We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor little old odd hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Aloe Canteras
Strasbourg, France
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Poor little old odd hotel”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Well 15 euro for this one star hotel... i wouldn't say... But here, over 60 for 2 persons... This is way too much! This place is aging, has defenitly not quality to offer, seaview was on the side, breakfast terrible, we even left it unused, bathroom with a bath tube one cannot use, beds very unconfortable, and teally a terrific unprofessionnal and robotised receptionnist.
Internet is very slow... And i was so upset not choosing the other hotels with high standards for the same price. Couldnot cancel... Never again !

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Wild tracks S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP_ALOE, RRPP at Hotel Aloe Canteras, responded to this review, March 14, 2016
Dear client, (this message is for all those who have not received response previously) we inform you that the hotel has come recently to be part of the young, but with a great way to go, Hotel Chain called RK Hotels. We encourage you to visit our website and see the changes ahead, announcing that in the months of May and June of this year 2016 Hotel RK Aloe Canteras will be closed because we will proceed to the radical reforms in all rooms and some more surprise.
We felt that you had no response to your comment before, RK Hotels understand that it is a service that we can not ignore and is for this reason that although it is late, we thank you for your words that we are having on mind in this new stage.
Best regards
Ricardo Díaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    44
    30
    7
    13
See reviews for
9
65
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calne
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

First impressions were good as the hotel is very close to the promenade and the amazing beach but we became a bit disillusioned. The bed was very small and the bathroom a bit dated. However what really let it down was the breakfast. Very poor ingredients, bitter coffee from a machine, watered down apple juice and everything was squashed into a corner so only 1 person at a time could access the food which made for a lot of waiting.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derrysal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP_ALOE, RRPP at Hotel Aloe Canteras, responded to this review, March 14, 2016
Dear client, (this message is for all those who have not received response previously) we inform you that the hotel has come recently to be part of the young, but with a great way to go, Hotel Chain called RK Hotels. We encourage you to visit our website and see the changes ahead, announcing that in the months of May and June of this year 2016 Hotel RK Aloe Canteras will be closed because we will proceed to the radical reforms in all rooms and some more surprise.
We felt that you had no response to your comment before, RK Hotels understand that it is a service that we can not ignore and is for this reason that although it is late, we thank you for your words that we are having on mind in this new stage.
Best regards
Ricardo Díaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlskrona, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Nice, simple hotel with a great location in the northern part of Las Canteras. Easy to reach from the airport by bus. Tons of restaurants and bars right around the corner. Nice, small roof terrace with sun chairs, no pool. Simple but adequate breakfast. The refrigerator is unfortunately very loud. Free wi-fi in rooms. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view. Our room on the 4th floor had a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP_ALOE, RRPP at Hotel Aloe Canteras, responded to this review, March 14, 2016
Dear Stina (this message is for all those who have not received response previously) we inform you that the hotel has come recently to be part of the young, but with a great way to go, Hotel Chain called RK Hotels. We encourage you to visit our website and see the changes ahead, announcing that in the months of May and June of this year 2016 Hotel RK Aloe Canteras will be closed because we will proceed to the radical reforms in all rooms and some more surprise.
We felt that you had no response to your comment before, RK Hotels understand that it is a service that we can not ignore and is for this reason that although it is late, we thank you for your words that we are having on mind in this new stage.
Best regards
Ricardo Díaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Spent 7 days in Aloe Canteras January 2013. In general hotel is normal 3 star stuff. Beds are very good to sleep, balcony had even wiew to the sea - we had luck. Breakfast was ok, but strange way offered: you needed to take yourself everything from a fridgerator. Tea water needed to be boiled on microwave owen and so on...

Room was clean but looking a bit old already. Biggest bad point was bath: there was a bathtube, but it was not possible to close to take a real bath. Or if you closed it - as we did with closer of our own - you got all the water on the floor all over the apartment! Bet´ter would be to have only a shower than bath not working - it is quite dangerous to take a shower in bathtube.

Service was friendly.

All the locks - in doors and safety box - looked so old that I would not trust them. Still it was worth the money we used. Location is super!

Room Tip: Ask wiew to the sea, It means also not so much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frequenttraveller773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP_ALOE, RRPP at Hotel Aloe Canteras, responded to this review, March 14, 2016
Dear client, (this message is for all those who have not received response previously) we inform you that the hotel has come recently to be part of the young, but with a great way to go, Hotel Chain called RK Hotels. We encourage you to visit our website and see the changes ahead, announcing that in the months of May and June of this year 2016 Hotel RK Aloe Canteras will be closed because we will proceed to the radical reforms in all rooms and some more surprise.
We felt that you had no response to your comment before, RK Hotels understand that it is a service that we can not ignore and is for this reason that although it is late, we thank you for your words that we are having on mind in this new stage.
Best regards
Ricardo Díaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalmar, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The localation is very good for this hotel. Almost all rooms has some sea view. The beach walk of Las Canteras very close, and also the old fish market. A location with restaurants and shopping very close. The beach is famous and classic, and not at all crowded

In Las Palmas the prices give better value than other places in the Canary Islands.

The facility is old 60-ies type, but fullt renovated a few years ago. Rooms are larger than at newer hotels. Also nice with a refrigerator in room.
Breakfast is for Spain very good, did not miss anything. Read some negative comments on that, but maybe due to that in Spain there is seldom a cooked warm breakfast., Compared to continental breakfast a lot more, and with self-serve you what you like and as much as you need.

Staff is helpful and friendly, both reception and housekeepers.

Give really good value for money to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on any floor that has number 6, 7 or 8 - best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Btorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP_ALOE, RRPP at Hotel Aloe Canteras, responded to this review, March 14, 2016
Dear Client, (this message is for all those who have not received response previously) reading your words I don´t know if it´s a good thing but... (joking) we inform you that the hotel has come recently to be part of the young, but with a great way to go, Hotel Chain called RK Hotels. We encourage you to visit our website and see the changes ahead, announcing that in the months of May and June of this year 2016 Hotel RK Aloe Canteras will be closed because we will proceed to the radical reforms in all rooms and some more surprise.
We felt that you had no response to your comment before, RK Hotels understand that it is a service that we can not ignore and is for this reason that although it is late, we thank you for your words that we are having on mind in this new stage.
Best regards
Ricardo Díaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Podgorica, Montenegro
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The Hotel is close to the Beach and to the El Muelle mall. We booked an inner room, but got a room with a view! It was really quiet, and we were there in August. The staff is absolutely wonderful, very very helpful. The room is very basic, with everything you need. It is cleaned daily. It doesn't have air conditioning, but it wasn't necessary since the weather was perfect. The view from our balcony was stunning. The elevator worked just fine when we were there, and we stayed on the second floor, so we used it only once, when we arrived with our luggage.
The staff was awesome, they made our stay perfect! They gave us great advice on restaurants and getting around.
The breakfast is pretty much standard, fruit cereal, croissants, jam, cocoa spread, milk, fruit yogurt, and similar.
Also, the Hotel is being renovated, one step at the time, so the reception desk is very nice. There is a GREAT coffee machine in the lobby!
Wireless internet was available, and worked just fine in the lobby, although we could't use from our room.
If we ever come back to Gran Canaria, we will be happy to stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank And127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP_ALOE, RRPP at Hotel Aloe Canteras, responded to this review, March 14, 2016
Dear client, (this message is for all those who have not received response previously) although we can see that your stay was very nice, we inform you that the hotel has come recently to be part of the young, but with a great way to go, Hotel Chain called RK Hotels. We encourage you to visit our website and see the changes ahead, announcing that in the months of May and June of this year 2016 Hotel RK Aloe Canteras will be closed because we will proceed to the radical reforms in all rooms and some more surprise.
We felt that you had no response to your comment before, RK Hotels understand that it is a service that we can not ignore and is for this reason that although it is late, we thank you for your words that we are having on mind in this new stage.
Best regards
Ricardo Díaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Don't believe what you read on Booking.com,expedia etc. Most of the information concerning this hotel seemed to be wrong.
Sunterrace ? A very small area with 2 plastic chairs.
All rooms with balcony? 12 rooms have no balcony and you can't see through the small window.There is no air condition and you have to sleep with an open window. There is always some noise from the street.
TV in all rooms and only Spanish channels
Fridge. Yes, very old and noisy.
TV-lounge- a TV in the reception area.
Breakfast. OK. But when each and everyone has to open a small firdge take out ham or cheese, take off the lid and place it back again it is very impractical.
The rooms are not modern but always very clean. You have to pay to get the key to the safe.
The location is very good.
We got one of the rooms without a balcony and we got very disappointed because we trusted the information on Booking.com. We complained at once. Actually we wanted to find another hotel but it was not easy. But the staff was very helpful and the next day we got a room with a balcony.
The staff was very helpful and friendly at all times.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tiaNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP_ALOE, RRPP at Hotel Aloe Canteras, responded to this review, March 14, 2016
Dear guest, (this message is for all those who have not received response previously) we inform you that the hotel has come recently to be part of the young, but with a great way to go, Hotel Chain called RK Hotels. We encourage you to visit our website and see the changes ahead, announcing that in the months of May and June of this year 2016 Hotel RK Aloe Canteras will be closed because we will proceed to the radical reforms in all rooms and some more surprise.
We felt that you had no response to your comment before, RK Hotels understand that it is a service that we can not ignore and is for this reason that although it is late, we thank you for your words that we are having on mind in this new stage.
Best regards
Ricardo Díaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Palmas de Gran Canaria hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Alisios Canteras
Hotel Alisios Canteras
#20 of 43 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
133 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Faycan
Hotel Faycan
#18 of 43 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pujol
Hotel Pujol
#17 of 43 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Apartamentos Colon Playa
#22 of 43 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Atlanta
Hotel Atlanta
#35 of 43 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
145 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Exe Las Canteras
Hotel Exe Las Canteras
#32 of 43 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aloe Canteras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aloe Canteras

Property: Hotel Aloe Canteras
Address: Calle Sagasta 98, 35008 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Hotel RK Aloe Canteras)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aloe Canteras 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aloe Canteras, located in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria just a few meters from Las Canteras Beach. From its solarium you have awesome views of the beach. The recently renovated rooms have free Wi-Fi and have been decorated in a contemporary and bright style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aloe Canteras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloe Canteras - Tenesoya Hotel Las Palmas De Gran Canaria
Hotel Aloe Canteras Gran Canaria/Las Palmas De Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing