We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Santa Catalina
Nearby Hotels
NH Las Palmas Playa las Canteras(Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)
$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Cantur City Hotel(Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)
$189
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
AC Hotel Iberia Las Palmas(Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)
$108
AC Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
NH Imperial Playa(Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)
$95
NH Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
AC Hotel Gran Canaria(Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Pujol(Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)(Great Value!)
$51
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apartamentos Brisamar Canteras(Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)(Great Value!)
$51
$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Apartamentos Colon Playa(Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)
$71
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Faycan(Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)
$48
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Parque(Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)(Great Value!)
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,101)
Filter reviews
1,101 results
Traveler rating
349
420
223
72
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
349
420
223
72
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold worldhistoric hoteloutdoor poolcolonial stylepiano playertraditional hotellas palmasagatha christiebeautiful parkpublic parkfaded grandeursmoked salmonreception stafflovely balconygran canariaopposite directionfive star hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
360 - 365 of 1,101 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This might be an adequate four-star hotel but judged by the five stars it claims it falls short. An oldie-worldie air pervades, and none the worse for that. That idiom carried through to our 'superior' bedroom with its balcony overlooking the park; adequately spacious and traditionally furnished but marred by the woeful wi-fi. One oddity was the way the beds were made up; just sheets with no blankets and certainly no duvets. Blankets are stored in the room but if you want to use them you have to make your own bed!

The breakfast buffet is excellent if sometimes congested. Dinner in the restaurant, however, is a wretched affair; pretentious, expensive and unwilling to go off the very limited menu even to the extent of refusing to serve anything from the room service menu, which comes from the same kitchen.

Away from the park by the hotel (which confusingly is not the Parque Santa Catalina; that is over a mile away) the area is a nondescript (but not unpleasant) district a mile or so north of the town centre and about as far south of the entertainment district; both are easily accessed with the number one bus from in front of the hotel. The sea is only a few hundred yards away but the littoral motorway is an obstacle to getting there.
The free underground car park is a bonus in a town where parking is difficult although the switching off of fully three quarters of the lights makes it a somewhat menacing place.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SouthOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

A wonderful building in wonderful grounds Hotel Catalina's foundation asset. The building is magnificent inside and out. See the pictures and you get the idea. The hotel lobby is a pleasure to sit in. The classical mucic playing quietly in the background enhances the restful atmosphere. The staff are mostly very helpful. Breakfast is comprehensive and fresh. Fresh fruit, cereals cold meats, cheeses, hot buffet, yogurt, etc. Food and drink is very good. The hotel food and drink is however very expensive in comparison to the island in general. Treat yourself to at least one coffee in the bar and relax in the warmth as the world goes by. Room 240 has no balcony and the window is in a small annex attached to the edge of the room. Cleanliness is first rate. Do tip the chambermaid if your service is as good as ours was. Wifi is very poor both in the room and in the lobby. This is most irritating. A 5 star hotel should have seamless wifi. Outside pool was drained when we visited. Hotel is a short €1.40 busfare away from wonderful beaches or in the opposite direction the city centre. Taxi will cost about €5 to these places. Museum Nestor and city gardens are adjacent to hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBestMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The buffet breakfast quality and choice is superb - although being served at least a coffee would be nice from a service perspective. At the weekend there was quite a queue for coffee - which detracted a bit from the 5 star food available.
In general the hotel seemed to lack the 5 star service, and in the rooms it wasn't 5 star ambience. But then the price is pretty good so I wasn't really disappointed.
I did find the bathroom very dark and small. Also a bit of a bizarre choice of freebies in the bathroom. For a woman travelling with a weekend flight bag (think stupid rules about liquids) conditioner and body lotion would be more useful than a shoe horn and sewing kit.
It would also be nice to add tea/coffee facilities in the room.
I would mark it down for lack of sound insulation, as it really seemed very poor.
The location is pretty central and I also love walking when on holiday, so no problems there.
Behind the hotel in a little park is a public 50m swimming pool costing only a couple of euros and almost empty when I swam every morning. Well worth a visit if you enjoy swimming.
The hotel spa massage was really good, though I wasn't so impressed with the facial.
Overall it was a good choice for me - although I would class it as more 3 or 4 stars, except the breakfast quality which was superb.

Room Tip: My balcony was no use as it never got the sun.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oilbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Back to Santa Catalina for the 3rd time. The only place we want to stay in Las Palmas! Hotel situated a bit of distance away from beach or shopping, but we like walking when on holiday, so perfect for us. Taxi costs 4-5 Euro to the beach or to Vegueta/Triana, so no problem! We love the surroundings with the lovely Park Doramas with trees, palms, waterfalls and singing birds. Breakfast is good, with champagne (or not - cava of course!) available every morning. We also love the restaurant Terraza, had several great meals here. Some of the rooms at the hotel is in need of refurbishment, but staff has always offered us to change room if we did not like the one we was offered. Staff has also became more professional and bilingual since we visited last time. We hope to be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nordkvinnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

set juts back from the promenade in Las Palmas, this hotel oozes old world Spanish charm in its style. It really is a treat for the eyes
The room I had was not huge but more than adequate and overlooked the gardens. Full bathroom with shower over bath.
Free wifi which is always good.
The restaurant does not open till 8 pm but you can get tapas in the bar, but venture out there are plenty of restaurants near by in the town.
There is a full gym and spa with an indoor and out door pool.
In places like the stair carpet the hotel is showing a little age, but it does not distract.
Breakfast is great and there is little better on a warm evening than to sit on the hotel terrace with a drink and just relax
Its not cheap but at €120 a night not bad either

Room Tip: take your swimming things ;-)
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews