on foot from the waterfront.
Only one point to remember, the hotel has NO parking however secure local parking is nearby costing €16.20 per night.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _forevergreen_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I always go to Las Palmas every year and this is now my favorite hotel. The staff are kind, the place is clean, the breakfast is good. There is free Wify on the lobby floor and they have a nice little gym and pool. You are in a good location and I had a nice view. I love Las Palmas and I hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Americanomadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

There are many very nice things to say about this Ac hotel, and a few bad things, let us start with the bad.

The pool is Not heated and there for it is freezing cold and almost impossible to use, the pool area is very small and only ¼ have sun with the rest ¾ left in the shadow, there is a loud humming noise at all times It may be the large Ac fans, and there is no service at the pool and no towels, and there is only about 15 sun beds.

The Ac noise in the rooms is very loud, but off course, you can always turn it off if it is not to hot outside.

Internet access in the room is 13eu for 24 hours, and parking in a nearby parking house is 16eu for 24 hours with in and out privileges

Apparently it is allowed to smoke on the balconies, and just outside the lobby, I find that to be somewhat bothersome

The fitness room is a not worth mentioning (i was going to say the fitness room is a joke)

Now here are some of the good things about the Ac Hotel.

The Location is very nice, near the sea, and restaurants.

Airport is a 25min taxi ride and costs 35eu, and the very new and modern airport Bus is almost right outside the door and is about 45min and it costs 3eu.

Rooms and bathrooms are kept very clean indeed, the furniture is well appointed and functional, and there is a well assorted FREE mini bar.

Beds are dbl size, and rather comfortable, but do NOT expect the usual very comfortable king size Marriott beds.

The TV in the room is digital, and you can change the language of films and TV shows, in the menu so you don’t have to cope with the annoying Spanish over dub, ask the staff to show you how.

The view, in about a 1/3 of the rooms the view is terrible facing other buildings at a distance of 10-15 meters, but in the rest 2/3 the view is marvelous, with sea and city and mountain views and a nice open balconies.

The Lobby is nice and clean, and there is plenty of relaxing leather chairs, and a slow to medium free wifi

The Staff is very polite and service minded.

Conclusion:
I do not recommend that you stay her if you find that the pool and sunbathing is important,
I do recommend this hotel if you don’t care about the pool and sunbathing

Room Tip: Choose high floor rooms, they all have breath taking views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tonysenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Palmas de Gran Canaria hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Imperial Playa
NH Imperial Playa
#4 of 44 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
703 reviews
2.2 mi away
AC Hotel Iberia Las Palmas
AC Hotel Iberia Las Palmas
#8 of 44 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
543 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Las Palmas Playa las Canteras
NH Las Palmas Playa las Canteras
#5 of 44 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Santa Catalina Hotel
Santa Catalina Hotel
#6 of 44 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
1,017 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cantur City Hotel
Cantur City Hotel
#11 of 44 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Reina Isabel Hotel
Reina Isabel Hotel
#1 of 44 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Gran Canaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Gran Canaria

Address: Calle Eduardo Benot 3, 35007 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Price Range: $112 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Gran Canaria 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your AC Hotel Gran Canaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Gran Canaria Hotel
AC Hotel Gran Canaria Las Palmas De Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing