We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and position”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Verol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Verol
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good value and position”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

We had 3 nights bed and breakfast here. It is a short block away from the promenade and beach of Las Canteros with an excellent restaurant, Kitchen Lovers, at the junction. (I would normally avoid a place with a name in English but would have missed a treat).

The area that the hotel is located in is a bit mixed as most ports are. The street is busy though so feels safe to walk along.

The only downside was the mattresses which were probably rubber covered

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrogateblades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VEROLIAN, Gerente at Hotel Verol, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest :

In the name of all the Hotel´s staff thank you very much for your nice comments about us. May be you are referring to our matress protectors, but they are supossed ton be breathable. We will check it anyway.

Thank you very much!!

The Hotel Verol Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    119
    53
    16
    6
See reviews for
33
126
38
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

What you get is small but clean room, a bit rusty but working bathroom, a great location in the heart of the city, right next to a great beach and devoted staff at the reception desk who will help you out24/7.
However, I wouldn't recommend using their restaurant i.a. because:

1. Some waiting staff members are rude (one lady out there didn't serve me bread with my scrambled eggs explaining that "my meal package doesn't include it...)
2. Sometimes the food quality is low (greasy, lack of spices, etc)
3. Local vagabonds tend to show up to watch TV and nobody bothers to ask them to leave...
4. The garbage bins are taken outside through the dining hall which is DEFINATELY a violation of sanitary regulations...

Shortly speaking- hotel Verol YES! Restaurant Verol NO!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaksei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VEROLIAN, Gerente at Hotel Verol, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your nice comments about us on tripadvisor!

Regarding your comments about the Restaurant "El Verol", that collaborates with us by serving our guest´s breakfast and meals, we have already shared them with the restaurant´s manager.

We and the restaurant´s staff all are really concerned about them and apologise for all the inconveniences.

They assure that the incidence with the bread was probably a missunderstanding, as long as eggs (fried, boiled, scrambled or in omelette) in spain are usually served with bread.

A new chef has been already hired in order to increase the quality of meals and we are already working with local authorities to place the garbage bins at the street and avoid further inconveniences to our guests.

Regarding your comment about "local vagabonds", we can assure you that nothing like that happens at all. The fact is that the Restaurant is open to the local public and it functions also as a Bar & Cafe, where local people meet to have a coffe or a drink . It can also happen that local people selling lottery or african handycrafts enter the restaurant to offer their goods to the clients. It is something usual in Spain, but they always behave properly and never have caused any incovenience to our guests until now.

Thank you again for your nice comments about our hotel and for your understanding regarding your experince at the restaurant.

The Hotel´s Verol Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Quality / Price ratio simply cannot be beaten. (I paid just under €50 per night in Jan.)

Located seconds from the beach. If you want to be close to the beach, you can't beat this location.

My room was large and airy, with high ceilings (good for keeping cool in warmer months, I imagine).

Extremely clean

In-room little things that make a big difference at this price point: A sensible place to put the suitcase; large wardrobe; a hair dryer; more than one, well-located, power socket.

Reception staff all friendly & helpful. English is spoken well.

Very good bathroom - possibly even above what I'd expect. Water pressure in the shower is a little weak, but that is me nit-picking; I had a perfectly pleasant, warm shower.

Comfortable bed

There's a simple, authentic cafe/bar in the same building. Although breakfast wasn't included in my price, I had a very nice, small, ham & cheese sandwich and a good café cortado for €3,20. Can't argue with that.

Very very few and minor negatives:

In summer months, street noise could be an issue. I was fine. I just closed the double-glazed windows and at night that reduced it to a level that meant that I did get a good night's sleep (and the room is big enough that it did not get stuffy). But I understand that there are air conditioned rooms. I can't vouch for the quality or noise levels of the A/C as my room was not.

You can hear noise from corridors / other rooms but, I repeat, all was very quiet and peaceful in the hotel at night.

The free wi-fi is, sadly, weak. Having said that, I'm using it now to type this - so it's not that bad!

All in all, if you don't want or need luxury, you'll find it hard to find a better hotel for this price in Western / Southern Europe. Highly recommended (especially in the winter months).

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimmo_Jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VEROLIAN, Gerente at Hotel Verol, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest:

Your comments are making us very happy today. Thank you very much!!

The Hotel Verol Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed in Hotel Verol for a 2 night break in Las Palmas. Based on the description and reviews we expected this to be a fairly basic, budget, but clean hotel. On arrival I would say the hotel actually exceeded this and I'd describe it as very pleasant.

The location is excellent, literally metres away from the sea front and also close to the bus terminal for buses to the airport. The breakfast wasn't included in our rate, but we took it one day any way and found it perfectly acceptable, if not outstanding.

It takes a mishap for there to be a real test of a hotel though, which in our case was me forgetting my driving license yet needing it to rent a car 2 days later in the Canaries (yes, dumb me!). We therefore arranged to have it couriered to the hotel from Scotland, next day delivery, which should arrived in time for us to leave to get the car.

Unfortunately, due to Royal Mail (no fault of the hotel) it never arranged on time, and in fact never arrived for 7 days. The hotel then held it without question for me returning from La Palma, even though we were not staying in the hotel again on our return.

So if you're looking for something clean, spacious, cheap, good location, and most of all, reliable, then stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tluamiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VEROLIAN, Gerente at Hotel Verol, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest:

In the name of the hotel Verol´s team we want to thank you for your nice comments about us.

We hope we see you again soon!

The Hotel Verol Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

I stayed one night at Hotel Verol prior to leaving on a cruise.

Hotel Verol was clean, had a nice bathroom and the bedroom was sufficient. But the best part was how close it was to the beach and restaurants. For the price- it was a great deal.

The front desk staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelPeep338855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VEROLIAN, Gerente at Hotel Verol, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear guest:

Thank a lot for your nice review !!

We hope to see you again soon!

The Hotel Verol Team!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokia, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Excellent location: beach, bus station, lovely old bodega across the corner. Rooms well cleaned and maintained, thanks to the smiling handy-man and other friendly staff. A Spanish restaurant next to the hotel, favoured by the locals.
There is some traffic noise and loud talking in the street, but what do you expect! This is Las Palmas!
Not so good: breakfast in the restaurant, not a breakfast buffet. You get a ticket from the reception, every morning. The breakfast is always the same: orange juice, some fruit, a cup of coffee, a sandwich or a grilled croissant or a tomato toast.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors are better. Refuse to stay in a room on the 2nd floor reeking of smoking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erkk_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VEROLIAN, Gerente at Hotel Verol, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your nice comments about us!! We wish you a happy New Year!!

The Hotel Verol Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salo, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Location is excellent, Las Canteras beach is just around the corner. Clean room, good bed and shower. Nice staff. The only thing I missed was English on TV. Why on earth do they have to send all programs dubbed in Spanish...Sean Connery speaks Spanish, that is a laugh.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise and you may even see the sky
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meiju M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VEROLIAN, Gerente at Hotel Verol, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for the nice comments about us!!

We all hppe to see you again soon and wish you a Happy New Year!!

The Hotel Verol Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Palmas de Gran Canaria hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Imperial Playa
NH Imperial Playa
#4 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pujol
Hotel Pujol
#13 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Las Palmas Playa las Canteras
NH Las Palmas Playa las Canteras
#5 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Reina Isabel Hotel
Reina Isabel Hotel
#1 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Brisamar Canteras
Apartamentos Brisamar Canteras
#22 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cantur City Hotel
Cantur City Hotel
#9 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Verol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Verol

Property: Hotel Verol
Address: Calle Sagasta 25 | Puerto- Canteras, 35008 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Verol 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Verol is located in the city centre of Las Palmas, at only 20 metres from Las Canteras Beach and 5 minutes walking distance from Santa Catalina Park and the harbour of Las Palmas.Hotel Verol Offers Free Wi-Fi connection in all rooms and common areas.Restaurant-Café-Bar in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Verol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Verol Gran Canaria/Las Palmas De Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing