We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for This is an experience never to be repeated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maribel Apartamentos
Ranked #21 of 56 Hotels in Ciutadella
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for This is an experience never to be repeated”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We arrived and the man on reception was very unfriendly. He seemed very stressed and not interestedin us. We arrived 15 Oct for 2 weeks self catering but paid extra for breakfast. It was the end of the season and very quiet. H e showed us our apartment whichwas over Laurel and Hardys Restaurant and overlooking o road and a peice of scrub land. When booking we had requested a pool or garden view and we asked if there was anything better. He showed us another apartment with a large terrace even worse than the first as no view at all! The terrace was completely enclosed by other apartments with views of the air conditioning units! We ate at lunch time and the food was awful so didn't eat there again except breakfast. The breakfast waiter was totally unfriendly and didn't want to give us any service with a smile. He scowled at us and on the second day asked if we wanted the menu or did we know what we wanted in a very offhand manner. There were only ever 3 or 4 other people at Breakfast and none of them looked happy.The apartment was scruffy and no electric kettle,and only 2 ring hob and no oven. The dining table was wobbly and there was no pleasure in the thought of eating in and when we went to the supermarket for water there was hardly anything left on the shelves.We ate out every night and the Restaurant on the beach was lovely but there wasn't much else to choose from as end of season. We found a Chinese on the road to the nice beach which was good value and ate there twice. Laurel and Hardy's Restaurant below us was disapointing but we didn't have much choice! We discussed leavig as the place was so bad and on day 8 of our 14 night hol we left and checked into a lovely Hotel in Cala Galdana. The experience at Maribel was terrible and I felt like crying it was so bad. I forgot to mention we were woken on day 2 by building work going on at the Restaurant below. We thought "things can only get better" but they certainly didn't!!

Room Tip: Make sure you are not over a Restaurant and ask about apartments nearer the sea but not if you are h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rose547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANCISCO P, Director de Recepción at Maribel Apartamentos, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Sirs
We are sorry that your stay in our apartment was not as you thought; you know we tried to change your room, but nothing was acceptable to you. Maybe if you hadn’t come at the end of the season we would have been able to offer you another kind of apartment (we do have more apartments to choose from) but unfortunately they were closed on those dates.
We know you requested a pool or a garden view, but we don’t advertise the apartments with pool or a garden view. We also discussed that you thought the complex was different, but I explained the complex is accurately portrayed on our website and in any publicity.
The apartment you had, had neither oven nor kettle, the company you brought your holiday from was aware of this, but if you had requested it, we could have provided it for you because we have some at reception at no extra charge. The kitchen has a two ring Hob, which we think is enough to cook for two people.
About the dining table, you said that it was wobbly but as you didn’t inform us, we couldn’t fix it or change it. This would have been possible as we have a maintenance man working all day attending to problems such as these.
As you know, at the end of the season, the bars and supermarkets of all the tourist areas on Menorca are preparing to close, but Ciutadella it’s just 4 Km. away from Cala Blanca and everything is open there.
Certainly the hotel you went to was a better option for you because it was a 4 star hotel offering 4 star accommodation, however we advertise 2 keys apartments, at very reasonable rates for basic accommodation.
We also remember that during your stay with us, you became ill which would not give a good memory of your stay, but we would like to take this opportunity to say that if one day you decide to return you will be very welcome, just ask to speak to me and I’m sure we can accommodate your needs.
Kind Regards
Francisco Pons Maribel sales and bookings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    84
    46
    13
    13
See reviews for
82
92
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london, near manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Maribel Apartments are excellent value, and perfect for anyone who enjoys a quiet holiday. We will certainly be going back. We stayed 6th to 13th October 2012, not quite the end of the season, weather still good and all local restaurants still open - good value options there too. Quiet, but plenty of restaurants and bars - and, if it's your kind of thing, an Elvis impersonator at one of the bars Thursdays, and Supremes tribute band at a nearby hotel.
And when Barcelona play Real Madrid, forget what I said about it being quiet!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank strawman99b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed at maribel apartments 17/10/12 till 24/10/12 superb and very clean but due to being end of season there was only a handful of restaurants open we ate in the maribel on the 1st night food was ok not brilliant thou!!! The pool is nice but it was very cold......... The maribel is fantastic value for money but there isn't much to do here ideal for people who won't a very quiet holiday, the rooms are very clean and our room slept 4 but we had 3 in there

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gailncarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
403 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

just back and stayed in these apartments which are in Cala Blanca and about a 15/20 minutes bus ride to Ciudadella.We booked via hotels4u.com and they were only £50pp per week on self catering.Went for bed and breakfast for a little more and the selection in the morning was very good.
the position of the apartments is excellent right at the start of the so called "commercial" area which is half a doezen restaurants/bars and 2 supermarkets !!.Although this was the end of october and probably a lot busier in simmer it was like a ghost town and we were sometimes the only people in the restaurant.
the apartments were exceptional value for money and kept really clean(as was the whole of Menorca)for the price they are unbeatable.
there is a childrens play area to the side with loads of equipment for the smaller children but it would be very quiet for teenagers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penfolds_bin_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed 7 days half board end of Sept. We were upgraded to a 2 bed apartment and had the advantages of both self catering accommodation and half board. Took own kettle, everything else we needed was there except a full-length mirror, The place was spotless and the pace of life relaxed, no-one constantly after your money ,no scrabble for sunbeds, breakfast served until 11am, British TV. Temp was in mid 20s with a warm wind only needing a cardigan on a few nights.

There was some evening entertainment locally, a very enjoyable Elvis impersonator (who didn't take himself too seriously) in the Nautilus. The Hotel Sagitario featured a Supreme's tribute band who had us dancing on stage, that Sangria is strong stuff.

The food was served in a public restaurant and we were given the set menu starting with a substantial starter of pasta or salad which would normally do us the meal. The sweets were tasty, but the main courses were disappointing. Truthfully it was good value and our choices were hampered by a fish allergy and gluten intolerance. Chips with everything, sorry looking veg and tough meat all of very variable temperatures. Two nights we ate from the normal menu which highlighted how good the food could be.

Never got further than the pool or beach where the fish nibbled paddlers Kept trying to plan a bus ride to Cuitadella but the cold pool was too inviting. Would go back there tomorrow.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polyana63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here for a week in middle of September. Arrived to high winds but then very warm for the rest of the stay (early 30s).
Apartment room was very nice, modern and had 2 balconies.The kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed too. No great views but well located for everything, especially the local supermarkets.
The pool was nice but a bit cold and always plenty of loungers available.
The bus stops across the road which is worth a trip into Ciutedella with lovely old streets, markets and marina.
Cala Blanca beach was only 5-8 mins walk but Santandria is more like 15. Both are nice coves with lovely clear water (when the wind is not strong) - fish nibble at your ankles and worth taking a snorkel to see more.
Lots of nice restaurants by each beach or a few places to watch the sunset in the resort. It is quiet but a nice atmosphere. We found a great bar called Key West at Cala Blanca beach, nice and rustic with swinging chairs and nice cocktails.
For a livelier night you could walk a further 10 mins and get a bus to Cala'N Bosch which has a good marina and live music.
All in all a nice stay

Room Tip: There is another block located a short walk away so if you don't want that then ask for a centra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freckles0276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
didcot
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We spent 10 nights here in May 2012. The apartments are situated amongst a complex of shops, restaurants and bars. (The main ones for the resort). Be warned, the resort is extremely quiet and whilst we were there some of the restaurants were only starting to open. You need to bear this mind as the apartments only contain a two ring hob, a microwave and toaster. You can hire a kettle, oh and a remote for the TV! The apartments are OK but during a 10 night stay they cleaned the floor once and emptied the rubbish once. You are expected to do your own cleaning and make your own bed. The small beach is about a 10 minute walk away. There is a lot of seaweed which they were trying to remove with the use of a tractor, albeit fairly unsuccessfully. I can however recommend a restaurant within walking distance near to the beach of Santandria. It is in a natural cave and the food is divine and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: 1st floor apartments have a large patio area. Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnsgirl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ciutadella
2.2 mi away
Apartamentos Vista Blanes
Apartamentos Vista Blanes
#30 of 56 in Ciutadella
367 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cala Bona & Mar Blava Hotels
Cala Bona & Mar Blava Hotels
#7 of 56 in Ciutadella
322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santandria Playa Hotel
Santandria Playa Hotel
#8 of 56 in Ciutadella
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Apartamentos Roc Lago Park
Apartamentos Roc Lago Park
#8 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
660 reviews
2.7 mi away
Los Lentiscos
Los Lentiscos
#33 of 56 in Ciutadella
483 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartments Sa Caleta
Apartments Sa Caleta
#31 of 56 in Ciutadella
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maribel Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maribel Apartamentos

Property: Maribel Apartamentos
Address: Avda de la Playa s/n, 07760 Ciutadella, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Ciutadella
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ciutadella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Maribel Apartamentos 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring an outdoor swimming pool and Mediterranean Sea views, Apartamentos Maribel is set 400 metres from Cala Blanca Bay. It offers bright apartments with balconies set in attractive gardens.Each of the Maribel’s air-conditioned apartments has simple décor with tiled flooring. All accommodation comes with a kitchenette and a seating area with a sofa bed and flat-screen TV.The Maribel has a peaceful location less than 1 km from the centre of Cala Blanca. There is a selection of shops, bars and cafés within 15 minutes’ walk of the complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maribel Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maribel Apartamentos Hotel Ciudadella
Maribel Apartamentos Ciudadela
Maribel Apartamentos Hotel Ciudadela
Maribel Apartamentos Spain/Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing