We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smoix

Smoix
Ranked #2 of 192 Restaurants in Ciutadella
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mediterranean cuisine. We love local and seasonal products.
luton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

what a find!
in fact very hard to find but so worth it. The food is on par with Cas Consol, the location is great in a different way but the staff are not quite as friendly as Cas. However I can't fault the food...Simply Superb !

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank oliveoylandpopeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    170
    27
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best meal of our holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had a wonderful meal at Smoix (October 2012). The restaurant itself is in a very pretty setting - you enter through an old archway into a beautifully planted courtyard. We ate inside - it was October after all - and apart from another table of six, my partner and I were the only customers, which wasn't surprising given the time of year and that it was a Tuesday night. This could have meant the ambiance wasn't there, but we were so warmly welcomed by our hosts that we felt relaxed and at home right away. Our starters were excellent - a ceviche of sardines and a Mexican inspired egg and tortilla dish - but our main courses were even better. I had steak stuffed with foie gras and leeks and my partner had duck. The chef's wife took great care to find out precisely how we would like our duck and steak done and they were perfect. We both finished with an amazing chocolate mousse with raspberry sorbet. Presentation and service were immaculate. For two people, our three course meal with bread, water and one bottle of medium priced wine, came to 90 Euros. We found this very good value given such high standards. Overall, this was a real treat and an excellent way to round off a lovely holiday in Menorca. It's on our 'must do again' list!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DosCanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Enjoyed lunch - wonderful courtyard setting and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We enjoyed our experience at Smoix. Great courtyard setting! Both the starters (chicken ravioli and Menorca salad) were excellent. Mains were good, but not that impressive (Lamb and duck). Perhaps the starters set our expectations too high!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amit_and_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

This restaurant is amazing! The chef is clearly very experienced and his wife is friendly and informative and so kind. We did not know what to expect and were blown away by an excellently prepared meal that was bold and delicate at the same time. We dream of eating here again.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“World class dining in Menorca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

My wife and I dined at Smoix on two occasions this week in Menorca (May 19,20). This was our first trip to Menorca and sampling local food was a big focus. Smoix was recommended to us by our hotel manager (Tres Sant) who said it was the best food in town. While it was quiet on both nights we visited (it is still "off season in Ciutadella), I simply can't speak highly enough about the quality of the food that was prepared. We shared 4 dishes on each night found all to be executed flawlessly. Seared local fresh fish with mussels, Rice with squid, Prawn carpaccio, local lamb, and Chicken Cannelones and others. The chef, Miguel, is classically trained in Barcelona and his food stacks up with the best I have eaten any large city in the US or Europe. The service was friendly and attentive. The setting for the restaurant, in a quiet courtyard, is wonderful. The quality, and value of this restaurant compared to the tourist traps along the port can't be overemphasized. This is a restaurant not to be missed.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pdfitzpatrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoix also viewed

 
Ciutadella, Minorca
 
Ciutadella, Minorca
Ciutadella, Minorca
 

Been to Smoix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing