We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we stayed longer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santandria Playa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Santandria Playa Hotel
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Ciutadella
Certificate of Excellence
Peregian Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wish we stayed longer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We spent 4 days at this wonderful hotel. The location right on the beach is marvelous. The half board option was fantastic. Loved the choices on the menu. The wine also fantastic.
Spent many relaxing hours swimming the lovely cala. The beach although sandy is a bit hard.
The young staff that run this hotel were extremely helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra to get the full sea view rooms. Make sure you get half board the meals are great if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveltige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    94
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
33
222
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

We had 10 days at the Blanc Cottages and had an absolutely fantastic holiday. The staff were incredibly hard working and were always cheerful even when still on duty late at night after being their at breakfast! Pleasantly surprised to find great facilities in our room including air conditioning throughout and the apartment was cleaned and made up every day. The activities around the pool were great fun and Vicky kept everyone entertained throughout the day. All the other reps were really approachable and friendly throughout. Our resort reps were always on hand and were really helpful. Would highly recommend the scuba diving and the classic cruise. You also get free access to the local water park which is easily accessed using the easy to use, regular bus routes.

We were all inclusive and were very happy with the varied choice on offer each day and on our day out we were even given a packed lunch. There were plenty of options to suit all tastes wether you like trying local food or not. Drinks were on tap in the restaurant so there was no waiting at all which was great and even later in the evening we rarely had to queue for drinks.

The only slight disappointment was the quality of the evening entertainment which whilst fun at times, could hardly be described as professional.

All in all a great holiday and we were only sad that we didn't book for longer. Would definitely return.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MrB1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We are not long back from two weeks at the Santandria Playa Hotel.

There is really not much to add to all the previous reviews. The location is perfect for a lazy, quiet couple of weeks, with enough available within an easy bus ride or short walk to get the blood flowing in your limbs again if you really need it.

The hotel is not the Ritz, but provides a really friendly, good value, laid back place to chill out. The staff bend over backwards to make sure your stay is a happy one. We seemed to melt into relaxation the moment we arrived, and managed to maintain the feeling until we were back in the UK.

We prebooked half board which proved to be very good value for money, and Gabriel the Manager was quite prepared to offer additional choice beyond the set menu when our daughter didn't fancy what was offered. He did spoil her a bit!

All in all a great place to stay, far from the madding crowd, but with enough going on to make you want to go back.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a full sea view which gave wonderful views of the bay and sunsets etc. but didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank P_J_and_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Just returned from Menorca today, after a 12 year gap. We previously stayed in Salgar which was just outside Mahon. The Santandria Playa hotel was wonderful, perfectly situated on the beach. The hotel staff are so kind and helpful, they work so hard! We ate in the hotel restaurant most nights, they do an excellent 3 course menu at 14.50 Euros mid week then it's 16 euros at weekends. The menu is changed daily. We sampled other restaurants in the bay but the hotel won hands down! It's so relaxing and quiet, perfect for a chill out break. The local bus service is very good, costs 1 Euro 55 to go into Cuitadella, well worth a vist. Wonderful holiday :-)

Room Tip: Obviously some rooms do not have a full sea view but you can pay an extra 10-15 euros a night for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank annecarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

The Hotel's location is excellent - right on the beach!
On arrival we were offered a sea view upgrade for an extra 10 euros per night, but we were very happy with the view of the beach and sea from our balcony. Our room had air conditioning which was included at no extra cost and had constant hot water.
Breakfast was very good with eggs and bacon and an extensive selection of fruit, meats, cereals, cakes etc. The staff were very friendly and exceptionally helpful. There were some very good restaurants nearby, we particularly liked the 'Bahia' which had great food and marvelous views of the bay.
You can walk to Cala Blanca with its bars and restaurants and where it gets lively later in the evening. Its easy to travel around by bus, a short trip to Ciutadella is recommended at only 1.55 euros, or to Cala Bosch where you can take boat trips and Mahon is only an hour away. It was our first visit to Menorca, but we shall definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Stoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

booked what i thought would be a cheap but cheerful holiday at the santandria playa but got possibly one of the best holiday both my wife and i have ever .and are determined to return next year .and would recommend half board ,you will not be disappointed ,as for the staff thword superb does not do them justice

Room Tip: believe it or not ,room 101 is the best its on the first floor and has a balcony you could have a ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonty1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex. uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

The trip from the airport is a pleasant 40 minutes. The hotel at first glance takes you aback a bit, it sits right on the sandy beach about 30 yards from the waters edge, the beach is about 100 yards across well used by families, the water is crystal clear and shallow, I walked out some 75 yards and it was only just up past my waste, so it's really safe for children. As I said the hotel takes you aback when you enter, theres no big flashy reception and smartly attired models. Reception is a table and chairs, where you sit down to book in, very informal (great). When you go to the lift, it's like something out of a James Bond set, the lift is in a natural cave. The rooms are spotless, and cleaned evry day, theres a 2nd floor open air pool, large sun deck, and if you ask the guys in the restaurant they'll put sun beds out for you. Apart from the hotel restaurant and snack bar, where thay serve good meals, there are within 2-5 minutes 3 other restaurant, all good. Playa Blance is about 15 minute walk.

Room Tip: The rooms are generally good, nearly all have a seaview, others have a full seaview. When we checked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alandolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ciutadella
0.2 mi away
Prinsotel La Caleta
Prinsotel La Caleta
#1 of 2 in Cala Santandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
7.0 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
11.3 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Casas del Lago Hotel, Spa & Beach Club - Adults Only
1.2 mi away
Port Ciutadella
Port Ciutadella
#3 of 57 in Ciutadella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Princesa Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santandria Playa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santandria Playa Hotel

Property: Santandria Playa Hotel
Address: | Urb. Cala Santandría, s/n, 07760 Ciutadella, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Ciutadella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ciutadella
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ciutadella
#6 Family Hotel in Ciutadella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santandria Playa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the paradaise island of Menorca from your beach hotel. In the Hotel Playa Santandria, whether you are travelling with friends or like a couple, you will excite the privileged views of the sea from a hotel for only adults. Some of the extras you'll find 2U Hotel Playa Santandria: swimming pool solarium gym Massage room Balinese beds or the beach restaurant....and much more to enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Santandria Playa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santandria Playa Hotel Spain/Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing