We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
UR Mision de San Miguel
Ranked #48 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I had to stay here with my family prior to my wedding. I had a very ordinary experience, which was all the more puzzling, since I stayed at the sister hotel, UR Palacio Avenida for my wedding night, and was blown away by how good it was.

My family got a suite, but had a rude surprise, because they were staying as a couple, but the hotel wanted to charge an additional €100 for me to use the second room, despite the suite already being paid for. We were not impressed.

Additionally, the staff, while not completely useless, could have done better: there were no elevators, and my ageing parents requested help to lug their bags up five flights of stairs, and were rebuffed by reception. The reception did not have irons (but of course, were happy to refer us to their expensive paid laundry service). It gets chilly at night in May in Palma, but the room was cold -- but we were told that the boiler had been switched off several days previously, and that everyone would be getting cooling, but no heating. There are no elevators.

The rooms themselves were nothing special for a 4 star hotel: poured concrete floors. Safe that doesn't work unless you pay extra (in a 4**** hotel?). Hard, uncomfortable beds with cheap duvets -- we complained, and we were told that we'd be issued another duvet, which never appeared. Satellite TV that doesn't work either -- we complained (again!), and they said they'd "send a technician", who never showed up.

Our wedding photographer showed up, and the staff refused to grant us permission to have our photos taken in the courtyard. Pointless and petty.

Sorry, UR Hotels, you must do better. Not a good first impression of Spain for my parents, I'm afraid.

Room Tip: Be wary of choosing rooms, or suite rooms with windows facing the courtyard, since people up drinkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank somelammer567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian G, Gerente at UR Mision de San Miguel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments during your stay at our Hotel UR Misión de San Miguel.

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed during your stay. We value all guest comments which help us to continually improve our facilities and services.

Regarding to your specific comment, we have checked each matter mentioned on it, and I would like to inform you that the building where the hotel is located, is a typical Mallorcan construction with an open “patio” in the middle. Due to this fact, we have to respect the structure of the old building and this is why the elevator is only available from the parking to the ground floor.
With the refurbishment we have respected the character of the typical Mallorcan building and this is something which the clients always appreciate.

The deputy Manager has mentioned to us that she personally helped with the luggage, due to the fact the concierge was not available. As she did not want the clients to wait until the concierge arrived, she helped the guests personally in order to give better customer service.

Regarding the rate of the Suite, we would like to respectfully explain to you that the rates are always based on 2 guests per room. Should a 3rd or 4th person wish to also stay in this room, a supplement is added. The Suites at the Hotel UR Misión de San Miguel all have a maximum capacity of 4 persons each, but any additional 3rd or 4th person in each room is required to pay a supplement. This reservations policy is common for most hotels and is extended throughout many countries. We would have liked to have been given the opportunity to explain this in detail to you in advance and not after your stay, thus making the booking breakdown clear to you beforehand.

Please be informed that he hotel has irons and iron boards available for all clients, with no extra charge. However, the laundry service does incur an extra charge.

Please note that the temperature in Mallorca in April and May is over 20º, so we normally don’t have the heating on this time of the year because the rooms get too warm and the duvets we use are Spring – Summer duvets, they are thinner than Winter duvets, otherwise they cannot be used this time of the year.

With reference to the room decoration, please be informed that all interiors are decorated in pure contemporary Medieterranean style. All our hotels have a different personal style, and detailed information such as designers, furniture brands or other information can be checked on our website www.urhotels.com. Each hotel has its’ own decoration, some of which can be changed according to different events, tastes and occasions.

All rooms are equipped with safe and its use is free of charge, only a deposit is requested but it is returned at the end of the stay.

Please be informed that we have checked the problems which you have mentioned regarding the SAT TV, and we can confirm that it is working correctly. Therefore, it was an isolated problem and we apologise for the inconvenience that this could have caused you.

Regarding the ‘photos, under normal circumstances we do not refuse our clients to take ‘photos in the courtyard. However, if the courtyard is very busy, often other clients complain because they don’t want to be in the ‘photos of the fellow guests at the hotel. We try to respect the rights of all our guests, and the right to privacy is one of them.

We are taking this comment very seriously as our guests’ satisfaction is our top priority. We are committed to ensuring that we address and resolve each point you have mentioned in your comment.

Please accept our sincere apologies and our commitment to using your feedback to enhance the experience for all of our guests. We would like to welcome you at our hotel again in the future, having the opportunity to compensate you directly in our premises and demonstrate the quality of our services complying with standards that apply to all the company establishments.


Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback, which we very much appreciate.


Yours respectfully,

Cristian Godoy
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 403 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

My friend and I have just returned from this hotel, and stayed in a suite, room 301. The reason we picked a suite was because we could have a bedroom each, perfect for friends. We were very happy with this hotel, yes it is not top of the range luxury, but we didn't pay luxury prices. The lounge was basic but clean, the tv was a bit hit and miss, you couldn't always get the channels, and the wi if sadly was not very accessible, even in the lobby area. But the terrace off the room was big, there was always some sun available if you want it, some decent furniture would have been a bonus, but the beds and towels, plus bath robes were very clean and changed every day whether you wanted it or not! The toiletries were lovely and plentiful, the shower great, the toilet unfortunately bangs on the door though. Everyone from the lovely girls on reception, to the waiters in the restaurant were incredibly friendly and helpful, nothing was too much. One morning at breakfast was a disaster with only one person looking after everyone, and in the end he disappeared, so we helped ourselves to cups for coffee from the cupboards! But the food in the restaurant was lovely, no complaints at all, and the service very good. The courtyard area was lovely, and if you wanted a city break hotel, in the middle of shops, bars and restaurants, a short walk from the Palma sightseeing bus stop, and a stay in a very clean and reasonably priced hotel then this is for you!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa I, Manager at UR Mision de San Miguel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you, on behalf of the employees of the Hotel and myself, all your comments about the hotel, which encourages and stimulates us to continue with the pursuit of the improvement and surmounting in the service for our clients.
We would like to welcome you at our hotel again in the future, having the opportunity to demonstrate the quality of our services.
Expressing again my gratitude to you, yours faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

What a lovely place this is ignore any negative review as they are wrong!

We have just had 4 days here with friends and have had a ruly lovely time.

The staff are just o very helpful and upgraded our rooms to a suite! This was such a nice surprise . Our rooms were facing the coutyard and glad thats what we booked as some were not in great postions (one overlooked the bins and the side of the resutaurant! one comment is the bathrooms are VERY small but for a few nights it was ok.

We had a fridge that was stocked and lovely "smellies" to try

The bar area and the coutyard lovely to sit and meet new people and share a bottle of wine -or in our case 2!

We will be back as loved it

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Droopydrawrs52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa I, Manager at UR Mision de San Miguel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you, on behalf of the employees of the Hotel and myself, all your comments about the hotel, which encourages and stimulates us to continue with the pursuit of the improvement and surmounting in the service for our clients.
We would like to welcome you at our hotel again in the future, having the opportunity to demonstrate the quality of our services.
Expressing again my gratitude to you, yours faithfully

Vanessa Irizar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed here with a friend for 3 nights. We booked a suite to get separate bedrooms and it had one good-sized double and one smallish single with a rather narrow but comfortable single bed. Also a large sitting room with 2 armchairs, double sofa bed, TV and mini-bar and good sized outside terrace, which would be very nice in summer. The shower room had a big walk-in shower. The room had recently been refurbished and overall was very pleasant. Small niggles were the lack of any English TV channels except Disney (and intermittently functioning TV), no hooks for hanging anything in the bathroom and no plug in the washbasin. Buffet breakfast (included) was in the basement restaurant and was fine, surprisingly even including bacon and scrambled egg, but the coffee (from a machine) was lukewarm and weak. There is a pleasant bar that is evidently popular with the locals. In summer it would be nice to sit in the little courtyard for a drink or meal. The location is excellent, very central, but happily there is no noise. The staff were all perfectly pleasant, though the young man who took us to the room made no offer to help carry our bags up the 3 flights of stairs. Overall, a good hotel and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: The suites (ours was 302) are a good bet if you need more than one bedroom, but are at the top of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa I, Manager at UR Mision de San Miguel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you all your comments about the hotel which help us to improve our services. We have take note about the small niggles you mentioned and we are working to solve them. It will be a pleasure to welcome you at our hotel again in the future.

Expressing again my gratitude to you, yours faithfully

Vanessa Irizar
Subdirección UR Misión de San Miguel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

From the Carrer San Miguel, following the tiny lane between Cappuccino restaurant and Sfera garments shop you discover this lovely boutique hotel. Receptionist Lucas welcomed us and familiarized us with this nice place. All receptionists are very friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast is served at the bar and the coffee, be it espresso, American or cappuccino, is excellent! The room was spacious and had all what you need for your stay. The restaurant Misa, one of 3 Fosh restaurant serves delicious meals at reasonable prices. Will definitely return here on our next visit to Palma.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivano62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa I, Manager at UR Mision de San Miguel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you, on behalf of the employees of the Hotel and myself, all your comments about the hotel, which encourages and stimulates us to continue with the pursuit of the improvement and surmounting in the service for our clients. It will be a pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future at our hotel
Yours faithfully

Vanessa Irizar
Subdirección UR Misión de San Miguel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I would recommend staying at the similarly priced Hotel Born, or somewhere in Santa Catalina. UR Mision is standard fare, only 4 star for the hair dryer (weak), safe (broken), and the bare minimum-s. Room was drab, musty smelling, nicked furniture, uncomfortable bed, broken shower, and faux boutique chic. Opposite of romantic. Went to the minibar to find a half eaten KitKat. Staff were sweet but wasted on the lack of charm of the hotel- decent location but not the best. Leak in the corridor hidden by padlocked chest of drawers- what Gap Year dreams are made of. To be fair, restaurant was closed so perhaps the ambience was missing but there's tons of that in Palma!

Room Tip: Try Hotel Born!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cecile e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa I, Gerente at UR Mision de San Miguel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you all your comments, I am very sorry to read that your stay in UR Misión de San Miguel didn’t fill your expectations.
Regarding your comments about the hotel and after speak with the reception team, there were no notice from your part at the front desk about all that “wrong things”, just about the half Kit Kat that was replace immediately.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in this establishment or any of UR Hotels, having the opportunity to compensate you directly in our premises and demonstrate the quality of our services complying with standards that apply to all the company establishments.


Thank you very much again for your feedback, kind regards

Vanessa Irizar
Manager Assistant UR Misión de San Miguel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I'd booked a night in Palma not knowing the area at all, after a slight difficulty finding the hotel and driving round some not very nice looking back roads we were delighted when we arrived and walked through the lovely courtyard to reception. On realising we were too early to check in we had lunch in the restaurant/courtyard- the food was incredible and their menu of the week (I think a lunch time only offer) seemed amazing value for money. Our room was fairly basic and the bed a little small for me and my boyfriend to comfortably share, but it did have a fab shower. My only issue was that we could hear quite a lot of noise from the bar/restaurant when we were in our room, but not enough to stop us sleeping.Other than that the food, staff and location were excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
UR Palacio Avenida
#47 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
558 reviews
Almudaina Hotel
#16 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
984 reviews
Hotel Armadams
#45 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palladium
#41 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
299 reviews
Santa Catalina
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#31 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
408 reviews
HM Jaime III
#12 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UR Mision de San Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UR Mision de San Miguel

Address: Calle Can Macanet 1A | 07003 Palma de Mallorca, 07003 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range: $95 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — UR Mision de San Miguel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel UR Mision de San Miguel is a charming, small hotel perfectly situated inside Palma's old quarter. A perfect place to discover the romantic old town and the lively city centre of Palma de Mallorca. Built around an inner courtyard and with interiors decorated in a pure contemporary style, the hotel stands out for its exquisite natural light and is the ideal place for one to relax. The hotel remains open all year round and offers a personalised service to both businessmen and those who simply wish to enjoy their holidays. Its central location, with direct access to public transport makes it easy to reach any part of the island. Also the Hotel UR Mision de San Miguel has a two-story private parking (costs apply), private parking is recommended for small city cars. The hotel offers wireless Internet access in all its facilities. Internet connection and the use of safety deposit box in the room are both free of charge. A total of 32 rooms make up this peaceful, modern, boutique hotel which also offers guests the chance to taste some of the most delicious Mediterranean food at the restaurant of the hotel, who stands out for his original and innovative cuisine. Some emblematic elements of the original building, such as the dome of the ground floor, have been restored and maintained with its original design, and it is now the restaurant wine cellar. The two modern and comfortably furnished conference rooms are also equipped with internet access, air conditioning, a projector and large screen, and direct access to a courtyard which is ideal for coffee breaks. Due to the unique location of the hotel, guests can enjoy the main shopping areas and cultural activities, excursions, golf, restaurants, etc. Also from the hotel reception can be arranged any special request of the guest, boat trips, rent a car, excursions around the island, winery tours, visit to the Caves of Drach, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your UR Mision de San Miguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ur Mision De San Miguel Hotel Palma De Mallorca
UR Mision De San Miguel Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing