We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel, friendly, tastefully furnished, great value for money”
Review of Hotel UR Portofino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel UR Portofino
Ranked #38 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2009

What can I say, its a great hotel for the price. I was quite impressed from the minute I walked in. Great decor and friendly staff. Rooms are a bit on the small side. If I was going again I would book one of the superior rooms overlooking the pool. Breakfast was adequate. No eggs or bacon but lovely fruit, bread, cold meats and fresh pancakes.
Breakfast was included in our price. Restaurant great food and not expensive. The resort is not mad like Magaluf etc so if youre looking for that type of holiday this isnt it.
Its just a few steps from beach and other restaurants. We ate in Fusion opposite the hotel a few times because we liked the owner Rene. Great steaks. There is walking promenade and cycling path right into Palma. Its brilliant. Walking takes well over hour but we hired bikes and you can do it in 40 mins approx at a leisurely ride. Its a must.
Palma is beautiful and easy to get around but as other reviews state the euro doesnt buy what it used to. Meal for 2 and wine cost approx €60.
Overall i would definitely stay again and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppyOmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 555 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2009

The hotel is well located for Ciudad Jardin, about €15 by taxi to central Palma or €1.25 by bus, with the bus stopping about 400m away and the beach less than 100m. The hotel has two buildings with a pool, restaurant and bar all of which appeared to be recently refurbished.

Staff are friendly, professional and helpful. The rooms are a bit small, in some cases they've not been refurbished very well - the shower head was just about hanging on to the wall in my room. However for the price paid this hotel is a bargain and caters well for business and tourist visitors alike.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank algray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2009

We have just returned from a 5 day stay at this hotel.

Firstly, the positives: A very clean hotel, excellent and friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble at all. We particularly liked John who was I think Head Barman - he was very friendly and helpful. We found the hotel very laid back - we could bring food into the hotel if we wanted to as long as we ordered a drink from the bar etc. There is a mini fridge in the room so you could buy drinks and store them in your room. The decor is modern and very chic and the bar/loung area very relaxed. The rooms are also spotless.
The restaurant food was delicious and not over-priced. We ate there twice and it stays open until 11pm. We didn't use the pool but it looked nice - the weather was warm but not quite pool weather to be honest when we were there.

Negatives: The rooms are very small - we had room 216 and it was just big enough for my husband and I. The shower room was like a galley-kitchen type room - when you stepped out of the shower there was very little room to dry yourself as the toilet was immediately in your way! The walls are also very thin! I don't know what the other rooms were like but ours was quite "cosy" to say the least. The balconies are adequate I guess but not very big either.
Breakfast was included in our deal and it was OK. There were small rolls, pastries, croissants (that were a bit stale) plasticky-ham and cheese, some fruit, prunes and yoghurt and occasionally you had someone behind the counter making pancakes. Would have been nice to have someone making the odd omlette rather than pancakes though but nevermind.

The hotel is in area where there are lots of bars and restaurants but most of them are very expensive - I don't know whether its because the £ is very weak against the Euro but we found it very expensive. Best to stick to the Menu of the Day for lunch (and lunch can go on until about 4pm) and then have a snack in the evening. We prefered to have our main meal in the evening but soon cottoned on that the Menu of the Day was the way to go. You could get a 3 course meal with a glass of wine for 9 to 10 Euros per person as oppose to tapas and a couple of beers for £40 or paella and a bottle of wine and a beer for £55 so when you compare it to that, the Menu of the Day is a good deal.

The hotel has two main buildings. We were in the second one and the nightclub/bar called Forum is at the basement of this building. The only night we heard music was on the Sat evening when it went on until about 4am.

Palma is a good half an hour's walk away - nice to do it once - but the buses are only 2 euros into the city. Taxi fares vary but should be around 8 Euros into town - they do try to add on supplements though and bump it up to around 12 Euros, and its really only a 10/15 min max journey into the City.

We did take the train and tram into Soller - well worth a visit, its a beautiful place (and we had the Menu of the Day in one of the restuarants which was superb).

I think we would recommend the hotel mostly because of the staff and the relaxed atmosphere of the bar/lounge area etc and the area but although Palma is a lovely city it wasn't worth a 5 day visit and it was way too expensive for us.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butchaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2009

We found the Portofino to offer good value during a recent city break to Palma. It’s located in a mainly residential area with plenty of local shops and restaurants and easy to reach Palma city either by public transport or on foot. Parking is difficult outside the hotel, but there is plenty about 100m away on the seafront.

Our welcome was pleasant and the room, while small, met our needs. While breakfast was OK, we felt it was overpriced at €10 and on a couple of mornings we ate at a café a little further up c/Trafalgar for considerably less. We didn’t have any other meals in the hotel so we can’t comment on them.

Even out of season, there are plenty of restaurants open in the immediate vicinity and we would particularly recommend Evoca opposite the Portofino’s side entrance. Serving mainly Catalan cuisine, the paella is particularly good and we also liked the small touches such as the complementary nibbles offered at the start. Dinner for two with a bottle of wine costs about €60. The staff are very attentive and on our final night, even the chef came out to bid us goodbye as we left! Just up from the hotel, Fernando’s serves excellent fish. As it’s listed in the Michelin Guide, you can accordingly expect to pay Michelin prices.

Living in a rural location in England, we did notice the aircraft noise. You don’t hear anything when they’re coming in over the sea but when they’re taking off in that direction we found it quite noticeable and it does start fairly early in the morning.

In summary, the Portofino offers a clean, comfortable and good value base if you don’t intend to spend too much time in the hotel. It’s fine for a short break but we wouldn’t want to spend a longer holiday there.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pete64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

Our stay at Portofino was brilliant. My friends and I went there for a long weekend and couldn’t have asked for the perfect place to stay. The hotel was right near the beach and there were lots of shops/cafes restaurants nearby. Palma city was about a 15 minute bus ride away.

The staff were all very friendly and any request we had was never a problem. We ate and drank at the restaurant most days and the food was lovely. The bar manager Ion was very professional and even though he was the only person serving at the bar/restaurant the service was always quick. We also went to the late night bar UR FORVM which is in the basement of the hotel - it was like going in to the twilight zone! The staff there were also very friendly and made great cocktails!

The rooms were very clean, the power shower in the bathroom was fantastic and there was a fridge in the room to keep the drinks chilled! The restaurant/bar area was perfect to chill out.

The only drawback was that the room was slightly small and the walls were thin, but as it was just a base it was absolutely perfect! I would definitely go back and stay there again.

Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
Thank AnaTri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

A lovely hotel in a great location especially if you like the beach, we walked into Palma as that suited us best. If you want some nightlife please try the UR FORVM which is under the hotel. We were made to feel at home by the Italian owner Mike Pidone who is a wonderful musician and had a great final Friday night sitting around his white piano having a great time, my wife did not want to leave jamming with Mike on a bongo drum.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madden3145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2009

We have just returned from The Portofino after a 4 day city break to Palma and the hotel ticked most of the boxes we wanted and expected.

The plus points - seafront location - well almost, clean and with a minimalist style, walking distance to good restaurants (El Bungalow 100m away plus a selection in Portixol 15 mins walk away), friendly staff, residential location, good value overall.

Points be be aware of - small rooms (tricks of a wide angle lense for their website), pretty close to the main flightpath (only 10 mins in a taxi from the airport), they only turn the aircon on in 'summer' so we had to have the balcony door open when in the room, only a few rooms have a balcony and sea view - this is available on request and is a must, there was building work across the road between 9am and 5pm where foundations where being dug by a single JCB - noisy especially with no aircon & the door open - but probably only a temporary problem,

Would we stay there again - maybe, but only for a short break in a balcony sea view room once the aircon was turned on and the building work finished !

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
3.7 mi away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#28 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,611 reviews
1.5 mi away
Melia Palma Bay
Melia Palma Bay
#23 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
287 reviews
2.6 mi away
UR Palacio Avenida
UR Palacio Avenida
#48 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
#13 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
191 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
#24 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ciutat Jardi
Hotel Ciutat Jardi
#49 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel UR Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel UR Portofino

Address: Calle Trafalgar 24, 07007 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#18 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#20 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#23 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#36 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range: $80 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel UR Portofino 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UR Portofino**** The UR Portofino Hotel is situated in the area of Ciudad Jardin, one of the closest beaches to the city of Palma de Mallorca. Its strategic location near the airport and few minutes away from the city, make it a perfect combination of functionality and comfort. The Bay of Palma is famous for the practice of aquatic sports such as windsurfing, stand up paddle, kayaking, sailing, etc.. Around the hotel, you can rent the necessary equipment for the practice of them. A total of 66 rooms make up this beautiful and comfortable hotel, which has been decorated in a pure contemporary style. An exterior swimming pool as well as free wireless Internet access in all areas of the building and a free safety deposit box in the room are also some of the services available. The Restaurant UR Portofino is located inside the hotel. Which offers a wide choice of seasonal Mediterranean cuisine, open to the public, with a separate entrance from the main street. It has its own bar with an outside terrace overlooking the swimming pool and offers guests the chance to enjoy a drink on the terrace at the sunset. The hotel UR Portofino is only a few metres away from the nearest beach and the sea promenade which starts at the yacht club in the city and stretches all the way to Playa the Palma, passing by the Cathedral, and the areas of el Portixol, Molinar, Ciudad Jardin, Can Pastilla and el Arenal. One can take a relaxing long walk, skate or cycle along the promenade or simply sit down by the sea and enjoy the breathtaking views. Also from the hotel reception can be arranged any special request of the guest, boat trips, rent a car, excursions around the island, winery tours, visit to the Caves of Drach, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel UR Portofino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ur Portofino Urban Sea
Hotel UR Portofino Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing