We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm in Las Palmas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Santa Catalina Hotel
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Old World Charm in Las Palmas”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Beautiful colonial architecture,looming large as you enter its gates from a busy main boulevard,with a characteristic palm garden in the front of the property.
Rooms were large with a lovely sit out facing the garden with two large cupboards and a comfortable bathroom with a shower attached to the bath,and an enclosed toilet and bidet which was rather useful when sharing the room.
tea and coffee facilities,free WIFI,comfy bed and linen.Bath towels were a bit discoloured with age!
Breakfast buffet was sumptous served in a beautiful with a skylight.The Bar opened out to large porches with fine music in the nights.The food in the restaurant was delicious and their huge Banquet Halls with frescos were stunning for a large formal wedding and a seated dinner .Service was good,silent and efficient.
It seemed we were at an "old" Club instead of a Hotel.
The location is not walking distance to the beach or the shops and local restaurants,but they are only a 7 min cab ride.
The old city(a must visit!) is again a 5 min cab ride!
The Gym is large and busy,the massages and facials are very good.The indoor pool is adequate and medium sized.the steamrooms,jacuzzi and sauna are all clean.

Room Tip: front facing rooms have nice views of the garden.Ask to be near the lifts as the corridors are dark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Designdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    363
    193
    59
    34
See reviews for
141
505
58
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macher, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We live in Lanzarote and make regular, short trips to Las Palmas - usually for a bit of retail therapy (me) and golf (my husband) !
The Santa Catalina is definately our favourite, both for location and standard - close to the marina, shopping centres and has a car park (a bonus for a city hotel). Its 'old world' charm and style means that the rooms are not super modern, but are generally large, spotless and well equipped. The Spa is excellent - treatments varied and reasonably priced, great indoor pool with sauna, steam room and jacuzzis and a lovely outdoor pool.
We love it !!

Room Tip: Its worth paying a bit extra for a superior double and requesting a large balcony with views towards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

As usual we booked this holiday based on the excellant reviews it had received. Reception staff were all very helpfull and polite. Our room was a good size with a huge balcony overlooking the parque doramas. Sheets and towels were changed everyday and room kept spotless. Breakfast was a very relaxed atmosphere and there was everything that you could wish for including a melon smoothie to die for!. The pool area again very relaxed and lifeguard always on hand to supply towels and sunbed matresses. Free spa very pleasant if the weather should turn chilly but it never did, every day was pleasantly warm, just the odd cloud here and there. Parque Dorama at night was spectacular, with its lighted water fountains and the cafe there serves great sandwiches and light snacks at a good price. Well worth a visit to the museum (next to the hotel) only 50 cents and great paintings to view. All in all a great holiday, we will definitely return.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are good, we stayed in room 123 which had lots of sunshine on balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank h0lly95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

It is perhaps one of the best hotels you can possibly stay in this city. It is big, with comfortable rooms. It has a very well equipped gym, sauna and jacuzzi. It has also two swimming pools (indoors and outdoors). The breakfast is unbeatable, really awesome. It is located close to the beach, restaurants, historic places and shopping malls. About 25 minutes from the airport. I would definitively come back.

Room Tip: The ones farther from the elevator (as usual) are the best ones to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

nice hotel, very close to the port ( tourist port with the sailing boats), which fits my purposes perfectly. Bi g rooms which are a bit dark but cool, with nice balcony. Unfortunalety my reservation wasn't in the system, luckely I had the email with the confirmation. So it was solved easily and the first night I even had a suite. Breakfast is not totally up to 5* but everything necessary is there.

30 minutes walk to the cortes des ingles shopping area and a short taxi rid (5 euros) to the old centre

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed 4 days in this hotel in Las Palmas in September and we loved it. Very much old world charme but with all the conveniences one likes to have at hand. The junior suite we stayed in overlooked the pool and had a lovely big balcony, plenty of space and a lovely bathroom. However, don't bring more than one suitcase, you won't be able to fit your clothes in the smallish warderobe! We thought the suite would greatly benefit from a walk in warderobe instead of the smallish parlour room with its own door.
Breakfast was very good but I would not call it the best I have had.
One point to mention: the pool can only be reached by walking out of the hotel through the lobby and around it, not ideal. Same applies to the spa.
The hotel is in a quiet location and it is NOT near St Catalina Park or the Casino. Las Palmas is a small city, we walked frequently to the old part of the town from the hotel or to the beach. If walking is not to your liking, there is a free shuttle bus in the morning that gets you straight to the beach.
The restaurant in the hotel is well worth a visit ot two, excellent food, imaginative and very good value for money, if you choose one of the tasting menus.
We would stay there again and can certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa_aslp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

A memorable stay in a well run hotel that has excellent facilities. The breakfast had every variety of food you could want. When we had a couple of issues with the room they were dealt with immediately and the staff went out of their way to be helpful and efficient. The weather was warm and we had some good swims in the outdoor pool which you can actually swim in rather than just wallow. The grounds meant our stay was a calm and relaxing experience. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had a room with balcony overlooking the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Palmas de Gran Canaria hotels
1.5 mi away
Reina Isabel Hotel
Reina Isabel Hotel
#2 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
939 reviews
1.9 mi away
NH Imperial Playa
NH Imperial Playa
#4 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
641 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sercotel Cristina Las Palmas
Sercotel Cristina Las Palmas
#17 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
AC Hotel Gran Canaria
AC Hotel Gran Canaria
#10 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
798 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bed&Chic Las Palmas
Bed&Chic Las Palmas
#1 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
267 reviews
1.9 mi away
NH Las Palmas Playa las Canteras
NH Las Palmas Playa las Canteras
#5 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Catalina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Catalina Hotel

Property: Santa Catalina Hotel
Address: Calle Leon y Castillo 227, 35005 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
#2 Spa Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Catalina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Catalina 5*, which construction dates of the year 1890, is a reference in the city of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria. Since its opening, famous personalities such as Sir Winston Churchill, Maria Callas, Gregory Pack, Presidents of Governments and States such as the Royal Family, have chosen the Hotel Santa Catalina 5* as to stay in during their visit to the island. The hotel is situated in the centre of the Parque Doramas, a huge park surrounded by palmtrees and only a few metres away of the promenade. Disposes of 202 rooms, 3 big conferencerooms as to celebrate all types of events such as weddings, congresses and a business centre which consists of 4 smaller conferencerooms as to celebrate meetings, lunches/dinners, presentations etc. The A La Carte Restaurant "La Terraza", awarded with 3 suns in the Repsol guide and run by our Chef Jose Rojano, will surprise diners with original plates such as mango gazpacho... During the night you will be able to have a drink on our fantastic open air terrace and at the same time enjoy the lovely music of our piano player. Let yourself be pampered in our Spa Centre where our professionals will do their utmost as to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Finish your day by having a relaxing bath in our outdoor pool and a snack in our poolbar. It does not matter for which reason you will stay at the Hotel Santa Catalina 5*, for business or pleasure, we do know though that your stay at the hotel will be unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Catalina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Catalina
Santa Catalina Hotel Gran Canaria/Las Palmas De Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing