We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel playa ( not so ) grande”
Review of Hotel Platja Gran

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Platja Gran
Ranked #32 of 56 Hotels in Ciutadella
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“hotel playa ( not so ) grande”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

chose this hotel for its location and a balcony with sea view.were told on arrival that we did not have a balcony and there was no chance of having one as hotel was full but as the lady on reception told us we had a nice window with a good view this view unfortunately could only be enjoyed one at a time as that is all there was room for.room was very spartan with 2 beds shoved together it had 1 bedside cabinet and 1 bedside lamp there was a standard lamp in room but no sockets to plug it in fridge was at bottom of bed leaving little room to move freely.tv was spanish speaking only.having first shower discovered soiled towel.at night noise was horrendous with busy traffic paper thin walls meant we could hear even the simplest sounds.breakfast was unamagative and repetative drinks machine kept breaking down,quite a few cups had cracks in them.we also discovered the food was left out uncovered all night.not very hygenic.on the plus side the air conditioning was good and the location was fine the wonderful city of ciutadella a brisk 10 minute walk away

Room Tip: make sure you have a balcony before travelling,take ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    57
    35
    22
    24
See reviews for
21
91
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
293 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I have stayed one night. The hotel is conveniently located near the beach of Ciutadella and 10 minutes walking from the center. It is quite clean and modern and I did not have any problems with insects. The staff is helpful. The sound insulation is not so good and people walking on the corridors seem to be actually inside the room, the free wi-fi is a bit cumbersome and hard to set up in Macs or mobile phones. The free breakfast is spanish standard and therefore a bit sparse for most other nationalities.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobGoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

I've stayed at this hotel 3 times and found it to be very pleasant.It's spotlessly clean and in a nice location.
I haven't had an evening meal here but why would you want to eat here when there are some fantastic restaurants within walking distance.The breakfasts are more than adequate.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve2158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

I stayed at the Playa Grande as part of a package with Thomson (no rep). The hotel is a small modern Spanish City Hotel on a busy roundabout. Across the road is a small beach. Although the sand is not brilliant, it is clean and there is a lifeguard, and a shower. The water was crystal clear, teeming with fish and although a bit chilly, was good to swim in.
The room was a standard hotel size, clean and furnished with modern fittings. My balcony overlooked the beach at the front of the hotel but there are rooms which only have internal balconies. Warning - do not shut the patio door whilst out of the balcony as you cannot get back in again.
The shower room was spacious with complementary toiletries but due to a poor design the basin poorly drained and the tap dripped over the edge onto the floor. There were no English speaking channels on the television but luckily I speak a bit of Spanish. I opted for half board because I was on my own and it was only £6 per night. The food was good quality but there was a very limited selection, always salad and chips with meat in sauce and seafood/fish in sauce with fruit for afters. Later on in the week cake appeared! You could help yourself to water but no coffee (this was for breakfast only). If you wanted a coffee or a glass of wine it was only 1.2 euros. Breakfast was a good spread with juice, toast, cake, cereal, cold meat, cheese and coffee.
It was about a 10 minutes stroll to the centre along the road by the side of the hotel, about double that along the front of the hotel which followed the shoreline. Cuitadella is a beautiful historic city, easy to explore on foot. I visited the Cathedral and the Municipal Museum (Archeology), and spent time just wandering and taking refreshment at the various pavement cafes. I went on two organised trips with Thomson and also took the bus into Mahon as the Red Arrows were doing a display. The buses are modern clean air conditioned coaches and a very reliable. Also did some walking following as closely as possible the Cami de Cavalls to Cala Blanes which is the beach resort to the North catering for traditional British tastes and southwards to Sa Caleta, Santandria and Cala Blanca which are small but perfectly formed beach resorts. I would love to go to Cuitadella again, and would stay in this hotel however would stick to B & B.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nettiekl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2006

My partner and I stayed at this hotel last week and were really surprised. We booked it as part of a package holiday and from the website we didn't have high hopes of anything other than a cheap and cheery place to sleep.

When we got there we soon discovered that the website is a little out of date! The hotel seems to have had a recent modern refurbishment and easily fits into the 3* classification on which it was sold to us. We stayed on the top floor with great views of the bay/beach to our right and the suburbs to our left. The terrace was bigger than our bedroom and had a small table and chairs on which to sit and watch the sunset over the sea in the evening. It appeared that most rooms had similar terraces and looked over the beach.

The bedroom wasn't huge, but the bed was very comfortable and there were large built in cupboards to store all your baggage so you weren't tripping over it. The bathroom was more than big enough and was tiled floor to ceiling, containing a large walk in shower. The rooms were cleaned to a high standard daily and we were given fresh towels each time.

We ate breakfast every morning and, although the same every day, there was a large variety to choose from. The hotel staff were friendly and cheerful and the lobby had a bar and seating area for evening drinks.

The hotel is situated about 10 mins walk from the port and near the buses for the other beaches. I would recommend this hotel to other couples, but I'm not sure how suitable it would be for children as there are no distractions. This is not a loud/resort hotel, but is perfect for a short getaway or if you need to be located near the old town, as we did for the fabulous diving.

My only criticism would be the music which is piped through the ceilings. This stops by 11pm, but can be distracting before then. At present there is also a building site next door, but even though we were right next to it at the end of the building, it wasn't too bad and we only heard the odd bit of banging.

  • Liked — The terrace and the comfort.
  • Disliked — The piped music!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MissScarlet78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GETAFE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2006

We have been one week in July, and I only recommend that hotel for couples without children, due to there are not meal and other services for them. The rooms are very simple and the bath is small and few clean. The hotel is very noise, the cleaning service began his working day at seven in the morning when all the people are sleeping. The meal is very repetitive, and the cook always prepare food with a lot of sauce. There are only second dish, because the first is salad (all days).
The beach near the hotel is very dirty and without sand.
The best is the location of the hotel, because is very near of the center square of the Ciudadela, about 10 minutes on foot.
In the hotel there aren't "customer service", all the workers are temporary people without relation with the hotel's management.

  • Liked — The near location at the centre of the city
  • Disliked — The noise
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank KANIZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ciutadella hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ciutadella
2.1 mi away
Los Lentiscos
Los Lentiscos
#33 of 56 in Ciutadella
483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Port Ciutadella
Port Ciutadella
#3 of 56 in Ciutadella
751 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Residencia Ciutadella
Hostal Residencia Ciutadella
#22 of 56 in Ciutadella
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Hostal Jeni
Hostal Jeni
#1 of 1 in Mercadal
159 reviews
1.3 mi away
Apartamentos Vista Blanes
Apartamentos Vista Blanes
#30 of 56 in Ciutadella
367 reviews
2.2 mi away
Apartamentos Solvasa Cabo de Banos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Platja Gran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Platja Gran

Property: Hotel Platja Gran
Address: Carre Obispo Juano 2, 07760 Ciutadella, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Ciutadella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 56 Hotels in Ciutadella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Platja Gran 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Platja Gran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Ciudadella
Playa Grande Ciudadela
Playa Grande Hotel Ciudadela
Hotel Platja Gran Spain/Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing