We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Dive sites and Fantastic group of guys”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Davy Jones Diving

Davy Jones Diving
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: They are based away from the main tourist resorts in the town of Arinaga, as this is where some of the best dive sites in Gran Canaria can be found. They are based in Casa Limon, a spacious, relaxed property with a large garden where you can prepare your kit, and relax in style between and after your dives. The underwater landscape in Arinaga is dramatic and varied and is rated as one of the best places to dive in the Canaries because of the variety and volume of marine life you can encounter. You can swim through arches, explore caves, or seek out creatures such as angel sharks, rays, morays, barracudas, sea-horses and much more. The waters are sub-tropical which means that many of the fish are brightly coloured, and diving takes place all year round with February being the coldest month. This PADI 5-star Dive centre has been awarded two certificates of excellence, and the shallower dives sites are excellent for PADI Training courses from snorkeling, through discover dives (try-dives) up to the full range of PADI Courses including PADI Open Water and PADI Advanced Open Water Courses. The marine life is so good here that in winter some students have even seen angel sharks sleeping during the day in the sea-water training pool!
scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Dive sites and Fantastic group of guys”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Went as an experienced solo diver to Davy Jones. Brian and his team are safety focused starting each dive with a thorough brief at the dive center. Then its off to the dive site across the generally rough road. A bit of an experience but not to difficult.

At the dive site its entry and exit briefs then off into the sea. There is an abundance of aquatic life and Brian and the team spend time pointing out sea life. Entry and exit can be tricky but the team will help.

Between dives its back to the dive center for a visit to the bathroom, warm up and a bite to eat.

Overall a good experience. Thanks guys.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank pstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    29
    8
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great diving with Davy Jones”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I've dived with Davy Jones dive school a number of times over the past three years and had a great time each time.

OK, so there might be a bit less to see than say Thailand or Egypt, but the dive experience is still great and certainly worthwhile. Especially, if you're looking for a shorter get-away and topping up on your dives. There's still plenty of great things to see such as Angel Sharks, Eels, Cuttle Fish and Baracuda.

Dive instructors Eduardo, Graham and Brett are friendly and professional and gave a good overview of the dive site and what to expect before we set off. As a still relatively inexperienced diver used more to boat diving, I was also grateful of the help they gave in terms of entering and exiting the dive sites. The tips on improving bouyancy and diving techniques afterwards were also gratefully received.

Hopefully see you again later in 2013!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good diving experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Davy Jones Diving center was very helpful, and it was a very good experience, diving with them. The pick us op at the hotel and drop os off agin. And Victor (12 Y), was very secure and happy with the dive (his 6 and 7 dive). So thank you very much for your kindness, and all your help. We were very lucky to see a Angel Shark swim past us during the second dive, and a underwater Christmas tree on the first dive. SUPER SERVICE.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bjerrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great dive sites, great people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I completed my PADI OWD here and this was my first encounter with diving.
The OWD course was a real pleasure here, because here you dive with the local
sealife starting from your 1st confined water dive! (The pool is a seapool, separated
from the sea with a breakwater nursing all kinds of little critters)

Graham, my instructor who took care of me during the course and a fun-dive
afterwards is fully competent, patient teacher and experienced diver.
I can only positively refer to the other instructors I briefly met. If you choose this school
for your first fin-kicks, you will be in good hands.

The local sealife is abundant, lots of smaller fish, rays, Angelsharks, some cuttlefish, etc.
The sites they regularly dive can easily keep you busy for a week without returning to the
same site. Dives are not difficult and water is warm (20°C in December!), visibility 15+m.
The sites are relatively easy to access, the greatest distance I had to walk gear on was
probably 50m.

Depth: up to ~30m, but there is plenty to see at 1-10m already.

Highly recommended!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tamas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent diving with Davy Jones”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I returned on 1st December 2012 from a week's diving with the Davy Jones Dive School in Gran Canaria and I was extremely impressed by their staff, their organisation and their friendly, encouraging approach. Back in 2003, when I was 54, I had a bi-lateral hip replacement so I am not the fittest of divers, but I felt totally secure with this outfit. The dive leaders are all very experienced, the briefings were thorough and (due to Graham's patience) I got some amazing photos of three massive sting rays, as well as barracuda, groupers, angel sharks, morays and a multitude of octopus. The variety of life in the marine reserve is just wonderful and, as an aging female diver, I'd recommend this company to anyone.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fran49Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Davy Jones Diving also viewed

Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
 

Been to Davy Jones Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing