We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Side street find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clandestino

Clandestino
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Side street find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Walking along some pedestrianised streets we came across this venue. The tables and chairs outside looked inviting in the midday sun, we sat down and a very friendly waitress made sure we were comfortable and took our order. We only had starters as it was a fill in before our evening meal. The food was delicious and very well presented. Asked if I wanted any bread I requested garlic. It was not on the menu but posed no problem to them. Out came a really hot crusty roll laced with oil and garlic. Yum. We were so satisfied we will probably go back Saturday night. Watch this space!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank frogladybg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    146
    57
    23
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Visited in March 2013 after reading the reviews on trip advisor, I had fairly high expectations and was not disappointed at all. The waiters were all friendly and had a good level of banter with the customers and spoke good English, which really helped as my Spanish is very limited. Food was lush, me and my mate shared 3 dishes to start with then had a main course each and everything we ate looked and tasted amazing, portions were quite big and I left feeling very full indeed. For a great meal, service, atmosphere and price I would highly recommend this side street restaurant in the heart of Las Palmas city.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Spinksy1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“side street find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We went for a late lunch at Clandestino's & sat outside in the street under umbrellas, which was lovely. Very attentive waiter who was there whenever we wanted something. There was a menu of the day for €7.95 on a blackboard outside which looked very good & which we will definitely try next time we go. We decided to look at the main menu which was printed in several languages. What a load of choices & reasonably priced too. We had a fabulous lunch, but the only downside for me was the cost of the bottled water. They were 50cl little bottles & costs €1.50 each. We ended up having 4 bottles for an extra €6.00 which I thought was expensive especially as a 2ltr bottle in the Spar was 50cents.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wisegirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
376 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 494 helpful votes
“So good we had to stop ourselves going more than 3 times in a week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I could have easily eaten here every night after falling across it after leaving Parque Santa Catalina after drinks the first night. (From Bar Central, the best bar in the square, head past the corner liquer store towards the sea, pass bar da vinci then turn right down a pedestrianised side street). Work your way through the menu! lol. The staff are lovely, the inside of the restaurant is stylish and the outside is fine also. The house wine is lovely at less than 10 euros a bottle and it cost us about 45 euros for 1 starter, 2 mains and wine. Sometimes 40 euros. The meat was beautifully tender and excellent quality (and that is from English butchers) - the presentation was delightful. Far better quality than the other 3 restaurants we tried.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jean-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Classy but Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Extensive menu, from snails and frogs legs to kangaroo steaks, this is different cuisine for the adventurous. Good facilities, including ramp/or chairlift at entrance and loo for the disabled. Our waiter (a Canarian) spoke good English and German and, naturally, Spanish.
Get yourself a local map: Candestino's address is Calle Doctor Miguel Rosas 8, 35007 Las Palmas. You can view the menu (in most languages) outside the premises.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clandestino also viewed

Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria
 
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria
 

Been to Clandestino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing