We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great visit and a great view!”

Pilar and Joan Miro Foundation in Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great visit and a great view!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Although not particularly a lover of Miro, I felt I needed to educate myself a little more about this icon of modern art and to try to understand more. I had the honour of being guided round by an expert from the Fundacio. It's not quite as representative as Barcelona, in that most of the works are actually the later ones, but interesting to see the development of his thoughts. I thought the signing to get there could have been much better- almost as though the tourist board want to keep it a secret ... as well they might, in some ways, as the views are stunning and the atmosphere of intimacy, in particular the beautiful old farmhouse of Son Boter further up the hill which he used as a studio, would have been ruined by too many visitors. I felt the trick was to try and imagine the amazing scenery in the 50s, when he was first there. He would have had the most beautiful uninterrupted views over the bay. It was quite thrilling to see much of what he was obviously still engaged with, simply left there. Very richly challenging.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank polyglot349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    151
    49
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fabulous !”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Worth the effort to find and good value at 6 euros entrance.
Wonderful location which gives an great insight on Miro' lifestyle at home with fab Exhibition space to show his work. interesting Workshops, Art & Architecture, plus bonus of a lovely garden to enjoy in the sun.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FlyMe_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon District, Portugal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely lovely”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

So representative of Joan Miro aesthetics, and so reminiscent of the Miro foundation in Barcelona although not so well maintained. Nevertheless, the exhibition was rich and very explanatory of the print processes the artist endorsed. Lovely selection of early works, a must see in Palma.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved this museum”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

First visit was close to an earlier than usual closing so we just had a snack at their excellent cafe. Second visit was earlier so that we had time to enjoy the excellent museum and tour of Miro's studios. Unusual residential location, but it is well worth setting aside a few hours time to visit and savor.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tgabbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Impeccable”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

One of our principal reasons for subjecting ourselves to four days in Palma Nova and boy was it worth it. What should you mention first? The breathtaking architecture, ranging from traditional Majorcan, through high fifties modernism to the triumph of the recent main gallery; the art itself, displayed in seamless harmony with the buildings; the interaction of the site with its natural environment, or more probably the thing I've mentioned last, the spirit of the man himself, captured (should that be liberated?) in a way I can't recall in any other space. Visit or else.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyCherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilar and Joan Miro Foundation in Mallorca also viewed

 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Pilar and Joan Miro Foundation in Mallorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing