We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best Parador we've visited” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de la Gomera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parador de la Gomera
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
104 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Best Parador we've visited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

We spent the first three days in La Gomera in the Parador, which is very convenient for the ferry from Tenerife, and then moved on to an apartment in Valle Gran Rey. San Sebastian wasn’t far away - a 10-
minute walk down. The town is unspoilt, and not touristy, with a good selection of shops and bars.

We had a superior double room, which is worth getting, since you end up with a better room and a nicer view. Our room was very comfortable, with a 4-poster bed and a smart bathroom. The balcony looked across to Tenerife, with the sound of waves crashing on the shore. The Parador gardens are beautiful, well-kept and shady, with fantastic views of Tenerife, San Sebastian and El Teide. The swimming pool has a lovely clifftop setting, but was rather cold in February.

It's a good idea to have the half-board option, since we enjoyed a huge breakfast and evening meal, and didn’t really need any lunch. We had just about the best breakfasts we’ve had in Spain, with an extensive buffet replete with fresh fruit, cooked breakfasts, cold meats and cheeses, cereals, cakes and croissants, etc. The evening meals had a good choice, even with the more limited half-board option, and the service and food were excellent.

The staff were helpful and professional, although it helps if you can speak a bit of Spanish. This was the sixth Parador in Spain we have stayed in, and the best equal (with the Parador in Jaen).

  • Liked — The beautiful location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank james2anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    138
    46
    12
    6
See reviews for
62
280
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2008

We have stayed at a number of Paradors as we find they give a truer flavour of the region. The Parador at la Gomera is no exception-beautifully designed in the style of a Canarian manor house and perched on top of a cliff overlooking San Sebastian and towards Tenerife.
The room was comfortable and as we were on a special deal overlooked a courtyard rather than the sea. The restaurant was excellent with a first class chef and varied menu.
We didnt hire a car but could walk down to the town in 10 minutes and back up in 20!
Really relaxing place with the opportunity for good walking and sailing.

  • Liked — General ambience
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AllyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2007

we spend five nights in the parador and stayed in room 106, overlooking the sea. This room was large and nice and very clean, and we can recommend it strongly. Breakfast was really okay.

Dinner is quite expensive if compared to the restaurants in town. Thus, I strongly recommend to have dinner in San Sebastian. Although the problem there is that many restaurants close for at least two days a week,so that some planning is necessary.

I recommend Casa del mar ( I think that was the name) at the harbour. Not very comfortable but good food and whine (at least in relation to the price). A general comment to food on la Gomera: We really like eating well and expensive (if necessar)y, but la Gomera is no place for Gourmets. The fish is fresh and therefore good, but it´s ususally a la plancha with a lot of garlic and thus a little boring after some time.

Coming back to the hotel: It is true that their English is not very fluent, but definitely you can survive easily. In addition, to our experience the staff was very helpful.

The pool was really cool (with the advantage that you dont have to share it) but the opening times from 10.30 to 18.00 are a joke. This is the biggest disappointment of the hotel, and I would strongly recommend the management to be more generous.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — pool opening times
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Fley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, UK
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2007

We visited this beautiful Parador last year and were so taken with it's location that we couldn't wait to book ourselves in for a short stay this December. Arriving by fast ferry from Los Cristianos we were absolutely thrilled when everyone spoke to us in Spanish, including our lovely taxi driver who spoke no English but managed to make us laugh driving up the hairpin bends of San Sebastian on the way to the Parador.
The staff at reception who welcomed us were not able to speak very good English but we didn't expect them to - it was an absolute delight to be able to try out our (limited) Spanish for once and the staff seemed to appreciate us trying. It;s not often we get the chance to do this.
The Parador is set in a stunning location which is why we chose it. If anyone out there like me loves a room with a view, then this is the place to be.
Our (standard) room was fabulous... clean, luxurious, with shiny polished hardwood floors and beds with beautiful wooden headboards, so high our feet dangled from them! The furniture was stylish and I loved the outlook onto the garden and the sea beyond. I especially loved the "his and her" washbasins which for me was a real treat! Just around the corner was the most fabulous view of Mount Teide peeping out of the clouds on the island of Tenerife.
The pool was wonderful to swim in and we loved the summerhouse above where we could relax in comfort in wicker chaise longues... the gardens are shady and cool which is a bonus on a very hot day, and there are so many parts to explore and lovely views around every corner...every day we'd say "ola" to the parrot and were promptly rewarded with a response! (We tried to teach the parrot some Geordie words but without success... unless it takes a while to register and the parrot is now spouting "howway the lads man" to all the guests!)
One of the highlights of my holiday was being able to watch the sun come up from this beautiful location with Teide rising majestically in the distance...
As far as the food goes, we enjoyed our typical Canarian dinners in a lovely room with friendly staff ... it was a joy to be able to taste food cooked in the Canarian Style which is after all why we came, and the breakfasts were delicious with cafe au lait served in the French way and lots of fruit and cereal or cooked food if you wanted it.. we had lots of fun watching someone struggling with the toaster.. they weren't going to give up! Our breakfast waitress was lovely and spoke to us all the time in Spanish which we loved.
This is my first stay in a Parador and I'm hoping it won't be my last as after discovering this I'd like to try every Parador in Spain.
I paint pictures and I just cannot wait to try and capture some of the magic of this very special place... my husband is a photographer and was absolutely spoilt for photographic opportunities.
San Sebastian itself is beautiful as seen from the Parador... the town is small and friendly, very typically Canarian and totally uncommercialised and it's so refreshing to get away from the crowds and enjoy the relaxing feel of the place.
When we checked out the young lady on reception couldn't do enough for us.
The taxi driver who came to pick us up from the Parador was the same lovely chap who brought us and he even recognised my husband and shook his hand warmly! We were very touched.
As we sailed away on "Fred" and looking up the hill towards the Parador De La Gomera, I was absolutely in tears to leave.

  • Liked — Stunning views
  • Disliked — Can't think of a thing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank VivoD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2007

Having booked our holiday through Headwater Holidays I read with trepidation some of the reviews written on this site. Any concerns about the food vanished on our first evening in the dining room. The menu was varied and the quality of the food very good. Care for my husband's dietary restrictions was sympathetic. If we have any adverse comment it it that the servings were often over generous! The menu did change frequently and we always had difficulty in choosing from such a good variety. We were at the hotel for eleven nights. The staff were cheerful in the dining room though I do agree that there were some grumpy characters on reception working alongside their more cheerful colleagues. Possibly our fault for not being able to speak more Spanish. This is a small island and I feel that it is arrogant to expect all those looking after us to speak English. The grounds are beautiful and the swimming pool lovely. Sadly, in November, the water was very cold, pity there is no solar heating - sun is plentiful! I agree that young children would be a worry regarding the fencing at the edge of the sheer drops at the edge of the site. The harbour building work continues and our balcony overlooked it. There was no noise from it and we soon looked at more pleasant and interesting things beyond. We did ask for a double room and we got a twin but we gathered that there are hardly any doubles. The bathroom was very good, great shower and the leaking screen seal easily dealt with using a bidet towel! The walking opportunities are great and varied. We do recommend our particular walking holiday with Headwater. I have great photos but this site can't seem to cope with the size of them

  • Liked — Character and variety within the building
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank PatnPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
320 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2007

Once you reach the top of the hill where the Parador is situated, it is a real pleasure to enter the building - spanish country style with contemporary features. The wow factor gets minimized when you check in. The male staff speaks close to no English, although the majority of guests visits from abroad. You also don't feel particularly welcome as nobody shows you around the hotel, so you have to find everything like the pool, the restaurant etc.
The rooms are fabulous - do go for the superior option, these rooms are perfectly situated above the cliff with great views. Standard rooms are facing the garden or one of the courtyards, single rooms are big no-no's - facing North onto the parking lot. Furniture, balcony, bathroom - everything's great (we had a nasty smell in the bathroom every now and then, though).
The food is really good, especially breakfast is way better than Spanish average - however, the coffee is lousy (by French-Italian-Spanish standards). Dinner (or half-board) is good because you can choose from the whole restaurant menue. BUT: if you want one of the more expensive dishes, they charge 5.95 EUR extra - even if the more a-la-carte dish is just 1 Euro. Similar for starters (2.95). This is really inappropriate. But then, the dining room and the quality is really good. The service as well (some English is spoken...).
What really sucks, is the general hotel 'service'. Although it's 4 star, what you really get is a platform to stay: room, garden, pool (only open 10:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. *sic*), lounges (nice!). If you want ferry tickets, you have to get it yourself. They don't give you a lift to the port (just 5 min drive), they don't offer bicycles and can't arrange any, just nothing.
So overall: When you are on La Gomera, the Parador is THE place to go because the location is superb (and there is no other choice of that caliber). Just don't expect the full 4 star service and be prepared for some weired details.

  • Liked — The location - setting, garden, pool, view
  • Disliked — The service - limited attention, amenities, kind-of attitude
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank EuropeanDiversity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2007

Great food, great location (but don't bother walking down into SS at night). We stayed here as we had an early ferry home the next day after a fabulous week in VGR on the other side of Gomera. The hotel *is* beautiful, but the staff are unfriendly and miserable, service is slow everywhere except the restaurant. Very empty - I assume because its a considerably higher price than anything else on the island. Atmosphere is somewhat funereal. Pool is very very cold - one for the olympic swimmer more than the casual potterer.

That said the gardens and rooms are beautiful, but more than one night would have had me reaching for the razor blades.

  • Liked — Food and gardens
  • Disliked — Service and staff
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GordonJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Sebastian de la Gomera
6.3 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tecina
Hotel Jardin Tecina
#1 of 2 in Playa de Santiago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,292 reviews
14.2 mi away
Playa Calera
Playa Calera
#1 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hotel Gran Rey
Hotel Gran Rey
#3 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural
Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural
#3 of 7 in Hermigua
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Rural Casa los Herrera
13.9 mi away
Charco Del Conde
Charco Del Conde
#5 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
4.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de la Gomera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de la Gomera

Property: Parador de la Gomera
Address: Calle Horca S/N | Cerro de la Horca S/N, 38800 San Sebastian de la Gomera, La Gomera, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > La Gomera > San Sebastian de la Gomera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in San Sebastian de la Gomera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de la Gomera 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building of this Parador expresses in its architectural forms the mysteries and enigmas in this Canary island and invites the guest to enjoy themselves in this paradisiacal setting and to contemplate, from its common rooms, unsurpasable views of the ocean and of the island of Tenerife in the background with the Teide peak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Parador de la Gomera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De La Gomera Hotel
Parador De La Gomera San Sebastian De La Gomera, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing