We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Salamandra

La Salamandra
Calle esperanto 16 | Calle Real 16, 03501 San Sebastian de la Gomera, La Gomera, Spain
+34 626 22 33 01
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Contemporary
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neuchatel, Switzerland
1 review
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

5 trips to La Gomera Marlin Fishing with Capt Jason Pipe - tried all the other places on previous trips. 6 nights this time and ate at Salamadra every night - top notch food and wine - try the slow cooked pork knuckle and ask for crispy skin - Highly recommended - Apple sauce available at the small supermarket next door

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
137 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Good food, ambience, and comfortable seating.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had intended to go to the cave restaurant but it was closed for the low season (May) so we found this little place just around the corner from our hotel (Torre del Conde) and ate here twice in same day (lunch and dinner). It looks more inviting than on the photo since he has added a protective canopy and some tables on the street. The other reviews are pretty spot-on, but I would just add that I did not much enjoy the risotto and pasta - they are much too creamy. The warm salad (mushrooms and cherry tomatoes) was good as was the grilled chicken brochette - tender and juicy. He also has a good selection of wines and plays nice Buddha Bar CD's. I should also mention that the seating - old wooden "Captains Chairs" - are far more comfortable than the usual very square flat back and bottom wooden chairs in most Canarian restaurants of this standard. Much less busy in the evening and quite romantic with candles on tables.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank spesbona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Sebastian de la Gomera, Spain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great little spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Come early or book in advance because there are only about 1/2 dozen tables which contributes to the attractive atmosphere of this quite unique little restaurant. We ordered a selection of starters to share. Good variety available and each one individually prepared in the little kitchen adjoining the restaurant. We had reveultos which is a scrambled egg dish with mushrooms & prawns, warm salad (lettuce, seta mushrooms, tomatoes, vegetables & a dressing to die for) and berenjenas which is eggplant in delicious sauce. If the taste and quality of our small selection was representative then I want to try everything!! They also had a good selection of main courses which I hope we'll get to another time. The waiter from Cuba recommended a rioja called Hito which was excellent and I think cost about €15.
Fresh baked bread & butter complimented this excellent meal

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andypsion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elst
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good service, great food, cosy atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

With local ingredients, a flavour of Spanish quisine and some international influences this restaurant offers something special for a decent price. Service is very friendly and well organised, and the small scale of the restaurant works out very well. To be recommended!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Henk N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice local Spanish restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

The atmosphere is very Spanish (at the time of our visit only local people) and the food is really good. Go for the fish!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PatricktT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Salamandra also viewed

San Sebastian de la Gomera, La Gomera
San Sebastian de la Gomera, La Gomera
 
San Sebastian de la Gomera, La Gomera
San Sebastian de la Gomera, La Gomera
 

Been to La Salamandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing