We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely oasis right in the heart of old town”
Review of Hotel Tres

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tres
Ranked #20 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The old town area of Palma can be a bit of a nightmare in the high season - lots of tourist traps, dodgy restaurants and very few nice hotels (mainly due to space - the bigger hotels are up in the modern end of town largely. I know Palma very well but have never had to stay in a hotel before since I usually stay with friends. My friend who has lived here for many years recommended Hotel Tres as probably the best boutique (I hate large places) hotel in town but warned that it was a bit expensive. However we found that by sharing a room and paying the non-refundable rate it was actually pretty reasonable. The location couldn't be better, the lovely little courtyard is wonderful for breakfast (and the breakfast buffet is fantastic) and the staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, modern and have every amenity plus the bathrooms are a really good size which is always important if you are a girl! The rooftop terrace can get a bit crowded but the little plunge pool is quite big enough for a dip....though not a swim! Highly recommended. I will definitely stay there is I need a hotel in Palma again.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms so you probably won't have the choice! Of the two twins, one is bigge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaspiaPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 667 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

I will start with the positives;
Modern style hotel
Spacious breakfast room
Clean bathroom

And end with the negatives;
Noise from Abaco and it's customers
Strange place to put the T.V the size and position makes it tricky to enjoy
Grubby streets around the hotel
Disappointing view from the terrace, although you can see the Cathedral the majority of the view consists of old rooftops and scrubland
Checking out was an ordeal

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svenn R, General Manager at Hotel Tres, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Tres and for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay. I am disappointed to learn that the level of service you received did not live up to your expectations or the high standards we strive to achieve on a daily basis. I would personally welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay further with you, and invite you to contact me directly at svenn.rudow@hoteltres.com

I do hope that you were still able to enjoy your visit to Palma and that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Tres.

Best regards

Svenn Rudow, general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We loved the location of this boutique style hotel. Everywhere in Palma ( including the Cathedral and marina) are all a very short walk away. The staff were excellent and attentive at all times, breakfast was a self serve style with lots of choice, also the chance to sit in the courtyard outside.
The rooms are different in a modern way, a small plunge pool on the roof terrace with amazing views over the harbour and city.
It can be noisy in the evening ( but more laughing and enjoying themselves)but that is what you should expect from such a great location.
If you don't want to be in taxis all the time, this is the perfect hotel!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed at hotel Tres and this is not a 4 star hotel! Lack of facilities , noisy room and dirty location . We paid a lot for our weekend stay and it was useless . Staff are unfriendly and don't expect to sleep here at nite as you can hear others coming back till 5am . Also the TV was very small. Only good thing were the maids . Best is to stay away from all city centre .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LIBE_URB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svenn R, General Manager at Hotel Tres, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Tres and for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay. I am disappointed to learn that the level of service you received did not live up to your expectations or the high standards we strive to achieve on a daily basis. I would personally welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay further with you, and invite you to contact me directly at svenn.rudow@hoteltres.com

I do hope that you were still able to enjoy your visit to Palma and that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Tres.

Best regards

Svenn Rudow, general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Was here for a couple of nights and was surprised how little noise you can hear in the night as its near plenty of restaurants, hidden up a small street. The staff at check in we're friendly and helpful, I got a lovely spacious room with a big comfy bed on the highest floor so I only had to climb a couple of steps to get to the rooftop pool, which is small (cant swim in) but very appealing if your too hot! There's seating areas up there where you can over look the cathedral and a lot of the city, and if you don't want a dip in the pool, you can put your feet into a mini river of water built into the decking which is a nice feature. Downstairs has a nice large seating area both inside and out and I had a generous help yourself breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We booked this hotel for a weekend in April. The Hotel Tres is an absolute gem in Palma and could not have a better location. We stayed in a Junior Suite. The room was excellent in every way. Spacious, modern, and with a large bathroom. From the lovely terrace (with a pool) you can see the cathedral and across “every” rooftop in Palma. The breakfast choice is great, with a wide and fresh selection. We are absolutely coming back, and would recommend this to anybody going to Palma.We stayed here over a weekend in April and had the

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimenKjaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Haven't got a clue why people would like this place. There is no proper reception when you arrive and the man that checked us in had very little interest in helping us and just wanted to give us the key so he could get rid of us. The building is great and could be done up with much more originality but as it is it just feels uninteresting and lacks imagination. The room was modern and kinda functional but not finished to a good standard and was noisy. We were woken 3 times after midnight by people going to their rooms. Shower was cold and you have to dry yourself in the bedroom as there is no wall sectioning the bathroom off, so privacy is an issue. Breakfast was the worst I've ever had in a hotel of this category. Basically it sucked. Tiny selection with fatty pastries that had lard almost dripping from them, cheap bacon that you could have used as sandpaper it was so hard and cereal bowls so small you needed 3 at a time. The girl on duty was run off her feet and clearly could not cope with tea and coffee orders let alone clean the tables. The hotel is in the city centre, down a small, old side street and during the day its not too bad, but at night is a different story with party goers shouting into the early hours coming out of the nearby bars and street vendors that stop you every 2 steps to try and make you buy something. The city is really nice in general and we would have enjoyed it had we been staying at a better hotel, but Hotel Tres did not do a good job at all. I guess you live and learn!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank victoria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svenn R, General Manager at Hotel Tres, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Tres and for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay. I am disappointed to learn that the level of service you received did not live up to your expectations or the high standards we strive to achieve on a daily basis. I would personally welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay further with you, and invite you to contact me directly at svenn.rudow@hoteltres.com

I do hope that you were still able to enjoy your visit to Palma and that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Tres.

Best regards

Svenn Rudow, general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
#9 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
526 reviews
Hotel Cort
#18 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
439 reviews
La Llotja-Born
Palau Sa Font
Palau Sa Font
#13 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Llotja-Born
Puro Hotel
Puro Hotel
#33 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
516 reviews
Almudaina Hotel
#16 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
985 reviews
Nakar Hotel
#7 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tres

Address: Calle Apuntadors 3, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#7 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#20 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#25 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range: $199 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Tres 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Tres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tres Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Hotel Tres Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing