We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible!”
Review of Pa amb oli - CLOSED

Pa amb oli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Terrible!”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Food was poor, prepared yesterday, microwaved and served. Staff chaotic. Menu's offer looked interesting, but less than 50% of plates were available. We payed 25 euros each, for a dinnner that really deserved less than 10. Never again!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HIPPO_BCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    7
    0
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible restaurant”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This is actually my worst food experience ever. Why?

When we had our starter suddenly a living cockroach were crawling up from the bread and ran over the table.

I ordered a entrecote and the waiter asked me if I wanted it medium or well done? I choosed medium. When I got the stake it was black and burnt on the outside and absolutely raw on the inside. I sent it back to the kitchen. After a while I got back the same stake with many cuts in it, and half of it was dry and the rest of it was still raw. It was inedible.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Probably the best steaks in Cuitadella!”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We have been visiting Menorca for many years and we always go to this restaurant when we are over. I love to watch the chef cook everything from steaks to fish in front of the clientele seated in the restuarant and see the care and attention he pays to his cooking. If you feel really hungry, go for the t-bone steak but be prepared... it is very large and probably best to share it. They do a marvellous dish of pork fillet with mushroom sauce, again extremely tasty and cooked to perfection. All the portions are very large so remember this if you want to have a starter and main. The best thing about this place is it is very friendly local restuarant, you will always get a great welcome.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Don't go to this restaurant unless you are really hungry”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

I've been going to this restaurant for 8 years,the food is fantastic and so is the service.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve2158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Local clientele but tourists always welcome”
Reviewed June 12, 2011

I visit Menorca regularly and very nearly always go to Pa amb Oli (literally Bread and Oil). The menu is Menorquin but the food and cooking is excellent quality. The chef cannot get away with much because he works in a glass box behind the bar. They really cater for the local people and lunchtime often sees a crowd of locals at the bar, business men having lunch with clients and tourist families.

Families are welcome and the waiter will always try to help in his best broken English.

Of particular note is their escalivada which although simple is about the best I have had. The menu is broad enough to cater vegetarians and carnivores alike. The food is good and homely.

The television is frequently on for sport but with the volume turned down.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank piggymoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pa amb oli also viewed

Ciutadella, Minorca
Ciutadella, Minorca
 
Ciutadella, Minorca
Ciutadella, Minorca
 
Ciutadella, Minorca
Ciutadella, Minorca
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing