We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very glad it's back!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of S'Amarador (Samarador)

S'Amarador (Samarador)
Ranked #11 of 196 Restaurants in Ciutadella
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: S'Amarador has already become the restaurant par excellence in the Port of Ciutadella. Located at the center of the port, next to the bridge, it has a fantastic terrace with the best views over the harbour as the sunsets. The spirit of the traditional fisherman's restaurant has been maintained, serving the best Menorca fresh fish. Its specialties include seafood rice dishes, shellfish and lobster stews, grilled or roasted local fish and a huge variety of fresh products:prawns, crayfish, clams, mussels, anchovies, squid, etc. Its cellar holds over 150 different wines. The venue stands out for its impaccable interior design, different dinnig rooms, an interior garden which features a huge fig tree and spectacular terrace on the first floor. There is also a private dining room available.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very glad it's back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

This always was a great position for a restaurant, overlooking the harbour, so was surprised when it closed several years back. Very glad that it is now open again. The food is excellent (and reasonable given the quality), as is the service, and is in a perfect location for a long, lazy lunch watching all the activity in and around the harbour. The building has been extensively refurbished and has a very cool and contemporay feel to it, and it's just as good to eat inside as it is to be on the outside tables or the roof terrace. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Enporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    637
    550
    170
    67
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Lovely setting gorgeous meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We arrived the last week of the season and were pleased to see this restaurant open as all else had closed.
The menu del dia was at 15 euros but we chose to go twice during our stay. We ordered from the a la carte the first night and the menu del nochas the second. The first was obv more expensive and better in our opinion. fresh battered squid to start (around 8 euros) lamb tornado (15 euros ) tender and tasty with saute pots and veg, my partner had fillet steak (around 20 euros) bottle of red wine around 30 euros.
The menu of the night was 22 euros all in with smaller portions but not the same quality we didn't think.
They are open until after xmas as many locals go there.
recommend

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gemxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaior, Spain
Level Contributor
111 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“An old favourite revisited”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

This used to be one of our favourite restaurants a few years ago but had not eaten here since it changed hands. We lunched with two friends on a flying visit to Menorca and we all chose the menu del dia at 15.50 euros. This did not include drinks but nonetheless it was excellent value and I rank it one of the best lunches I have had anywhere in Menorca. Not only was the food beautifully cooked and presented, the service was slick and efficient but not intrusive. We all agreed that the food could not be faulted and was remarkable value. I certainly look forward to eating there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DhBahiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Top Restaurant for local food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We picked this restaurant as it was involved in a gastro fair promoting local food. On the first occasion we selected from the menu of the day at 15.50 euros each. This proved to be excellent value. We returned to share a caldereta and went with the lobster. It was worth the extra cost. The staff and service was attentive without being intrusive. Wherever you are on the island it is worth the drive to eat here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank duncan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire , UK
Level Contributor
107 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Menu del dia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This restaurant by the harbour side offers an excellent value menu del dia for €15.50 (not including wine ), with a good choice of fresh fish. Wine not cheap but was good quality. The service was a little slow, but when on holiday not in a hurry !

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank City1fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed S'Amarador (Samarador) also viewed

Ciutadella, Minorca
Ciutadella, Minorca
 
Ciutadella, Minorca
Ciutadella, Minorca
 

Been to S'Amarador (Samarador)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing