We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect 'old school' service in a modern hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port Ciutadella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Port Ciutadella
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Ciutadella
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfect 'old school' service in a modern hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Just returned from a long weekend in this hotel which we used as a base on a B&B basis. The hotel is very clean and modern, with a lovely outdoor swimming pool surrounded, and sheltered, on all 4 sides by the low rise rooms. The service is very professional but unobtrusive, the bar might appear unattended but you have been noticed and a barman requested to attend. Never kept waiting. The breakfasts were excellent with a fresh egg station along with an extensive wide ranging buffet. We took lunch there twice, and considering this is a 4 star hotel, not only could the quality and service not be faulted but the value for money very good ( one day we had lunch in the town and this was poor value by comparison). The icing on the cake for me was on my birthday when a bottle of Prosecco appeared in our room with a happy birthday note. Someone in the hotel either spotted my birthday cards in the room, or my DoB on my passport, we certainly didn't mention this prior. 10 out of 10 for observation, and thoughtfulness. Thank you. My only mildly negative observation - no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. Apart from that I would highly recommend hotel and staff. Would love to go back.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a sea view, on balance this was a good move, but the view is more likely to be of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DTomey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingSeth, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Port Ciutadella, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hotel Port Ciutadella would like to thank you for your kind words regarding your visit to the Hotel.

We are very glad that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and that our staff has done a good work, all the team is always very happy to find out about all these comments.

About tea making facilities, we have received lots of suggestions and we are working to improve that. So in a few weeks we will have it in all our rooms.

We hope to be able to welcome you again some time.

Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    235
    49
    14
    6
See reviews for
108
487
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

We were looking for a hotel with out loads of children, somewhere we would be able to get a spot around the pool if that's where we decided to stay for the day.
I had asked our tour operator for an above ground floor room. This we didn't get but we couldn't have asked for a better room as it looked straight onto the pool area. We also picked B&B but stil picked to eat at the hotel a few evenings depending on the menu choice available.

We were given a warm greeting at reception and before we were allowed to go any further asked for our credit card, something I dont like to do. Our luggage was then take to our room for us.
The room was spacious, clean with a balcony looking onto the pool area. The bath room had a shower over a spa bath which I loved to relax in at the end of the day.

We used the hotel spa once during our stay and were not disappointed witht the facilities available. The pool a never crowded in fact the most I ever saw in the pool at one time was about 2 people. Mind you it was freezing in the scorching heat.

Food was buffet style with more than enough on offer for anyone. They also had a food station where panckes were cooked for you in the morning and various things available in the evening, one night it was Swordfish cooked while you wait, anothwer was Veal.

We had google mapped the area before we went butbit is very easy to finding your way around with the old capital city being 5mins walk away if that. The area has it's own beach however small just outside the hotel. The harbour is again 5mins away max where you can also watch or catch ferrys to other islands. With not much open on a Sunday we took a wander around the cemetry it took a good few hours and is worth a look if you have time.

We also made a few places our locals, one being the irsh bar on the main square, they were always friendly even if all you need to make an irish bar is guiness on tap, a guinss mirror and a shamrock. By the end of our stay they knew what we wanted to drink without asking. Another of our favorite places was a little restuarant at the bottom of the steps at the harbour, built in the rock wall. We couldnt fault the staff, food or drink in either of these places. There are a few schools dotted around the area but you never see or hear the children in the area in the evenings.

We walked around the coast road past the habour and light house, you could walk for hours and just take in the stunning views and houses, and never see a person on the way.

I can't find fault with the hotel, area or facilities available. This holiday gets 100% approval by me.

Room Tip: If you are above ground floor ask for a sea view. There are only about 8 rooms on ground floor over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank dozybint73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in August 2013, myself, husband and one year old. We wanted a hotel with good food, a nice quiet environment not full of kids and no fighting for sun loungers! We were not disappointed. I emailed in advance to say I suffered from coeliac disease and got a reply within a day to say they had GF options such as bread and pasta. Every meal they brought me gluten free options kept separate from the main buffet, the chef also went through ingredients in various dishes and knew exactly what I could and couldn't eat. Fab! Room was lovely, huge space by wardrobes and quiet on evenings, great for our sleeping baby. Pool lovely area, plenty of shade and loungers and at any time of day you could pop out and get a lounger. Lovely walk into main centre, very pretty and relaxed. Would definitely return, a gem, great find.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank sarahm80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just popped in to have a look see as we passed . it has a very impressive waterfront location and looked lovely. They were closing that day but were kind enough to give us a quick look at one of the suites and the pool area.
I thought the design was very modern ..like ikea abit, but the suites overlooking the sea looked fab ..the pool area looked great also. They told me they didnt receive a lot of families even though children were welcome...it looked very serene and relaxing..but obv no kids club or anything. very much an adults place i think.
We would possibly stay there another time ..depends on price. i didnt dare ask but sure it will be on the website. Upmarket and deservedly so.

Room Tip: Front suite over looking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
5 Thank gemxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We have just returned from an excellent weeks holiday in Menorca. We stayed in Ciutadella at the Port Ciutadella, we had not originally booked this hotel but were transferred there when the hotel we had booked closed early for the season. The Port Ciutadella is an excellent hotel by a small inlet only 10 minutes walk from the city centre.

I can't praise this hotel enough, everything about our stay there was first class, from the friendly service provided by the staff, particularly the team in the restaurant and bar. Our room, we had a junior suite, was spacious and clean and the balcony overlooked the inlet, the beds were firm, just how we like them.

The breakfast and dinner buffets were always well stocked and the quality of the food was excellent

Well done Hotel Port Ciutadella, I would certainly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Towcestrian_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Had a very good stay at the Port Ciutadella and could not fault any aspect of our stay there.
Liked every part of the place and the staff members could not have been more helpful and pleasant.
Food - we had plenty of choice, was well presented and the restaurant a nice place to eat and experience, again could not fault.
A very relaxed place and near to Ciutadella which is a nice place to go to.
Would recommend Port Ciutadella and Ciutadella to anyone for a relaxing stay.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shafton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingSeth, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Port Ciutadella, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hotel Port Ciutadella would like to thank you for your kind words regarding your visit to the Hotel.

We are very glad that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and that our staff has done a good work, all the team is always very happy to find out about all these comments.

We hope to be able to welcome you again some time.

Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location, in a new area of town within 10 minutes walk of the old town and if you want to walk further to beach areas, about 45 minutes will take you to either Santandria or Calla Blanes: both worth the walk. The hotel is modern with very spacious rooms, excellently appointed and with access to UK TV channels. We enjoyed in particular the breakfast, the excellent snack lunch menu and, for a hotel, the very reasonable bar prices. We found staff helpful, friendly and accommodating and we would definitely return here.

Room Tip: From what we could gather, most rooms offer very similar standards. They are spacious and well appo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingSeth, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Port Ciutadella, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hotel Port Ciutadella would like to thank you for your kind words regarding your visit to the Hotel.

We are very glad that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and that our staff has done a good work, all the team is always very happy to find out about all these comments.

We hope to be able to welcome you again some time.

Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ciutadella
7.9 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
1.0 mi away
Prinsotel La Caleta
Prinsotel La Caleta
#1 of 2 in Cala Santandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
4.6 mi away
Casas del Lago Hotel, Spa & Beach Club - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa
12.1 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
25.4 mi away
Artiem Carlos III Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Ciutadella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Ciutadella

Property: Port Ciutadella
Address: Paseo Maritim 36, 07760 Ciutadella, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Ciutadella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ciutadella
#3 Spa Hotel in Ciutadella
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ciutadella
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ciutadella
#7 Family Hotel in Ciutadella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Port Ciutadella 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Port Ciutadella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Ciutadella Hotel Ciudadella
Port Ciutadella Ciudadela
Hotel Port Ciutadella
Port Ciutadella Spain/Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing