We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Asa Wright Nature Centre and Lodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Arima
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Palm's Hotel Trinidad(Port of Spain)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn Flight Suites(Piarco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Le Sportel Inn(Port of Spain)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveler rating
58
50
8
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
50
8
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrum punchthe main housecaroni swampscarlet ibisspecies of birdsbird loversfellow guestsisn't cheapstrong coffeebuffet stylespent nights herepicky eaterfour nightsrooms are basicthe main attractionlunches and dinnersbirding tour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 121 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This property is located in the middle of the rain forest. It is the most fabulous place for photography and getting as close to Humming birds and other birds as one can possibly get. All meals are buffet style and the egg station at breakfast is super. The rooms are clean but basic, but most of your time would be spent on the most famous verandah in the world not in the rooms. Loved it, great food and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EuthArima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The view from the verandah is spectacular--all manner of hummingbirds and other feeder friendly birds. We also saw agouti and wonderful lizards. The trails are decently maintained although they are extremely slick with any rain. The hand railings need to be repaired in some places and added in others. I would strongly recommend a walking stick--they have some bamboo ones for loan. We walked down to see the Oil birds which were wonderful to see and we also saw the Bell birds. The food is OK, but we came for the nature and birds and there was plenty of that.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Virginia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We just returned from a ten day stay at the Asa Wright Lodge which we booked through Caligo. Our room in the old Plantation House was satisfactory after the heavy dark curtains were opened to let in some light but we did find that the screens need patching. The room was very convenient to the veranda and the dining room.
Every one of the staff went out of their way to make us comfortable and to feel at home. The food was good and as a vegetarian I appreciated the many choices available for me. Afternoon tea and rum punch time were anxiously awaited each day.
Laundry service was very good and much needed since the damp air did not allow our rain drenched clothes to dry.
The naturalists on duty on the veranda were always quick to call out birds and have them in the scope if one wanted a better view.
The nectar feeders and fruit trays that are regularly refilled attract many birds as well as a few agouti and lizards. From dusk to dawn the bats came to the nectar and fruit if there is any left at that time. With the help of Molly and Calib, our naturalist guides, we saw interesting critters on the night walks down the entrance drive.
It had been pointed out to us that we "might get wet" on the walk to the oilbird cave. This should have said that "you will get wet" and to have proper shoes or better yet boots.
If we were to visit again, we would not book a tour with the side-trips included. We are bird watchers and not "twitchers". We found the schedule of very long days over roads lined with sad, hungry dogs and many very jarring potholes too difficult in every way. We forgot that when on a tour if the bird is seen once, they will not stop for a second look. Except for the wonderful visit to the Caroni Swamp, the other side-trips were not relaxing.
Asa Wright has trails that one can explore and there are birds, plants and critters to find at the Nature Center. Too much emphasis was placed on taking tours off the property. Asa Wright itself is a treasure but it does need some upkeep.

Room Tip: There are two rooms in the Lodge that are very convenient if you need to avoid stairs.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 786Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Asa Wright has long had a reputation as one of the best and easiest rainforest experiences in the new world. The set up is indeed very good although the overall experience left us a little disappointed. This may have been influenced by our previous trips to other lodges (in Costa Rica, Ecuador, Colombia for example) where the wildlife is more varied and the accomodation often superior. The room we stayed in (groud floor of the outside lodges) was rather tired and in need of some attention. The staff at Asa Wright were however a major plus point, helpful in every regard.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We just returned from a lovely visit to Asa Wright following a 12 day trip to Guyana. After the rigors of Guyana, Asa Wright was luxury! We enjoyed so many great views of the birds especially the oilbirds, bearded bellbird, manakins and all the many feeder birds. The trip to see the scarlet ibis was the highlight. Even though it was the rainy season, the birds were not deterred. The staff was wonderful, the accommodations comfortable and the food was very good and plentiful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LTT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews