We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic and brilliant Japanese food.”

Restaurante Japones Shogun
Reserve with
Restaurante Japones Shogun is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #98 of 2,335 Restaurants in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $39
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: It was the first Japanese restaurant on the island and one of the first in Europe. With over 25 years standing, Shogun is synonymous with elegance and authenticity of the East; is practically located at the doors of our historic landmark Bellver Castle and close to the popular promenade. Specifying, in C / Camilo Jose Cela 14, in the town of Palma de Mallorca. Notes nd the site shows that in our restaurant you can enjoy not only delicious food but also a privileged environment. At Shogun will be attended with great taste and can taste this unknown food for most of us, they do not leave you indifferent. They discover all what it can offer you this fantastic cuisine; with its aromas, textures and flavors that will delight the most discerning of diners, thanks to our expert and professional chefs, highlighting the Master Mr. Hayashi and without forgetting the perfect presentation of all our dishes. Visit us and check a diet repeated very healthy insurance. . Featuring a variety of dishes that seduce you You will enjoy a privileged and magical atmosphere in complete harmony. Now have home service: 971735748 WARNING: SHOGUN PORTIXOL NO LONGER OWN IT TO OUR TRADEMARK SHOGUN SINCE JUNE 2012 AND ARE IN appointment process QUIT . We apologize TO ALL CUSTOMERS WHO MENTIONED AND NOTICED CHANGES. Follow your instincts and eating to visit, experience a magical atmosphere, where you can enjoy casual Either a romantic dinner or with friends, family, coworkers, etc ... You simply Have to choose your company. The rest, leave it to us and you will be totally satisfied. We have two rooms with a large number of tables to Accommodate our customers and we are used to Organizing lunches / dinners for big groups. You can recreate your sight, watching our sushi masters, ITS Pure art! . Verify That in Shogun, the Slightest we care to detail, creating a distinctive environment Characterized That have us for many years. PLEASE NOTE THAT We Also have a Tatami room with capacity for 10-12 people. You can experience the Japanese cuisine in a more intimate way as the original and it is located in a separate room. We advise you to make your reservation before hand. Also You can organize your business meetings or corporate events. . We count with a range of services That will make your meals a success overall History: Shogun STI opened doors in March 1987, It was a pioneer in This Area Because During this time, it was not as fashionable as it is today. With over twenty years of courier, it has established Spanish Japanese cuisine on the map and to make a difference Continues in this ever growing field. Its founder and current Director is Mr. Sato, a multifaceted entrepreneur who after living in New York and Denmark, and to traveling around the world, fell in love with Mallorca and thought it would be the perfect place to launch His business. The building was designed by Japanese architect Dofu Ogawa (Belonging to the family), following to a similar structure to That of a Japanese castle. Also I Counted with the help of a carpenter who did everything Mallorcan under traditional Japanese designs. Initially the reception in the island Difficult Because here was one at that time People were not so "open" to new cultures, and of course, to new flavors. After almost 25 years we can say That info we have Achieved the main goal. To Make This special and unique cuisine to permanent settlement in the island Now we count with home deliver service: 971735748 WARNING: SHOGUN PORTIXOL DOES NOT BELONG TO OUR REGISTERED BRAND SHOGUN SINCE JUNE 2012 WE ARE IN THE PROCESS OF FROM THEM AS SOON DISSOCIATING AS POSSIBLE. . WE APOLOGIZE TO OUR CLIENTS WHO HAVE MENTIONED AND NOTICED THE CHANGES To be better informed, profavor agregadnos here
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were recommended Shogun in another part of Palma, and ended up at this one by mistake. Turns out there has been an argument and they have split up. Lucky we went to this one. Fantastic food and choice, very authentic- one of our table spends time in Tokyo. Owner came to serve us and check all good. We went to the other one later in the week- nowhere near as good as this. Recommended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bloomfield3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 385 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have been coming to Shogun for 6 years now. To our knowledge, it's the only Japanese restaurant with a FULL menu. We spend a lot of time in London & New York so believe we are very good judges of this cuisine. We think the cooked food is excellent. We often have the Sukiyaki or similar dishes which are absolutely delicious. We have often gone with friends who are trying Japanese for their first time and have been adamant that they "won't eat raw fish". The extensive cooked menu has always won them over. It's a small restaurant and sometimes when they are busy, the service can be a little slow but they try so hard and if you do mention (politely) that your a little disappointed, they respond immediately. They are very keen to please. Highly recommend and for English speakers they always have someone on hand to explain anything.

Thank Historyjunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Had a nice lunch here: the sushi was good, but not great.
The lady was extremely friendly and prepared us a nice seaweed salad, which was not on the menu with 2 separate sauces, which was nice. The waiter was not so friendly in the beginning, in the end he turned more friendly however.
Overall good, but not briliant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FreekAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

As always Food and Service were on point with this little Japanese Gem!!
The new additions to the xtensive Menu were a delight in a big group as we all could share and enjoy!
The Caramiso, Gyosa, maki tempurizado, sushi, okonomiyaki, self made stew and stake all tasted awesome to my group and I!!! What can I say everyone to their own...but we love this place!!!

Thank ElRonSandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

we were given 2 thick menu books (!) + 2 flyers .. TMI .. i had trouble figuring out what was on offer ..

one order arrived wrong, but was corrected immediately, the spicy tuna uramaki was plain tuna with a spicy sauce u dip it into .. the yakitori were ok, as was the miso soup .. however the sushi rice was awful .. too sticky and very crumbly .. the only good news was that the tamago (omelette) sushi were tasty .. but at €2,50 p.p. !! .. maybe in NYC but surely not in crisis struck spain !!

i asked for the dessert menu and a coffee which never arrived, so we left without ..

we came away with ~€45 for 2p. for 1 entrée, 22 pcs of sushi, 1 tea, 1 water, no wine, no dessert, no coffee .. oh yes, the tea pot .. why don't they just fill it to the top, instead of half full .. i don't appreciate what i call the "expensive hot water attitude" ..

too dear for what it was and the restaurant itself lacks charm ..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ggof61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kengo S, Propietario at Restaurante Japones Shogun, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear customer.
Thank you for your time in writing to us. We apologize for your experience at our restaurant.
I assume you came for lunch? as the 2 thick books you mention are 1) The mid day menu book / where you have 5 options of menus from 12 Euros – 25 Euros, and 2 ) The a la carte menu. The 2 flyers? Are probably our new dishes which we are promoting at the moment. ( It may also have been the wine menu book..? )
Yes, the spicy tuna is a plain tuna uramaki roll ( has B&W sesame seeds.. ) and the spicy dipping sauce is apart becuase the majority of our customers asked us to do so. Im glad the yakitori & miso soup were ok. As for the rice, we take our sushi rice/ (shari ) very seriously as we consider it just as important as the quality in fish. You mention it as being too sticky and very crumbly? Normally if it was too sticky, it wouldnt crumble, but it all depends on peoples tastes and the pressure applied to the piece by the sushi man at given times. We apologize for this impression. Crisis struck spain or not, our sushi prices have not changed in over 15 years. Please have a look at how a hondashi tamago yaki ( omelette ) is made layer by layer and you will understand that the time invested in them is considerable.
Regarding not being attended for the dessert menu and coffee is unacceptable and your comment has been duly noted.
As for the teapot being half full with hot water, I dont know what to say, as we often allow free re-fills. If you would have mentioned it, Im sure there would have been no problem. ( We shouldnt fill it to the top beacuse the tea herbs in the tea pot net wouldnt taste as good. If it was a tea bag pot, we apologize and more water shall be added for sure )
All in all, we are very sorry for your impression of our restaurant and deeply apologize in the name of all our staff.
Best regards
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Japones Shogun also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Restaurante Japones Shogun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing