We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Santa Catalina
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Las Olas Hotel Las Palmas(Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)
View Hotel
Casa Mozart . Hotel Boutique(Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Palma Romantica Hotel Las Palmas(Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
AC Hotel Iberia Las Palmas(Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel THe Fataga & Centro de Negocios(Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Parque(Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Apartamento Bajamar(Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Bull Astoria(Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Tamadaba(Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)
View Hotel
Hotel Alisios Canteras(Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,100)
Filter reviews
1,100 results
Traveler rating
349
419
223
72
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
349
419
223
72
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold worldhistoric hoteloutdoor poolcolonial stylepiano playertraditional hotellas palmasagatha christiebeautiful parkpublic parkfaded grandeursmoked salmonreception stafflovely balconygran canariaopposite directionfive star hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
342 - 347 of 1,100 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is a wonderful old colonial hotel set in fabulous grounds, it has a beautiful spa attached to it with a nice pool/bar area above. It is conveniently located near the town and two beaches. A truly five star hotel but you must look at it through the eyes of the 1930s with a modern spin. We would definitely stay here again without hesitation.
I forgot ,I am not a breakfast man but u have to have it here its amazing you even get a glass of Cava.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front on an upper floor provides a lovely view. Don't miss breakfast !
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgecassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The hotel was great. The rooms were large and grand with a king size very comfortable bed. In fact I found it too big because we lost each other in it. Whilst the hotel was very clean and they they mopped and cleaned the sheets everyday, but for a 5* I expected lamp shades to be dusted down (had a thick layer of dust on it) and my drink glasses were left dirty in the room. They never cleaned them at all. Also my 2 year old kept escaping because when we locked the room from inside it would still open (ie it would look locked but actually you cant lock it from inside at all)! I informed them but although they said they would sort it out they never did. We just had to be careful with it which we were. Also the wifi was so weak it was virtually non existent. All these things were just issues I noticed and I loved the hotel and its breakfast. Our bed was sooo comfortable and always clean! The restaurant was expensive but if you ask the reception staff they will recommend the local places to eat. Beach was a 15 min walk away which was fine. Indoor pool was nice and although we booked it for this my 2 year old was not meant to use it all and they "kindly" bent the rules and let us use it between 3-5pm.
I would recommend booking south of the island is better to be closer to Aqualand, Sioux City etc. Everything is in the south.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with good wifi signal
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank serinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

I had the illusion that the whole island is for sunshine and beach which turned out to be absolutely wrong. It takes 40-50 minutes by car to get to popular seasides at the south. The hotel itself, though apparently facing the seaside, did not provide any convenience in terms of commuting. The breakfast is lovely and fresh but tends to get you bored after several days. The room is smaller than expected but it is quite comfortable for a short one-week stay. The spa/sauna and pool are excellent despite the fact they are smaller than average 4/5* size. However all facilitates are very empty so I guess it would not be a big problem. Generally a wise pick if you are around las pamas area. I will not return here... The place is just soooo far and its service/price could not make up for over 1.5 hours of travelling every day

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Audrey_saycheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My wife & I plus 2 Friends stayed 2 Nights at Hotel prior to a Cruise ( we had stayed there some 8 Years ago ). The Hotel is very atmospheric with much use of Canary Island Style but regrettably some modernisation is urgently required to justify 5 Star status.

We Booked a Junior Suite which was spacious and very well serviced by the Housekeeping Staff - however it was lacking in warmth and Light. We had a nice Terrace overlooking the Front of the Hotel & Gardens but the weather was not warm enough to use it. The Bathroom was small and tired, albeit the water was abundant and hot.

We Booked Half Board and do not agree with previous comments regarding the Menu or quality. There was plenty of choice and both Dinners taken were extremely well presented, tasty and superb value for money - however the Service was extremely slow, albeit the Restaurant was only half full. Similarly we considered the Breakfast Buffet to be excellent in every respect.

We utilised the Hotel Spa and were most impressed by the Facilities and the level of Service - it was too cold to use the outdoor Pool.

Our main complaint was the Bar Facilities which were totally inadequate and very poorly staffed. It was a real struggle to find space and to gain any Service - this is made all the more frustrating when the Restaurant does not open until 8pm and the Bar area is full of People eating Bar Meals for a considerable length of time. The Hotel Management appear totally unconcerned at this embarrassing lack of Service. Also for a 5 Star Hotel to charge 6 Euro for a small Bottle of Water is a disgrace.

This could be a great hotel but I wonder if the Owners really care.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mayfllower1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Worst 5* hotel we've stayed in over 25 years of travelling. Building exterior beautiful, but all rooms drafty and tired. Bathrooms extremely dated. Public areas open to the outside terrace, so every evening we were cold in the bar nd restaurant.
We had booked half board, which given the lack of resturants in walking distance was wise, BUT given the menu and service we wished we hadn't. The menu never changes, it has 7 starters and 7 mains and 4 desserts. If you like everything you're ok, but if you don't then it gets very repetitive. A couple of the staff were friendly, but most were unsmiling, could not explain their dishes in English and service was very slow. Some of the dishes were nice, but avoid the steaks unless you like them tough!
Breakfast was AWFUL. Staff either ignored or grunted at you as you entered the breakfast room. Hot breakfast was a) cold, b) greasy c) in-edible. Cold breakfast was 3* standard at best in terms of choice and quality.
No poolside service, even though a lot of guest were sitting around the pool area (pool itself was empty). If you wanted a drink you had to get it yourself.
This hotel looks on the website to be in a lovely big park and easily accessible to the sea front. In fact the park is small and surrounded by very busy roads. Sea front is accessed via an underpass with very narrow footpaths - not recommended.
It sums it up when reception staff never once asked if we were enjoying our stay and there is no guest questionnaire. The whole impression we got is that Santa Catalina is totally geared to the local business market. In terms of international holiday standards this should be no more than 3*.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews