We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Ciutadella
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow !”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Just got back from a week at the macerella suites calan Bosch. Wow wot a lovely hotel, staff, rooms, food, pool, in fact everything , . Excellent, would go back in a shot, if you want to go to menorca, stay here and you won't be disappointed .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José R, Director General at Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thanks a lot for choose our hotel to spend your holidays in Menorca, and as well for spend your time to write that nice review on tripadvisor and share your personal experience with the other travelers.

We appreciate so much your comments and we will transmit to our staff. They value so much that kind of reviews.

Best regards from Menorca and we will hope to see you again here.

Your Macarella Suites and Spa team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    139
    45
    5
    3
See reviews for
275
226
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is a lovely hotel with hard working staff who do their job very well.
We travelled as a couple and enjoyed our stay, and made full use of the spa facilities which were very good. The pool is very well designed for adults and young children, whose parents and grandparents appeared to enjoy it as much as the kiddies.
The only draw back for us was the location of the hotel, which is right next to the main road serving the town of Cala'n Bosch. There really is no escape from the noise of the traffic, so if you want a peaceful relaxing pool experience this is not the hotel. If your use to traffic noise then fine, this hotel has every amenity apart from poor location. Its a shame because we were so impressed with everything else.

Room Tip: If you want really quite, ask for rear facing Not pool facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goonerboy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José R, Director General at Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Customer,

First of all thanks a lot for take a little bit of your time to write a review on Tripadvisor web site. That helps very much to improve our work.

Thanks a lot for you positive comments. We will trasnmit to all of our workers.
About the traffic, the main road is next to the hotel, ovbiously that make a little bit noisy on mornings. But we must say as well the limit of speed on that road is 30km/hour. Because our Townhouse law, and Traffic law, doesn't allow more speed, due we are in a residencial area/center.

In any case when the customers have problems with noise, if they come to recepcion we will try to change the room to a quieter area, we want the best to satisfy you and as well your holidays. For us the guest is the most important on our work.

Best regards from Menorca. And please receive a big greetings from all the staff of Macarella Suites and Spa.

We hope to see you again between us.

All your Grupotel Macarella Suites and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool england
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Love this hotel, so much so that we decided to return in may 2014, emailed the hotel prior to arrival to request the same room we had used previous, on arrival greeted by the ever pleasant Monika who was aware obviously by the notes, that we were returning guests, on entering our room we were greeted with a bottle of sparkling wine and a basket of fruit accompanied with a card thanking us for returning, the hard working staff in this hotel are superb, nothing is to much trouble for them, from Luciana and her staff in the dining room , the cleaners who keep the hotel spotless to the maintenance guys who are constantly cleaning the pool and taking care of the upkeep, nothing much has changed since our last visit,the food is a lot warmer (so check that review out), all the sun loungers were replaced during our stay, i wonder if after 6 weeks there still tying them together every night, the evening entertainment isnt up to much, they dont use the room to its full potential, its a shame really because we went to the Valentin star most nights , the acts on here were of a high standard alas the entertainment room wasnt a patch on the one in the Macarrela, im sure with a little thought there entertainment room could be much better utilised, there are plenty of bars and restaurants around the marina, we normally had a quiet drink at bar don carlos, were the ever pleasant Juan is mine host , i wouldnt hessitate to recommend this hotel and if returning to Menorca wouldnt stay any where else. thank you Macarella hotel.
on the downside, while there the spa area was out of action for several days , we made enquiries through the Thomson rep who wasnt much use, it was only by chance that we found out it was working shortly before returning home, would have been nice if she had kept us up to speed, once she realized we werent booking any excursions she lost interest. The hotel cant be blamed for that

Room Tip: rooms with a pool view get the afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José R, Director General at Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for book again our hotel to spend your holidays with us. Have regular customers for us is a pleasures, and reception staff do the best to satisfy all the preferences and whishes when it is possible, are not guaranteed but at reception everyone do the best to satisfy them.

We will tell you the compliments to all of our staff, that we appreciate so much, and they will be happy to know that their work be appreciate for the clients. And we value the reviews written with love and affection.

Thanks a lot for value our improvements. We do something every year, and the guest reviews allow that, because clients put in view our deficiences.

We have taken note as well of your night animation comments. And we will try to improve them as well.

Many thanks as well for take your time to write that nice review, that helps very much on our work.

Best regards and a big hug from all the staff of Macarella Suites and Spa.

we are hope to see you again here in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here mid May and had a wonderful time,the reception staff are very helpful and they even gave us a larger room than we had asked for.i would recommend catching the bus to cuitadella it has some great bars and restaurants.we got engaged while we were here and the staff made a fuss of us which was nice.highly recommended

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José R, Director General at Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for choose our hotel for your special date, congratulations for your engagement, and good luck in your marriage.

Thanks a lot for spend your time sharing your personal experience with the other travelers.

We hope the best for you and your wedding.

We are looking to see you again in Menorca.

Best regards from Menorca.

Macarella Suites and Spa team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Back for the 3rd time so that tells you all you need to know really. The reviews here really reflect our experiences. Excellent hotel, staff and amenities, they really make you feel like a guest rather than a person on a holiday manifest and definitely go beyond to make your stay great.
We always stay B & B and this year there is a new outdoor dining terrace which makes breakfast more enjoyable, new more comfortable sunlougers as well, and never a shortage.
If I had to be picky, the wifi/internet is very expensive (most hotels provide complimentary wifi for guests these days) and is not great around the pool although an improvement on previous years. You can't buy a 2 week internet pass only 1 day, 1 week or 1 month so for 11 days 25 Euros is steep. The entertainment isn't brilliant, but you don't have to go far to find something, so for us it isn't an issue. I am pretty sure we will return again and again...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisE61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José R, Director General at Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Client,

Thanks a lot for visiting us again, we are pleased to serve you. Thanks a lot for your spend your time to write a review on that internet site. We appreciate that you take a little bit of your time that help us on our work.

We have taken note of your commets about entertaiment and Wifi, and we will try to fix or improve them.

We are hope to see you again.

Best regards from Menorca.

Your Grupotel Macarella Suites and Spa team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Lovely hotel, cannot agree that the food was Luke warm and tasteless! Champagne breakfast for fathers day, and champagne at gala dinner. We had a late arrival, due to flights being changed! We had a 14 month old and a 4 year old, they opened the dining room at 9.45 pm with a cold buffet and complimentary water. All staff are wonderful and friendly, we did not pay a deposit for our towels, were offered a complimentary umbrella for the beach. Our only complaint was that we had not booked for 2 weeks. Cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Room 103 is near the pool but very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weejess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José R, Director General at Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Family,


Thanks a lot for your visit, and sped your holidays between us as well for take a little bit of your time to write a review and share your personal experience with the other travellers, that helps us very much.

We appreciate your good comments, and we will transmit to our staff.

We hope to see you again next year.


Best regards from Menorca.

Your Grupotel Macarella Suites and Spa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We have just returned from a week stay at Gruopotel Macarella Suites and Spa. The whole experience was second to none. From the moment we arrived and was greeted at reception by Pablo with a hand shake and smile, we were treated, (as all guests were) first class. Without exception all the staff were friendly, and always smiling, nothing being too much trouble.
The accommodation was exceptional. We stayed bed and breakfast, the food was 5star. The breakfast choice included full English every day, plus the usual meats and cheeses.There were fresh smoothies available, and on Sunday, champagne was there to greet you.
The swimming pool was spotless, (as was the entire Hotel). We cannot rate this hotel high enough.
Looking forward to another visit.
Tony and Jean Dennett

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José R, Director General at Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Family,

Many thanks first for your visit, and many thanks for take a little bit of your time to write that nice review. We transmit your compliments to our staff as soon as possible, that make our staff work harder and happier.

We are hope to see you next year and make your next holidays as pleasant as last one.

Best regards from Menorca.

Your Macarella Suites and Spa team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ciutadella
0.0 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,089 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Casas del Lago Hotel, Spa & Beach Club - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Prinsotel La Caleta
Prinsotel La Caleta
#1 of 2 in Cala Santandria
1,130 reviews
4.5 mi away
Port Ciutadella
Port Ciutadella
#3 of 56 in Ciutadella
780 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Paradise Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa

Property: Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa
Address: Gran Via Son Xoriguer, s/n | Urb Son Xoriguer, 07769 Ciutadella, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Ciutadella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ciutadella
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ciutadella
#2 Spa Hotel in Ciutadella
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ciutadella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 150 m away from the Cala en Bosch beach. Apartments: One twin bedroom. Living room with two couches. Kitchenette. Heating/ air-conditioning. Sat-TV. Terrace or balcony. Sport & Leisure: Swimming pool with children´s splash pool. Table tennis. Billiard table. Evening shows and live music. Gastronomy: Generous breakfast and dinner buffet. Show cooking. Lounge and Pool bar with snack service. Services: Car rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Macarella Suites And Spas
Grupotel Macarella Hotel Ciudadella
Hotel Grupotel Macarella
Macarella
Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa Spain/Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing