We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Catalina Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Catalina Hotel
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Elegant hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Any on staying at the hotel has to understand the history of the hotel. It is an old hotel surrounded by beautiful grounds. The furnishings are all antiques.

It was the only hotel and the stepping off for those that went to the morocco.

Many famous people have stayed there. Men would bring their wives there to stay when they went off to explore other lands. It was the only civilized place.

So enjoy the history of the hotel

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank playpen009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    274
    148
    42
    23
See reviews for
105
377
50
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Fantastic location! The park surrounding the hotel is superb.
The hotel and restaurant staff were absolutely marvellous, proud of their working place, very informed about local history and places to visit, helpful. The lobby had a beautiful flower arrangement changed regularly. Newspapers are available, the restaurant choice was superb both at breakfast time and at evening meals.
The spa facilities were excellent too: large indoor and outdoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi, massage.
Cannot fault anything at all. Thoroughly enjoyed our 2 week stay and would definitely go there again and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had a good room with a nice view to a little from the balcony and no traffic noise, even if the hotel is centrally situated. You can walk to the city centers and the beach, but we preferred to go by bus or taxi, which are cheap. Fine restaurant with good breakfast and dinner. The staff was very helpful. Fine large pool. Only minor complaint was some unpredictable fallouts of the wifi.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Holger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
163 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Yes, old fashioned it may be, but if it is exemplary service, delightful staff, magnificent cuisine one is after then undoubtedly this is the Las Palmas hotel for you. Some unfortunates may call it shabby in ignorance of the delightful ambience of Reception and the Bar Carabella, but I for one thoroughly enjoyed my two weeks here, not for the first time. La Terraza restaurant serves the best food in Las Palmas under the guidance of Jose Rogano. Breakfasts are efficient and hit courses are served to order.
Reception was most helpful. My only complaint are the rather haphazard offerings from the generously proportioned evening pianist who often seems more concerned about her mobile phone than the bar customers. Bar Staff are first rate. Housekeeping immaculate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vincitveritas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
109 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel a few times over the last 3 years, we live in the south of the island so it's always nice to come to the capital and spend a night or two here.

We love this hotel, it's very classical, fantastic location, great rooms and bar scene for chilling out over a drink or two!

However there is always the issue over the breakfast, this always lets the place down, Big Style.

It's not the food, but it is, the service, or should i say lack of it!
No one greets anyone, no one is smiling, there is no service, trying to order anything is just plain 'Hardwork!"...No one's interested, infact, the waiters walk around like their in some kind of 'Zombie Land'...they just don't 'see' anything. For sure you would receive better service at the Local Cafe...
Such a shame for such a 'Good' hotel. We think with a bit more 'Managing' going on this hotel would move from being Good to Great, & shine with the 5* that it Claims & deserves to be.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the front of the hotel & on a higher level for a better view over the port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rigboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I would describe the Santa Catalina hotel as 'grande'. It is grande almost Agatha Christie style. With period type feel to it. The rooms are a good size. We stayed for a week in may and our stay was very pleasant and relaxing. The staff are very helpful, the food is very good and in large portions.After dinner you can relax in the foyer and read the English newspapers and listen to the piano being played. The buffet breakfast is self service, with a variety of food for all likes, including a glass of cava if desired. Many of the rooms have a balcony, where you can see the lovely gardens around the hotel. The sauna and steam rooms were never full. The position of the hotel was about 10 minutes from the nearest beach (there is a free shuttle) there are ships within 15 minutes walk. The main bus garage is about 15 minutes on the bus, and there are coaches to other parts of the Island. If you want a noisy rocking holiday this is not the place. It is more a middle age upwards type of place

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the front to see the garden, the side for a little more silence
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alton V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston-Tx
Level Contributor
331 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We loved this hotel so much , so much that I had to write a review. We enjoyed our room, the pool, the spa, the restaurant, the breakfast, the hall in each floor, the area of the bar and reception. It's perfect. The staff do the very best to make you feel at home and they book restaurants, call taxi (just seconds) near the hotel area, give suggestions, all the kindness, the hotel smells so good (the hotel is super clean). I loved everything about Santa Catalina .We miss them. They spoiled us so much that we can't forget them all.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk suggestion and they can book restaurant and taxis(I use the taxi Ruben Marrero an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Celita Louback W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Palmas de Gran Canaria hotels
1.9 mi away
NH Imperial Playa
NH Imperial Playa
#5 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
4.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
1.5 mi away
Reina Isabel Hotel
Reina Isabel Hotel
#1 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
4.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cristina Las Palmas Hotel
Cristina Las Palmas Hotel
#19 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
3.5 of 5 stars 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
AC Hotel Gran Canaria
AC Hotel Gran Canaria
#8 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
4.0 of 5 stars 655 reviews
0.9 mi away
AC Hotel Iberia Las Palmas
AC Hotel Iberia Las Palmas
#6 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
4.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
1.9 mi away
NH Las Palmas Playa las Canteras
NH Las Palmas Playa las Canteras
#7 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
4.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Catalina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Catalina Hotel

Property: Santa Catalina Hotel
Address: Leon y Castillo 227, 35005 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
#2 Family Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
#2 Spa Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Catalina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Catalina 5*, which construction dates of the year 1890, is a reference in the city of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria. Since its opening, famous personalities such as Sir Winston Churchill, Maria Callas, Gregory Pack, Presidents of Governments and States such as the Royal Family, have chosen the Hotel Santa Catalina 5* as to stay in during their visit to the island. The hotel is situated in the centre of the Parque Doramas, a huge park surrounded by palmtrees and only a few metres away of the promenade. Disposes of 202 rooms, 3 big conferencerooms as to celebrate all types of events such as weddings, congresses and a business centre which consists of 4 smaller conferencerooms as to celebrate meetings, lunches/dinners, presentations etc. The A La Carte Restaurant "La Terraza", awarded with 3 suns in the Repsol guide and run by our Chef Jose Rojano, will surprise diners with original plates such as mango gazpacho... During the night you will be able to have a drink on our fantastic open air terrace and at the same time enjoy the lovely music of our piano player. Let yourself be pampered in our Spa Centre where our professionals will do their utmost as to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Finish your day by having a relaxing bath in our outdoor pool and a snack in our poolbar. It does not matter for which reason you will stay at the Hotel Santa Catalina 5*, for business or pleasure, we do know though that your stay at the hotel will be unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Santa Catalina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Catalina
Santa Catalina Hotel Gran Canaria/Las Palmas De Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing