We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First timers to Menorca” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of HYB Sea Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
HYB Sea Club
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Ciutadella
Lancashire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“First timers to Menorca”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Just back from an 11 night stay from 21.9 .13 - 2.10.13
We arrived at 9pm, dinner stopped at 9.30pm so the reception told us to leave our luggage in the small hold provided, gave them our passports and we was directed to the dining room and allowed to check in after we had had our dinner, nice touch.
After dinner we checked in within a couple of minutes and directed to our room.
I had done my research before travelling and was delighted not to be placed in the dubious C block.
We had a room on the 1st floor of B block, sea and land view, could not have been better on that score.
We did have single beds and not the double we had asked for but was too tired to make a fuss and would enquire further in the morning.
No double beds with the same view available at this time, sorry. However, the view from the room was compensation enough so I let it ride.
The food was up and down but overall no real complaints. The local wine was potable if you have the tastebuds of a rhinocerous. The local whisky, gin, cinzano rosso, malibu and (Baileys) aka Irish Knights were ok.
What peeved me though was the fact that they served the drinks for all inclusive customers only, in plastic cups, I knew this before I went but it is my only strong complaint.
The staff at this hotel were very helpfull at all times and they are a credit to the hotel.
The entertainment at the hotel in the evenings is hit and miss, more often than not a miss, they can try harder.
The hotel is 10 minutes from pubs, bars and other restaurants and we ventured out a couple of times.
If you like to watch the rugby or the footy then you have no other options unless you watch on Wi-Fi (at your own cost).

It was our first time visit to Menorca and we travelled around the island a bit to take a look see.
We would return to visit Menorca again but not to this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank warrior48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    264
    116
    40
    30
See reviews for
303
224
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have just returned from our first family holiday with our toddler and thought this was a really good hotel for families as they are so good with the llittle ones. Even though we were all inclusive we had small kitchenette which was perfect for heating bottles for our daughter, a lovely travel cot was provided for her (a lot better than i was expecting). We had a ground floor room (45) overlooking the pool and water fountains. The room was cleaned regularly and we had 2 towel changes during our week stay. The bed was rather uncomfortable but you don't expect luxury mattresses when you go away.

The food was kind of what i'd expect for an all inclusive hotel and for what we paid - you could always find something to eat just sometimes you ended up with a random plate of things that don't really go together. There was lots of different sea food on offer, fresh salad, rice and pasta every day, potatoes of some variety and veg etc. They do seem to add a lot of garlic to a lot of the dishes which is fine for me but our daughter wasn't fond of garlicy brocolli and carrots! for pudding there were cakes and blamanche and fresh melon - standard for all inclusive. breakfast was a nice variety of fried eggs, beans, sausage, bacon, hard boiled eggs, yoghurt, continental meats and cheese cereal, fruit and pancakes. The downside were that inbetween if we had wanted to feed our daughter early there weren't really any snacks - just the left overs from breakfast left out upstairs for the rest of the day.

The pools were nice and the fountains were a lovely feature for the kids. The animation team were on the go all day and the mini disco on a night tired our little one out ready for bed! the entertainment was not bad there were a few outside acts on when we were there and a couple of nights the animation team put on a show (not always great but they tried there best!).

Was nice to be able to help yourself to drinks and never had a problem getting more than one drink at a time.

It was a ten minute walk to the supermarkets and there were plenty of places to eat and drink in the little town, the ice creams in town are lovely too :) we walked to the beach a couple of times - we went to the one about a 20 minute walk away as we were told it was the nicest one and it looked the easiest to get to with a buggy. there was a pirates cove bar and restaurant and a lovely little beach - unfortunately when we were there the jellyfish had invaded so paddling was at your own risk!

I wish we had hired a car as on the 2 overcast days it would have been nice to go the zoo or explore the other resorts as cala galdanes looked lovely when we passed through on the transfer.

All in all it was a nice cheap and cheerful hotel - we looked at others for the same price which looked awful - the staff were all really friendly and the rooms and hotel were pretty faultless. We all had a lovely time!

Room Tip: Ground floor best with the buggy and B block seemed best as not too noisey and had a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorHeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Went for a last minute break with my husband and we paid £590 each inc flights, transfers, airport parking and the all inclusive option.

Initial thoughts on arrival: reception area clean, staff very welcoming, pools look good, rooms a bit dated and gloomy but adequate (all apartments have twin beds - these are quite small and a bit hard).

This hotel is made up of apartments and ideally suited for families with young children - and there were plenty of them! A good mixture of mainly English and Polish people with a few German and Portuguese families. Plenty of sunbeds around the pool and never a problem to find one (maybe need a few more umbrellas for shade though). Blankets from the room made ideal sunbed cushions!!

Room was cleaned and beds made every day and towels and sheets changed every other day. Cleaning staff did an immaculate job. Also, the animation team of just three - 1 Polish girl, 1 Dutch girl and 1 Spanish guy were quite simply brilliant. They worked incredibly hard and provided a programme of interesting and varied activities every day and evening. Their language skills were perfect and they all had a wonderful sense of humour. Best team I have seen so far!!

Only drawback - as mentioned by other reviews - the restaurant! The food was adequate for the price, no problem with that but it was more like a hospital canteen!! SO NOISY!! No carpets, just a tiled floor and no curtains to absorb the noise of the clearing up trolleys - they were so efficient that plates were often cleared before we had both finished eating! Not a place to linger!

However, we both agreed that we had a fabulous relaxing week and enjoyed 7 nights of the most beautiful sunsets while sitting by the pool with our pre dinner drinks!!

So, yes I would recommend the Sea Club - it's a long way from 5 star - more like 3 but if you book with this in mind you will be quite happy for the price!

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a better view than the ground floor ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

My Husband and I arrived back 26th August 2013 from an all inclusive stay. We went last year and had a lovely time. So for the first time ever we thought lets go back to the same place. Big Mistake!!!

Although our room was adequate we were in a different block furthest away by the children's play area. It was very tired and the bathroom tiling grouting was black and the bath tub has a big rusty mark inside it. We had children staying in all our surrounding rooms I know kids cry in the night but as we are on holiday I don't want to be placed in a crèche on holiday! We didn't complain just got on with it like you do.

Last year we had breakfast in our room and dinning for the evening was outside by the pool. Watching the sunset whilst having a relaxing dinner outside was a lovely experience and one of the best parts of our holiday. It was mainly couples maybe just 4 children the whole of our stay.

What a big surprise this year we went down for breakfast and it had been moved . The dinning area is now in the basement canteen style. The crashing and noise level were horrendous at breakfast and dinner. Peaceful it was not. Cross between a works canteen and a crèche kids running up and down shouting.

During your mealtimes the staff whisk away your plate as soon as each individual has finished leaving your partner to finish theirs solo! They then start scraping the plates in the bin where everyone is dinning and throwing knifes and forks into their tubs and stacking dirty plates. In addition you have the plate trolleys being wheeled in and out whilst eating.The echo in that room is big as it is all tiled the noise is ridiculous. You could see people looking at each other in amazement. It was cattle class without a doubt. The food this year has gone downhill, most nights the choices were so weird it was hard to make a meal out of it. eg random spring rolls , lamb bones, potatoes which the ladies next to me one thought it was sweet potatoes the other swede due to its colour.

The drinks area for beer on tap was also inside where the coffee maker is. This has now been moved to the bar area just outside under a very watchful barman. Even though we were all inclusive(bright green hospital style tag put on your wrist on arrival) it felt like we stealing it as he watched making sure one drink each at any one time and that your band was visible. The all inclusive beer is served in small plastic cups. So you cant even get a pint in one go.

If you think I am going on we asked a member of staff what had happened and they said they don't like it!!!! So there you have it....

They wont even let you take a piece of bread away from the dinning area you will be stopped!! Even though you have paid for this. Believe me it happened.

It seems to us they have made these changes so they can keep an eye on the drinks and food without any regard for the guest experience. I felt they didn't want you eating the food and drinking the drinks. They are providing cheap nasty food and desserts are slops. ok if you like kids parties jelly, banana mouse, squirty cream every night!

Needless to say we ate out a lot at additional cost and hired a car so we could get to the beaches and away from the noise.

A real shame this place was so lovely last year!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Just back (landed last night, 18.09.13) from a week at the Menorca Sea Club. We were allocated room 39, which was a ground floor room close to the quiet pool. We asked on check in for a first floor room, possibly with a sea view but were told the hotel was full, so this wasn't available. The apartments are quite dark inside, but spacious enough and adequately equipped. We had booked 5 weeks before going and we were happy with the hotel considering we had paid less than 350 each, which included a half board supplement.
Beds - yes they are very hard, but the mattresses on the sofa beds are much softer and the same size, and it was not a problem to swap these over, thus we had a comfortable nights sleep.
Pool - plenty of sunbeds, again they are not the most comfortable, but plenty of spare blankets in the room. I folded a blanket to the same size as my beach towel and used that under my beach towel for extra padding on the sun bed, which made it very comfortable so no problem there.
Apartment - nice and spacious, rather dark but this wasn't a problem. Large patio doors to a nice spacious terrace with table chairs and a handy clothes airer
Food - What you would expect from a hotel that has an all inclusive option, however the food choice and quality was much better than many AI hotels I have stayed at (at much higher prices)
The hot breakfast wasn't great (very fatty bacon and awful sausages) but the cereals were good and fresh fruit, pastries etc. (I did eat the hot breakfast daily though) Dinner was always excellent, we would typically have 4 or 5 (sometimes 6) very small courses rather than a large main meal. Typically you can have a soup course, salad course, fish course, then there was a choice of meat courses, all excellently cooked, presented and good quality food. The sweet course was often disappointing (the usual AI mousse, jellies of various migraine inducing colours, and the little cake things. Always fresh fruit and ice cream on offer too. The only problem with the dining room is that it is more like a canteen, it is so bright, light and noisy! Not the sort of place you would want to linger over a meal and a bottle of wine of an evening, but that is my only niggle with that.
The hotel is literally on the top of a cliff, a very quiet location, the road at the front is an access road to the hotel so very quiet. We loved the location. There is a small rocky path to the side of the hotel and one around the back of block C. These paths lead to very quiet and pretty little sandy coves. Not for walking in flip flops though as the paths can be steep and stony in places.
I had to check out the infamous block C, and to be fair I would not have had a problem had we been allocated there. It has its own private sunbathing terrace with sun loungers and looked very private and nice to me.
We had a fantastic week here, loved it. Great value for money and the food was as good, if not better than places charging twice the price we paid.
We didn't get into the town much, only to walk to the bus stop to get to other places. The centre strip is very English, but off there the little windy street leading to the coves are very pretty.
Fantastic hotel, great service, great staff, great location and good food. its a shame they cant section off part of the dining room for quiet dining.

Room Tip: Room 61 to 64 looked like my idea of hell as they are a few feet away from the entertainment, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank adaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Went to the sea club 21/8 for a week 2 adults & 7 yr old. Was a little unsure as read differing reviews. The transfer is long at 1.5 hours and had to wait for an hour to check in, we were allocated the dreaded c block which has no views of the pool/sea and you look onto very little however it was quiet and clean and made sure we spent time out of the room! We had an issue with no hot water, reported this and it was solved within an hour. the whole place was spotless and the staff in all areas of the hotel were friendly and efficient. Loved that you could help yourself to drinks and get spirits if needed from the bar staff. It's not 5 star accommodation but the staff definitely are. Yes it's a 10 min stroll into town but we knew this before we went so cannot mark them down for that. Food was average but they are catering for more than just English people, the unfortunate signing didn't help with roast head being on offer, I'm no chef but it wasn't brains looked more like turkey/pork gave us a giggle. They could do with getting some music on to give some ambience in the restaurant and some pictures up. Felt like we had been robbed at the water park 50 euros for us to go in and fed up after 2.5 hours do would suggest giving it a miss. Beaches are poor but that's more for your info as my son hates sand. We walked into ciutudella took about 45 mins and well worth it, would like to go back one night, 10 mins back on the bus for 4.80 all in all had a lovely time, my first AI and not put off, just make sure you ask for an alternate room immediately if your given a C key!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bevyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just returned from a great week away with my family (wife & two sons aged 5 and 1). We had read so much positive and negative comments about this holiday that we geniunely had no idea what to expect when we arrvied.... But can I say; we had a ball!
Hotel may be a little older - but by no means is it showing its age - very well kept and very clean.
Rooms were air conditioned and cleaned every day with fresh linen and towels. We had a ground floor apartment which looked out over the sea and was perfect to allow the kids to run in and out without any safety issues. I read reviews about the hotels location being on the edge of the town and on the egde of a cliff - well it was on the outside of town, but had a supermarket 2 mins walk and town was less than ten mins away. But positives of being on the outside of town was NO TRAFFIC... seriously the road outside led to a dead end, so if there was ten cars all day it would have been the height of it. Excellent with toddlers and young kids about. And as for the cliff - it was between 30 and 70 ft from the main road and you would have needed mountain climbing boots on to get over the sharp natural rocks formations. I tried to get closer to the edge and it took me 5mins to stumble about 25 feet! Trust me if anyone fell off the cliff - they wanted to do it!!
Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, and always had a smile for me and the family.
The Animation team (kids club) where the hardest workers we had seen, from 09:30am to 23:00pm these guys worked and played with the kids to make sure they enjoyed their holiday. From water games and silly dancing with the kids, to stretching (tai chi), shooting and water polo for the adults. They also provided opporunity for pony trekking and zorbing within the holiday grounds at a small cost. Great bunch of guys.
On the food - we got all that we needed, there was always a couple of meat dishes, then there was pasta and fresh paella. The boys ate loads and loved being able to serve themselves from the drinks, mains and dessert areas.
Got home last Wednesday and was on the internet that night looking at next years prices!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 111111MarkH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ciutadella
20.7 mi away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,444 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hostal Residencia Ciutadella
Hostal Residencia Ciutadella
#20 of 57 in Ciutadella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
10.0 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Globales Club Almirante Farragut Hotel
6.0 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Princesa Playa
14.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYB Sea Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYB Sea Club

Property: HYB Sea Club
Address: Urb. Cales Piques, Carrer la Mar, s/n | Cala en Blanes, 07760 Ciutadella, Minorca, Spain (Formerly Menorca Sea Club)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Ciutadella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Ciutadella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HYB Sea Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fantastic Aparthotel Menorca Sea Club is located on the coast of Ciutadella, from where you can enjoy one of the best sunsets of Menorca. Located near the beach of Cala en Forcat and 10 minutes drive from the historic city center. The complex's apartments have a terrace, a fully equipped kitchen and a seating area with satellite TV. Most apartments are oriented with sea views and all have air conditioning. The Menorca Sea Club has 2 swimming pools for adults and one for children integrated into a large solarium. To enjoy sport has disponible 1 tennis court, one beach volleyball court and shooting gallery. It also has playground and children's club and a full entertainment program with live shows. Private parking - no guarded - , a 24-hour reception, laundry services with charge. In the Sea Club you can enjoy a lounge bar and pool bar and a large restaurant buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your HYB Sea Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotasa Sea Club Hotel Ciudadella
Menorca Sea Hotel
Menorca Sea Ciudadela
Menorca Sea Club Apartments
HYB Sea Club Spain/Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing