We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“HOME AWAY FROM HOME”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ixora Place

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ixora Place  (Front Right View)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Ixora Place  (Front Right View)
Paria Room- Double(overall view)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Arima, Trinidad, Trinidad and Tobago

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
trini_one...
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
“HOME AWAY FROM HOME”
Reviewed May 30, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My husband and I went to Ixora Place bed and breakfast, we had never stayed in one before so we were not sure how we would like it..The accomidations are wonderful, the house is clean and the breeze you get through the home blew my mind just amazing, In the morning you can relax go to the yard for fresh mango;s Miss clare makes GREAT coffee and yummy breakfast, all types of different fruit's. I would recommended Ixora Place to anyone who is travalling that way,
thanks again for welcoming us into your home

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the morning interactions
Liked least: that we had to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewed March 11, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ruth C
Aurora, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A glowing example of Trini hospitality!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Staying with Clare and Jerry was the best beginning to our Trinidad and Tobago visit this year. We much obliged to Mathew from Chateau Guillaume (who was booked) for helping us to arrange a three night stay at Ixora Place.

Clare and Jerry welcome you into their beautiful home with the kind of hospitality that is second to none. Their house and garden allow the perfect mix of sociability and privacy. The two bedrooms and guest bathroom are spacious, very clean and well equipped. Each room had comfortable beds and seating, TV, fridge, air conditioning and plenty of room to store your things. The house had wifi and many comfortable areas to relax inside and out on the front porch. Or we could just sit in the kitchen and chat with Clare as she cooked up wonderful traditonal meals for us. Clare and Jerry have such an easy manner and make you feel immediately like you are old friends. Conversation was always interesting, very informative and fun. Clare is a very talented artist and cook and Jerry is a wonderful and informative guide, and made himself available do drive us whenever we needed to go out.

We stayed in Arima to be in close proximity to Asa Wright Nature Centre and other great birding areas. But we had some spare time that Clare and Jerry helped us to fill, making wonderful arrangements for us: one evening Jerry took us to visit a pan field to listen to Exodus (large pan band) practice ... fantastic!... and the next day to visit and learn the history of the Lupinot Valley, go for a nature walk up the limestone cliff of the Mariposa Gardens and decend for a delicious lunch at Cafe Mariposa and entertainment by the talented singing of the cafe owners, the Guerrera family.

What a great visit... and it won't be our last. We can't thank Clare and Jerry enough for welcoming us into their global family.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, but the hosts Clare and Jerry are professors of Hospitality
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewed February 20, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York
Reviewed February 8, 2013 for a stay in November 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
palo seco
Reviewed October 8, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kimberly...
Fountain, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed June 12, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We were on a 2 week vacation in Trinidad and Tobago and we went over to Tobago for a week. We needed a place to stay in Trinidad for our last 2 nights before returning back home. The Gumbs were recommended to us by the Williams who also own a B & B in Arima but were booked. Gerry picked us up from the airport, but not with a little glitch. We missed each other and it took a little bit of time for us to get up with him. Upon meeting him, he was very nice and welcoming. He took us to their home and got us settled. Shortly after his wife Clare came and introduced herself. Such a pleasant couple. The room was very warm and it felt like a home away from home. A lot of places you go to the rooms tend to be basic, but Clare really put a lot into making you feel at home. This place is also a turn key so when they are away, they rent it out. Gerry was always available when my husband needed a ride to the store. I know that they have another room up front for those who may have teenagers. Clare was so nice, we sat and talked the night before we left. She showed me pictures of her artwork that she does and we just chatted. It felt like being with family and not a place that you just rented. I am person who can be picky when it comes to staying places and have had some bad experiences while being in Trinidad and Tobago, but I would definitely stay here again. Thank You Gerry and Claire for your wonderful hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The set up of the room and the friendliness
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$75
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing