We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the nicest of the 5 Paradores of the Canary Islands...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parador de la Gomera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have visited the other 4 Paradores of the Canary Islands (Gran Canaria, El Hierro, La Palma and Tenerife). The one on La Gomera awoke the greatest emotions inside us.
The location of the hotel on top of a steep and rocky cliff (overlooking San Sebastian) is spectacular! From the moment you enter this 40 years old property you can feel that it is a very special place. The furniture is wonderful, architecture is wonderful, the gardens are wonderful!
Staff at reception is very efficient and friendly. Staff at the bar and in the restaurant as well.
It is such a nice experience to have a nice dinner in the patio - one can relax as much as hardly anywhere else on the archipelago. The gardens are huge, there are wonderful plants and flowers. There is a big pool with lovely views over the port. Deck chairs and umbrellas could be exchanged in the near future, they disappointed me a bit...
Our room had a magnificent sea view and we enjoyed 4 very quiet and relaxing days on this beautiful, rocky island. Furniture was old and traditional as one can expect it in a Parador. We loved it! The bathroom was ok but could be improved. Lack of kleenex, it is a detail but yes, I do expect it in a 4* hotel. Room service was efficient and very friendly, food is excellent and the way it is presented is 5 stars! We intended to stay here for 2 days. Then we extended to 3 and then to 4 - just because it is a lovely place to stay in harmony and peace! We would turn back at any time and it was one of our favourite hotels during our trip, visiting all the 7 Canary Islands and staying in 15 different hotels.

Room Tip: Upper floor with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelmaniaccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 616 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

What an amazing hotel in a beautiful location overlooking the bay at San Sebastián. We stayed here for a week and couldn't find a fault with anything here. The swimming pool is great, rooms are spacious and food is excellent.

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank hydro1547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in Parador La Gomera during our honey moon in August. The swimming pool, with view to the ocean was great, the room was beautiful, relaxing and very big, with a balcony (only in the 2nd floor). The breakfast cost 17E per person, so we bought groceries at the minimarket just across the hotel (opens at about 07.30, close sunday). There is also a local small bar just outside, where you can buy coffee (opens at about 09.00, close Sunday). The "city" is 10min. walk - the way down is nice, the way up a little exhausting but worth it!

Room Tip: 2nd floor has a balcony and more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

It's impossible to know where to start with saying about the wonderful things about this hotel; the rooms; the views of Tenerife, the amazing pool... The list goes on and on. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
We had a special offer which didn't include breakfast so the value for money was excellent. I don't think we would have paid 17€pp for breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I loved this hotel. It was really lovely and relaxing and the food was lovely. Lovely little gardens looking out to the sea. Bedroom was lovely and everything about the hotel was special. Took the ferry over from Tenerife to stay the night and was a lovely one night break. Will definitely come back and looking forward to it. Not a huge amount to do, but the one night break was perfect and something different.

Room Tip: room looking out to sea and gardens was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank delsolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Parador is perfect for a romantic getaway. The hotel surroundings have a historic ambiance that invite you to explode the hidden nooks and crannys of the area. It's 5 min by taxi from the ferry (costs around 5 e). I would not walk up the hill to get to the hotel, especially with luggage. Everyone at the reception and restaurant were really friendly and professional. I travelled alone and wanted a night of luxury after a budget hotel in Valle Gran Rey. Parador is not the place to meet other travellers, but if you're looking for a place for peace and quiet, this is the place. The only downside is that they only that wireless internet in the lobby area! That is a dealbreaker for some travellers.

Room Tip: I loved having a room facing the garden with my own patio and entrance to the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maija O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We really liked this location and hotel. We stayed for 3 nights and were very happy we chose this hotel. Some previous reviews mentioned noisy floorboards. Action seems to have been taken to reduce floorboard noise with sound-deadening carpet in the hallways. Noise was not a problem and the overall tranquility of the place is its main asset, although the decor is lovely. While not an antiques person particularly, I felt it had a very nice feel to it. While some staff didn't speak much English we did not encounter any grumpiness, as previous travelers mentioned. Fresh cream profiteroles for breakfast is an amazing luxury option that had better be kept just as a holiday treat! It is easy enough to walk down to town for dinner - Saturday night is great for watching the world go by. The walk back up takes about 15 minutes and might raise the heart rate a bit - especially after a few beers and an "on the house brandy"! If you are walkers this is no problem.
I would go there again and would book a couple of nights at the end of a holiday in a different walking location. Valldemossa is great with a lot of loop walks and might prove a good base.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anita-Ella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Sebastian de la Gomera
6.5 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tecina
Hotel Jardin Tecina
#1 of 2 in Playa de Santiago
1,605 reviews
14.4 mi away
Playa Calera
Playa Calera
#1 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
217 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel Gran Rey
Hotel Gran Rey
#2 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Torre del Conde
Hotel Torre del Conde
#3 of 9 in San Sebastian de la Gomera
149 reviews
7.6 mi away
Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural
Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural
#1 of 7 in Hermigua
158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Gomera
Hotel Villa Gomera
#2 of 9 in San Sebastian de la Gomera
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de la Gomera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de la Gomera

Address: Calle Horca S/N | Cerro de la Horca S/N, 38800 San Sebastian de la Gomera, La Gomera, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > La Gomera > San Sebastian de la Gomera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in San Sebastian de la Gomera
Price Range: $152 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de la Gomera 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building of this Parador expresses in its architectural forms the mysteries and enigmas in this Canary island and invites the guest to enjoy themselves in this paradisiacal setting and to contemplate, from its common rooms, unsurpasable views of the ocean and of the island of Tenerife in the background with the Teide peak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Parador de la Gomera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De La Gomera Hotel
Parador De La Gomera San Sebastian De La Gomera, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing