We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy hotel but lacking something”
Review of Hotel Tres

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Tres
Ranked #23 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel was located in the old area of the city of Palma very close to the centre and excellent restaurants close by. The decor was minimalist Scandinavian which made it somewhat sterile. It lacked a homely feelings. There was no water in the room and the bar wasn't open in the evening. The roof splash pool was very small and there were few areas to sit and relax. All the corridors were decorated on the walls by light curtaining which gave a hospital appearance. Despite this we enjoyed the stay the staff were very friendly although was expensive for what was a B& B.

Stayed: September 2012
2  Thank BraddyNrFrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (684)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 684 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel Tres is the perfect hotel for working in Palma. It is situated in the centre of the old town so all you need is at your finger tips.
Everything works. The layout of each room is easy clean and bright with well thought out rooms for everything the traveller could want. The shower is hot anytime of day or night.
The Hotel staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed in the hotel on Halloween Night, the following day being All Saints Day and as such a public holiday, so Palma was a busy place.
Having spent a decent evening in Palma we returned at 11-30 for a drink in the hotel bar to find that a group of people were sitting around the bar area with no bar tender. We waited and tried for a drink but no one appeared as the bar was shut. We left the group of swearing English folks and sat in our room and had a drink from the minibar - very social.

The reason I go to hotels and not B & B's is so that I can have food / drink when needed.
I mentioned this to the man at check out and he acknowledged this was an issue with no bar facilities being open and that the group of people in the bar area were an organised private group and he suggested I had called the concierge for water / drink etc etc.
Why should this be the case, the place is a hotel and charges for this service so I expected more.
The staff were friendly, rooms OK but maybe due to the time of year, could they really be bothered? I think not, I think they cut the staff down to a minimum.
I can not recommend on this basis as I believe you can get far better elsewhere and probably for a lot less and I will try another hotel next time.
I suggest you do the same and look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ManresaMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svenn R, General Manager at Hotel Tres, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear ManresaMal

Whilst it is never pleasant to read a review that shows that we have not achieved our goal of providing our guests with an exceptional experience I certainly want to look at it as an opportunity to improve. We are considering changing the opening hours of the bar, as well as sign in a proper way, that when you are a resident guest, you can contact the night concierge whatever wish you have. Please contact me the next time you need accomoadtion in Palma, so I personally can assure that you get a very comfortable stay.

All the best, Svenn Rudow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay in Hotel Tres. Great location right in the best part of Palma and close to everything. Rooms were modern, fresh and very comfortable with some sexy wall art... Staff were helpful, agreeing to mind our bags for several days while we headed elsewhere. Didn't try their restaurant, mainly because we kept going back to the same one around the corner that they recommended - Forn a Saint Joan (apologies for any spelling errors). Awesome food and staff and atmosphere (will do separate review). My girlfriend liked Hotel Tres so much she wanted to cancel the next hotel and stay a few more days...I wish I had listened to her...

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank HulaKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Very nice and quite location. Great service and a beautiful rooftop with view. Stayed three night and gladly recommend to all friends when going to Palma. Ask front desk for restaurant tip. Close to sightseeing and the cathedral.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claas Normann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Great hotel in the heart of old Mallorca. We had a short stay but worth writing a review.

We found the rooms a bit too small, our stay was short so didn't bother us, if you will stay for a week might be another story. Just to warn you that the space is limited but very modern and well designed. There is a little terrace but not sure if it's for every room. Shower only.

Highlights:
Location location location!!
You are 5 min walk from the big cathedral and lots of bars around and also not far from another less touristic restaurant area.
During the day, the area outside the hotel is quite crowded with tourists, surprisingly enough inside the hotel is quiet and very inviting for an afternoon aperitivo.

The staff is really helpful, great restaurants and bar recommendations, we specified that we didn't want extremely touristic restaurants to eat and we were very pleased with the places they booked for us.
Special thanks to the guy at reception on the night shift, we didn't informed early enough of our early departure that morning, but he managed to send us to the airport with a bag of breakfast goodies.

Palma is a beautiful and charming city, totally worth a visit. Hotel Tres offers great service and its location is amazing. We would definitely stayed again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsTravelbug76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We came to Palma for a 3 night break & couldn't have chosen a better hotel option. The location is central yet surprisingly quiet considering the hustle & bustle of the area. The rooms were very comfortable & nicely designed. The staff were very friendly and efficient, breakfast was great and the hotel roof terrace for a quick sunbathe although not big enough to spend the day relaxing there. The only complaint would be the water is ridiculously expensive.....5 euros for a bottle but there are lots of shops nearby whereby you can buy 5 bottles for the same price!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smallworldmarketing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
#4 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
576 reviews
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
#9 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
543 reviews
La Llotja-Born
Puro Hotel
Puro Hotel
#31 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
HM Jaime III
#12 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,053 reviews
Gran Melia Victoria
#14 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,775 reviews
HM Balanguera
#11 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tres

Address: Calle Apuntadors 3, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#23 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#25 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range: $143 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Tres 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Tres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tres Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Hotel Tres Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing