We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location”
Review of NH Imperial Playa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
NH Imperial Playa
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The hotel is situated right on the beach and the choices of restaurants along the board walk are endless. The hotel itself is ok and my room had an amazing view of the sea and boardwalk. I was on the 7th floor and unfortunately had a few problems sleeping at night due to the loud music being played in one of the restaurants. Although I realize its a Spanish speaking country, there were no English TV channels in the room as everything was in Spanish so I suggest if you travelling alone, make sure you have your book or laptop to occupy you (if you prefer to stay in the hotel)
I've dealt with more friendlier staff I must say, no one really smiled or greeted, but other than that its a well located hotel if you staying in Las Palmas.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor for less noise and a decent sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cherise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (707)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 707 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

I’ve stayed at the NH Imperial Playa twice between Nov 2012 and Feb 2013. Both times on business.
The first time I stayed, I had a sea front room the second time I stayed, I was given a “family” room inwardly facing into a “nothing”.
The hotel staff are pleasant enough, however they did not go beyond what was needed to get you checked in and to your room.
The bar was completed closed on both occasions and I had to ask for it to be opened on both occasions I stayed there having arranged to meet colleagues. The staff seems most displeased I had put them out in such a manner as to ask them to open the bar. As soon as I left, it was closed again and at the end of the evening (I say end of evening – in Spain this was 22:30 which in their culture is about between starter and main course) I returned and was told it was closed for the evening!
Technically, there is air conditioning in the room, but on both occasions, it did not function “at all”. On both occasions, it was well above 20°c outside. I called a technician to the room who waved his hand in front of the air vent in the room, left and I saw no more of him again or an improvement in the performance of the air con.
Beds are small and not comfortable.
But there is free WiFi on the positive side….
Breakfast is typically continental with the addition of a “DIY” omelette style breakfast. By this I mean, you have to get a bowl, pick the fillings you want, then give it to a very surly waiter who’ll then take it off to cook it for you. Coffee you get from a coffee machine, too.
So overall, I knew there was a reason not to stay here. Now I doubly know there are reasons not to stay….

Room Tip: try another hotel.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dhsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel is in a great position, right on the Paseo across from the beach with lots of cafes, bars etc very close by. The only thing I found different is that it is a very transient hotel with airline crews coming in and out all the time. Other than this, it's a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: It's worth paying the extra for a seaview room as the view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wisegirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

- great location (by the beach and near the center)
- good breakfast with lots of choices
- best hotel I've ever stayed in, very clean and in shape inside
- great cleaning service (they somehow did it every time we were out of the room, whether it was by chance or on purpose it was always nice to come back to a clean room)
- safe was free and you could choose your own security number plus it worked like a charm
- free wi-fi
- very friendly staff and the reception spoke good english

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NKL84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We spent two nights here between Christmas and New year. The location is great right on the northern end of the Las Canteras beach. Lots of bars and restaurants in the area. Our room was quite small and facing the interior of the hotel. Not a very nice view. 155 Euros without breakfast was far too much for this room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel did not have an own parking, but it was possible to park in the La Puntilla parking only a couple of hundred meters away.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank pebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

if you come to this hotel you dont have to compromise since although this is a city hotel it has the wonderful beach just at the entrance which makes it a great holiday hotel with all the restaurants and shops a city has to offer with the beach, as resort hotels do
the interior of the rooms is recent and modern the outside could seem like old but who cares about that
we booked a standard room with no view so i contacted the hotel and arranged a room with a view (of course for an additional fee) , unfortunatelly upon arriving the room we got was a room with NO view. so this was a bit of disappointment
but the tall gentleman at the reception who was really friendly and professional saved the day and found us a room at the front which was really worth the extra money
the lady who supposed to arrange the front room should thank the reception for the professional work
anyhow to see the ocean every day from the terrace was amazing
we did not eat at the hotel but there is plenty of places to try around the hotel
rooms are clean, staff was polite, we had no problem

Room Tip: get a room at the front, even for an additional fee it is really worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank servicefreak34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Hotel nice and clean and on the beach front. Free wifi which is a bonus. Lots of places to eat and drink on the door step and pretty reasonably priced. The hotel is about a 20 minute stroll to a large shopping centre which is right next to the port. Only down side is that this hotel doesn't have a pool...although as its next to the beach it's not a problem. Rooms are small but we had one with a side balcony and it was clean and comfortable. Nice stay thanks!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brummie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
0.1 mi away
NH Las Palmas Playa las Canteras
NH Las Palmas Playa las Canteras
#5 of 44 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
462 reviews
0.4 mi away
AC Hotel Gran Canaria
AC Hotel Gran Canaria
#10 of 44 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
831 reviews
27.0 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
AC Hotel Iberia Las Palmas
AC Hotel Iberia Las Palmas
#8 of 44 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
544 reviews
1.9 mi away
Santa Catalina Hotel
Santa Catalina Hotel
#6 of 44 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
1,017 reviews
0.4 mi away
Reina Isabel Hotel
Reina Isabel Hotel
#1 of 44 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Imperial Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Imperial Playa

Address: Ferreras, 1 | Las Canteras Beach, La Puntilla Area, 35008 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
#3 Family Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Price Range: $108 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Imperial Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Las Canteras Beach with direct access to endless local attractions is the four-star NH Imperial Playa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your NH Imperial Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Imperial Playa Hotel Las Palmas De Gran Canaria
NH Imperial Playa Gran Canaria/Las Palmas De Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing