We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent zoo”

Oasis Park Fuerteventura
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.48*
and up
Fuerteventura Oasis Park Entrance Ticket Including Transport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Oasis Park Fuerteventura If you visit Fuerteventura and don't discover its Oasis you will miss out on a major part of its charm. Located on the south east coast of the island, Oasis Park Fuerteventura is a beautiful must-visit nature reserve. It is an 800,000m2 area sheltering and protecting its flora and fauna, home to over 3000 animals of 250 different species, containing a unique Botanic Garden with the largest cactus garden in Europe. The park has four LIVE spaces where you will be able to enjoy live educational sessions with parrots, sea lions, birds of prey and reptiles, with valuable information from their keepers. Entertainment guaranteed! Furthermore, you can have the unique experience of direct contact with lemurs in the Madagascar area, sea lions under the water and even a spectacular trip along the coast on a camel. These will be moments that you will never forget. Oasis Park Fuerteventura, in addition to being a place for entertainment and fun, is an entity dedicated to developing preservation, education and research projects for flora and fauna, such as those for the Cuvier's gazelle, the African elephant and the Canarian camel. Thanks to the work of the latter, it has the largest camel reserve in Europe, and research is currently being carried out on the health benefits that camel milk offers humans. Open every day of the year, it includes 3 restaurants, a children's play area and a farm with domestic animals. A free return bus service collects visitors from different points of the island.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent zoo”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Theres more animals in this zoo than you think! It is well worth a visit and we have now visited twice. The sealion show is great but we gave the reptile one a miss due to my snake phobia.
Highlight of the zoo without doubt are the otters, they are so entertaining, do not miss them!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MrsBrightside23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,158
    1,166
    323
    92
    55
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A great way to spend a day.”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

There isn't much to do with small (6+9) children on the island. Especially in winter when the pool water is cold. I endorse all of the reviews; this place is friendly, laid back, interesting and very entertaining. The pricing is fair for entry but even though captive, they charge less for food and drink than that in a bar or restaurant. Although I have misgivings about zoos many animals are recovered from ill treatment from all over the world. The zoo doesn't claim to be a sanctuary but it makes viewing more comfortable. The staff care about the environment and it shows. I would say that to stay on the Island and not visit Oasis Park would be a huge loss.

Only one PS: wear trainers/shoes the grit gets to your toes on Sandals!

Helpful?
Thank PeterCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Level Contributor
164 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Zoo in nice surroundings”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Well worth a four or five-hour visit. Animals seemed to be well taken care of and the shows we saw (reptiles and raptors) were enjoyable. Missed some information on important conservation issues in the shows though, and incorrect English names were used for some of the animals in the shows. Restaurants decent and efficient, toilets clean and a plus for the (free) bus up through the botanical garden. Plenty of (free!) parking space and easy access to all animals thanks to a well-planned layout.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pomarinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb zoo, so much to see”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My wife, 2 kiddies (3 and 6 yrs old) and I went to Oasis Park on a day trip from Caleta catching the 10:30 bus and returning at 6 both she and I figured we would have enough time to see it all, barely was the truth.

The zoo is huge with some amazing experiences, the little ones were a little worried coming through the birds and lemurs that were free and with them, especially with 2 of the larger lemurs arguing and making a right racket, the zoo itself is a magnificent experience, the only thing i would say is do not wear sandals as the path tends to get in your feet all day especially if you are piggy backing your youngest around.

the birds of prey display was incredible if a little tiring to get too, the sealions the boys loved especially when one came out and walked around behind us, being so close to so many wonderful animals...

this was a fantastic zoo and so different from anything in the UK, I cannot recommend the place enough

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank vonky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare, South Wales, UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

This is one of the better animal parks we have visited while abroad. The variety of the animals is good and they all seemed to be in a really good condition.

The shows for us were the highlight, especially getting to handle a crocodile, lizard and anaconda. Fantastic.

Be aware though that the show for the birds of prey is very high up the mountain and it does take a time to get up there, we missed 10 minutes of it because we didn't realise how far up it was.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mwhelan100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oasis Park Fuerteventura also viewed

 
 

Been to Oasis Park Fuerteventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing