We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Ciutadella
Certificate of Excellence
gloucestershire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just Great”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I booked this hotel because of the reviews on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed,it was lovely, the rooms, the food,the standard of the cleaning, the staff are a credit, all of them cheerful, happy to help nothing seemed too much trouble. The resort was closing for the winter, we were prepared for this as our travel agent had warned us but there were supermarkets, shops and restaurants open in the nearby marina, we were happy with this but you would have much more choice eariler in the season.
We wanted a quiet relaxing week thats exactly what we got and the weather was wonderful, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel or the resort and hope to return next year

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank holidayheaven53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    139
    45
    5
    3
See reviews for
277
226
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a nicely maintained, relaxed hotel. The clientele seemed to be 75% British when we stayed, with a few Germans and Spaniards making up the remainder. Being just out of season the hotel felt a little quiet, but it was all the better for it: too many raucous families would have only spoiled the experience. The pool area was very relaxed and peaceful when we were there, possibly as many of the guests preferred the nearby beach, but I can imagine in July/August the ambience of this hotel is... well, somewhat 'livelier'.
I won't run through the hotel amenities as there's plenty of info on this in other reviews and elsewhere, but just to say that the breakfast was very good - plenty of choice, and something for pretty much everyone I'd say. Lunches are mainly provided by the pool bar/cafe, but there are numerous restaurants in the marina (literally a minute's walk away), and we ate out every night. The spa looked okay - nothing special, and with a small gym - and cleaning services did a good job every day looking after the huge suite we'd booked. However what I would suggest is a little more security on ground floor rooms: there was a very particular way of locking the large French doors to our room, and that method took some trial and error to learn without instructions. Evidently the maid also struggled, as on occasion we returned to find the doors were not locked. The small safe was also broken, so you need to make use of the facilities at Reception to ensure your valuables don't disappear. Bit of an annoyance really.
On the whole this is a good hotel, close to everything you'll need, and is probably the pick of those in Cala n Bosch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sykander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

A great hotel super rooms with english tv (BBC1 ect) But oh dear if you dont like veal and a very small main course selection. This hotel my not be for you. Meals where sometimes not very hot. But the sweets where to die for.. So a mixed reaction to the food here. Oh yes bring your own tea bags theres are like .......

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Have just returned from a week in this hotel and can't praise it enough. The resort is of a high standard and very clean as was the hotel. The rooms/suite are even better than the pictures and we were not disappointed on arrival, as sometimes is the case. Plenty of room for a couple. We went half board - which we were a bit dubious about, but found that there was an excellent selection (not so much for vegetarian ) and the staff were both attentive and friendly. The position of the hotel is centrally situated and allows for easy access to both beach and marina. Although the resort was closing down this had no impact on our week.
An ideal location and hotel for a relaxed and restful week away. I would certainly return again.

Room Tip: Although we were at the back of the main block we did have a huge balcony and was more than adequate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elspethrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Recently returned from the Macarella with my wife and one year old daughter and have to say we have all had a wonderful time. The location was brilliant with great walks and a lovely Marina. The food at the hotel was great, with loads to choose from, especially at breakfast. The staff were very attentive and even gave us presents for our daughter. You were made to feel very special by all the hotel staff. I've travelled to many hotels in the Caribbean, US and Europe and this is probably one of the best overall for staff friendliness, food, location, room and cleanliness - it ticked all the boxes for us and we would definetely return one day!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bond007Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The suites in this hotel are very spacious and well appointed. The decor is very welcoming and up to date. The kitchen area was excellent, although there was no ice tray in the fridge - we asked and they are not provided - so I bought some ice from the local supermarket. The bedroom was quite large with ample hanging space. The TV features UK TV which was better than just BBC World News which is normally provided. Our suite (224) overlooked the pool and had a distant sea view - we had requested this.
All the staff were very friendly especially in the restaurant. We were on B&B but bought the hotel buffet dinner on a couple of occasions - €20 normally and €16 on gala night (Thursday). The food was execllent with a wide variety of choice. The only exception being when we had to have early breakfast - we were going on a trip. The only food available was bread and cold cuts - OK for Germans etc but not to the English palate. We didn't expect cooked, but croissants or toast would have been acceptable.
The pool area was spacious with plenty of loungers and no towel reservations that we noticed. Pool towels are provided for a €10 deposit which was helpful in keeping baggage weight down. We made use of the spa - both my wife and I having massages - very relaxing.
The hotel is just a few minutes from the marina with a wide choice of restaurants and bars - The Aquarium was particularly good if a little more expensive than the "pile em high" restaurants. Boat trips can be booked from the marina.
The beach at Es Cana is not huge but very popular. However, a few minutes walk around the headland brings you to Xoriguer beach which is bigger and not as busy.
Overall a very relaxing and comfortable hotel. We would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room poolside as the alternative is overlooking a road or wasteland. Building 2 is away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank V9GTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

thomson platinum holiday
staff very helpful and polite
rooms spacious and clean
food very good both evening/breakfast although english sausages for breakfast would be nice
hotel close to marina easy access for evening stroll
enjoyed our stay and would go back again

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnnybgood-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ciutadella
0.0 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,102 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Casas del Lago Hotel, Spa & Beach Club - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Prinsotel La Caleta
Prinsotel La Caleta
#1 of 2 in Cala Santandria
1,135 reviews
4.5 mi away
Port Ciutadella
Port Ciutadella
#3 of 57 in Ciutadella
780 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa

Property: Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa
Address: Gran Via Son Xoriguer, s/n | Urb Son Xoriguer, 07769 Ciutadella, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Ciutadella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ciutadella
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ciutadella
#2 Spa Hotel in Ciutadella
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ciutadella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 150 m away from the Cala en Bosch beach. Apartments: One twin bedroom. Living room with two couches. Kitchenette. Heating/ air-conditioning. Sat-TV. Terrace or balcony. Sport & Leisure: Swimming pool with children´s splash pool. Table tennis. Billiard table. Evening shows and live music. Gastronomy: Generous breakfast and dinner buffet. Show cooking. Lounge and Pool bar with snack service. Services: Car rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Macarella Suites And Spas
Grupotel Macarella Hotel Ciudadella
Hotel Grupotel Macarella
Macarella
Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa Spain/Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing