We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moderate sushi place”

Restaurante Japones Shogun
Reserve with
Restaurante Japones Shogun is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #71 of 2,267 Restaurants in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $39
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: It was the first Japanese restaurant on the island and one of the first in Europe. With over 25 years standing, Shogun is synonymous with elegance and authenticity of the East; is practically located at the doors of our historic landmark Bellver Castle and close to the popular promenade. Specifying, in C / Camilo Jose Cela 14, in the town of Palma de Mallorca. Notes nd the site shows that in our restaurant you can enjoy not only delicious food but also a privileged environment. At Shogun will be attended with great taste and can taste this unknown food for most of us, they do not leave you indifferent. They discover all what it can offer you this fantastic cuisine; with its aromas, textures and flavors that will delight the most discerning of diners, thanks to our expert and professional chefs, highlighting the Master Mr. Hayashi and without forgetting the perfect presentation of all our dishes. Visit us and check a diet repeated very healthy insurance. . Featuring a variety of dishes that seduce you You will enjoy a privileged and magical atmosphere in complete harmony. Now have home service: 971735748 WARNING: SHOGUN PORTIXOL NO LONGER OWN IT TO OUR TRADEMARK SHOGUN SINCE JUNE 2012 AND ARE IN appointment process QUIT . We apologize TO ALL CUSTOMERS WHO MENTIONED AND NOTICED CHANGES. Follow your instincts and eating to visit, experience a magical atmosphere, where you can enjoy casual Either a romantic dinner or with friends, family, coworkers, etc ... You simply Have to choose your company. The rest, leave it to us and you will be totally satisfied. We have two rooms with a large number of tables to Accommodate our customers and we are used to Organizing lunches / dinners for big groups. You can recreate your sight, watching our sushi masters, ITS Pure art! . Verify That in Shogun, the Slightest we care to detail, creating a distinctive environment Characterized That have us for many years. PLEASE NOTE THAT We Also have a Tatami room with capacity for 10-12 people. You can experience the Japanese cuisine in a more intimate way as the original and it is located in a separate room. We advise you to make your reservation before hand. Also You can organize your business meetings or corporate events. . We count with a range of services That will make your meals a success overall History: Shogun STI opened doors in March 1987, It was a pioneer in This Area Because During this time, it was not as fashionable as it is today. With over twenty years of courier, it has established Spanish Japanese cuisine on the map and to make a difference Continues in this ever growing field. Its founder and current Director is Mr. Sato, a multifaceted entrepreneur who after living in New York and Denmark, and to traveling around the world, fell in love with Mallorca and thought it would be the perfect place to launch His business. The building was designed by Japanese architect Dofu Ogawa (Belonging to the family), following to a similar structure to That of a Japanese castle. Also I Counted with the help of a carpenter who did everything Mallorcan under traditional Japanese designs. Initially the reception in the island Difficult Because here was one at that time People were not so "open" to new cultures, and of course, to new flavors. After almost 25 years we can say That info we have Achieved the main goal. To Make This special and unique cuisine to permanent settlement in the island Now we count with home deliver service: 971735748 WARNING: SHOGUN PORTIXOL DOES NOT BELONG TO OUR REGISTERED BRAND SHOGUN SINCE JUNE 2012 WE ARE IN THE PROCESS OF FROM THEM AS SOON DISSOCIATING AS POSSIBLE. . WE APOLOGIZE TO OUR CLIENTS WHO HAVE MENTIONED AND NOTICED THE CHANGES To be better informed, profavor agregadnos here
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We visited the place after reading the excellent reviews from tripadvisor. To our disappointment it was not as good as expected based on the reviews. I'm a fan of Japanese cuisine and sushi and I just have to say that Shogun is not amongst the best places where I've been :( Nothing too wrong with the place, but if you are after the really special places, I'm afraid that Shogun is not the place to go, sorry.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 4TimesJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kengo S, Owner at Restaurante Japones Shogun, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear customer, we are terribly sorry that we were not able to satisfy your high expectations in our restaurant. Due to our wish to offer the widest variety of dishes regarding Japanese cuisine on the island, we sometimes lack strength in certain dishes or getting hold of the best products available on the market. We admit that sometimes our food providers don`t provide us with the quality that we expected. I wish there was always good quality tuna belly on the market available but unfortunately we are limited on the island. It would be of great help if you could point out what was wrong in order for us to improve and solve those problems.
We are sorry for the inconveniences and thank you for sharing your time with us.
Best regards
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
There are newer reviews for Restaurante Japones Shogun
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 373 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

Whilst staying in Cala Major and having a day on the beach we had this restaurant recommended by a fellow holiday maker, a few hours later we (4 ladies) arrived at Shogun quite early around eightish and were unsure at what to expect. After confessing our ignorance to a polite waiter he recommended three starters and three mains to share, each dish was served separately and was a perfect way to experience Japanese food. The duck was delicious as were the pancake rolls and dumplings. Main dishes were just as impressive with chicken teriaki being the highlight. We left very happy customers. Priced very reasonably. We enjoyed it so much we went again on our last night and although it was a different waiter he asked if we would like 'our' table, the food was as delicious as previously and we can not recommend it highly enough.The bowl of origami birds with instructions were lovely and I brought one home to keep.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jakiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Following a search on TA, I found this restaurant near to our hotel. I was a little reluctant because I am not well schooled in Japanese food but my worries were completely unfounded. We arrived as the restaurant was opening at 8pm to be met by the wonderful waiter (maybe owner?) of the Shogun. He helped us all the way with our selections and we had a fantastic meal here. Try the Nigri Sushi and the tempura prawns. We finished with Japanese green tea and Saki. I highly recommend this place to even people who have never eaten Japanese food as the staff couldn't be more helpful. Great find. Thanks to all the previous reviewers. You made me try something different and it was a triumph!

Thank TonyFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I have lived in Japan for 6 years and believe I know my way around Japanese food. Shogun was the first Japanese restaurant where I felt the food was close to the real thing. The sushi was fresher than any I have had in Europe and classic dishes such as Yakisoba and Katsu-don were pretty much like the ones in Tokyo. Recommend this for real Japanese food in a nice authentic atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank laurenttinova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

First time here and we were very impressed. Free on street shady parking right in front. We had miso soup, nigiri, teriyaki tofu, chicken yakitori and gyosas and they were all delicious. Good friendly service, excellent fresh fish which they display in an open fridge, Japanese sushi chef. Very extensive menu. Will be back. For two people with a bottle of house wine 60€
Comida excelente. Servicio muy bueno. Parking gratis en la calle. Sin criticismo. Una carta muy amplia y original, pescado frescisimo en un escaparate, y el sushi chef Japones. Precio muy razonable- comida para 2 y una botella de vino de la casa 60€

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SpainMizliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Japones Shogun also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Restaurante Japones Shogun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing