We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santandria Playa Hotel(Ciutadella)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Can Faustino(Ciutadella)
$242
$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cheap&Chic Hotel(Ciutadella)(Great Value!)
$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hostal Residencia Ciutadella(Ciutadella)(Great Value!)
$85
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Menorca Patricia(Ciutadella)(Great Value!)
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Tres Sants(Ciutadella)
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Club Cales de Ponent(Ciutadella)(Great Value!)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (612)
Filter reviews
612 results
Traveler rating
404
150
47
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
404
150
47
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boardthomson platinumseparate showergala dinnerpool areabottle of cavaduplex suiteplenty of sunbedsreception stafflovely hotelcala'n boschemailed the hotelrestaurant staffminute walk to the harbourplenty of choicerelaxing holidaybed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
336 - 341 of 612 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

thomson platinum holiday
staff very helpful and polite
rooms spacious and clean
food very good both evening/breakfast although english sausages for breakfast would be nice
hotel close to marina easy access for evening stroll
enjoyed our stay and would go back again

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Johnnybgood-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife & I stayed here at the beginning of September for 11 nights and had a brilliant time. I wrote to the hotel prior to going on holiday because we were celebrating our 5th wedding anniversary. Pablo allocated us a great room (202) - 1st floor, left hand side on the main photo, the one with the terrace. We couldn't have asked for more. The suite was massive, clean and well kitted out. All of the staff that we met were extremely friendly, helpful and worked really hard. The pool area during the day was relaxing and quiet. There were plenty of sunbeds (in good condition). We watched the hotel evening entertainment on 2 occasions. Average standard throughout the resort. The food was really nice & varied as hotel food goes. If people want piping hot food, served on hot plates with all the trimmings then they should get their cash out and go to a restaurant. The restaurants and bars are a very short stroll away. No noisy boom-boom music here. We eat out 3 times. We had 1 good meal in the chinese by the Shopping Centre, 1 disappointing meal in the overrated (but popular) Steakhouse and 1 forgettable meal in Ciutadella harbour. There is a good supermarket next door, offering inexpensive wine. Ideal because you have a fridge (with a small freezer compartment) in your suite. Bring an ice-cube bag with you and a decent cork-screw. We had mixed feelings about the excursions offered by Thomson. Best of all was the full-day "Coast-to-coast" trip. "A Tate of Mahon" was a half-day trip (the same as the first half of the "Coast-to-coast" trip). Average as trips go. We also did "Treasures of Menorca" . This was another full-day trip but was exhausting, rushed and didn't stop long enough at the nice places (e.g. Binibeca). The Xorio caves (or should I say "bar") were a disappointment although still nice to see. Had potential to be a really decent trip. Prices? Are they ever good value? I would thoroughly recommend Menorca as a holiday resort (hire a car) and the Macarella as a place to stay. We wanted a decent, relaxing holiday and that's exactly what we got. Thanks !!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank No-Bull-99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have just had a truly wonderful holiday at this hotel. Our room was beautiful,so much space (great to relax in at the end of a busy day). The facilities we had were all you could have asked for and the service from all of the staff in the hotel was excellent, nothing was too much trouble, they were always happy to help you. With food there was a great variety for breakfast and evening meal. Hotel was in a really great location, just minutes walk to supermarkets, shops, bars and restaurants, there was lots of choice. We were celebrating our 5th wedding anniversay; in the room on arrival was a bowl of fresh fruit, bottle of wine and a card, what a really nice touch, Thank You very much.
I would be happy to recommed this hotel to anyone, we had a brilliant time, thanks again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedroseLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have just arrived back from a fortnight staying at the Macarella. We travelled with Thomson who include the hotel in their 'Platinum' collection.
Firstly the good points, the hotel is in a great location; a short walk to the marina, beach, restaurants & entertainment at Caln Bosch and there is a supermarket next door. The communal areas of the hotel are spotless and all the staff we met were very helpful, especially the reception staff. The pool area is well maintained and there is a lifeguard on duty.
There is a pool bar which serves drinks, meals, snacks, ice creams etc but there is no waiter service at the poolside.
You can catch a bus to Cuitadella from outside the next door supermarket and it cost one euro ninety cents per person one way. You buy the ticket on the bus from the driver. At busy times it's actually better to catch the bus from the rear of the shopping centre in Caln Bosch (about a three minute walk from the hotel) as the bus then goes on a bit of detour and can get very full before it reaches the Macarella.
We have had bad experiences staying half board so we now stay B&B at hotels and we were pleased we had as we did eat at the hotel on the night of arrival and were not really impressed. It costs 20 Euros pp not including drinks for evening meal if you are not half board. In our opinion it wasn't worth it but it's a matter of opinion. There are lots of restaurants around the corner and although B&B wasn't a cheap option at least the food we did eat was tasty and we could choose whether we had Chinese, Italian, Steak, Pizza etc. (We also find that with a hotel buffet that even as a couple you end up eating alone as the other has wandered off for another helping or to find the puddings!!)
That said breakfast was good with the usual cooked and continental choices. We noticed that lots of different nationalties choose to stay at the Macarella and obviously the food on offer reflects this.
The Macarella is very popular with young families (I've never seen so many babies and toddlers in one place!) and the staff bent over backwards to assist parents with appropriate seating and placing of pushchairs etc. If I can be a little controvertial this sometimes meant that other guests were slightly neglected.
The general feeling at the hotel was very laid back - I cannot recall staying at another hotel where there were so few 'don't do this, don't do that notices' or disapproving staff. This is obviously a good thing.
Unfortunately all the above was tempered by the fact that we had a terrible room. The hotel is divided into two blocks and our room was on the ground floor of the first block. As we arrived after dark we were unaware of just how poorly postioned our room was until the next day.
On opening the curtains we found that we overlooked the supermarket and that our room was situated on the service road to the rear of the hotel at ground floor level. We did have a balcony but as we were north facing we had no sun. Very often lorries were driving back & fore along the service road often in reverse with the accompaning alarm.
We soon also discovered that our room was above the cleaner's basement and these ladies arrived at about 7am and started, or so it seemed, to be moving huge amounts of heavy furniture!
Due to the amount of people walking past the hotel at our room level we had no privacy so the curtains remained closed all week.
We knew that there was no point in asking for a move as the receptionist had already said that the hotel was full and hey you don't spend your holiday in your room but as the fortnight wore on it did become really depressing. Although the Macarella is a 4* hotel we definately had a 2* room. (see below how to avoid these rooms).
We were also a little disappointed that towels were not changed daily. We had also been told that there was no maid service on Thursdays and Sundays but in reality two days a week were picked at random.
Some of the poolside beds were beginning to show their age.
Finally just another couple of tips - Although the room has a kitchenette no coffee, tea or sugar is supplied and you may want to take a small bottle of washing up liquid. On the other hand Lux shower gel.shampoo is supplied in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs rooms 121 - 131 (odd numbers)
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Finleysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We went in September which is a good time for busy enough but not peak. The hotel is in a good spot, easy walking distance from beach and marina but just around the corner from the busiest bit. The staff are great as many reviews say and the suite one bed room we had was good, the beds may be a bit firm for some tastes. This hotel supports mixing self catering and meals out or in the hotel a s you get a fridge and a kitchenette. Breakfast was fine and there is a snack bar by the pool, we did not eat dinner so I could not comment on the food.
The pool is big enough that you can swim properly and if you wish sit well away from the kiddie end, there were a lot of young children but we had no issues with noise or space. There is entertainment some nights, some nice music etc but pretty low key. The hotel has a nice spa and beauty salon including some great massage offers and it extends options should the weather not be good.
The resort is classic holiday style well run and clean but the focus is on pizza, chips and souvenirs. Handy bus service to Ciutadella, a new water taxi concept for accessing the remoter beaches without hiring a boat and a great place for relaxing.

Room Tip: facing away from the pool in the annex buildings is quietest, sunniest will be the rooms facing the childrens pool
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews