We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cosmopolitan hotel”
Review of HM Balanguera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HM Balanguera
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cosmopolitan hotel”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a long weekend away to palma. The hotel itself is very stylish and modern with lots of cool little touches such as the huge lightbulb lamps and the minimalist decor. Staff are very friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was a buffet style with lots of choice. The rooftop terrace with little pool is a great place to spend an hour after a day's sight seeing. The stroll into town is about 10-15 minutes which suited us. We had a lovely stay is Palma and wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel another time.

Room Tip: Ask for a high up room if traffic noise bothers you. We did and got the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHodester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    297
    88
    19
    8
See reviews for
82
568
37
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Hotel Balanguera is an excellent choice to stay in Palma. it is a good value design hotel that feels luxurious.The white walls and artwork, chill out music and brilliant extensive imaginative breakfast made it special. The staff are very helpful and we loved our stay.Nearby is a bus number 2 that can take you all around the centre of the city but it is easy to walk everywnere and also the hotel is not noisy like some areas of the old town and Gothic Quarter. There is a fantastic terrace where you can relax and see views of the city and mountains.Being near the harbour sea and centre it was easy to get around.This is a very good choice if you want to enjoy this city where there is always something new to do and see.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor and above are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CassandraHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We were really impressed with HM Balanguera. The architecture is very interesting, simple and refined. If feels local, yet cosmopolitan and brand new. There was a great attention to details and and the value for money is very high. The location could be better as the near area lacks the charm of the center of Palma. Breakfast was very good and the pool area enjoyable. What really made our stay was the sublime service provided by the night porter Antonio. He was personally very engaged in solving any issue whenever we had one and also gave excellent restaurant recommendations.

Room Tip: Try to get a room towards the back if you are a light sleeper. The traffic voice can be disturbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Had read the reviews before booking and thought it was actually even better. So clean and simple and nicely done in every way. Great staff who were helpful and welcoming. Lovely room with extremely comfortable bed and fantastic shower. Quiet at night and close enough to all city centre must do's like the Cathedral. Great breakfast too!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcj988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We organised a double city trip and did Madrid first. Second was Palma and the Hotel Balanguera, we stayed for two nights and could have easily stayed longer. Spotless room and shower everywhere looked brand new having come from an older style hotel in Madrid. Staff just as helpful but the breakfast was excellent here and we obviously saved the best till last. Palma is ok to do in two days but we would have liked to see some of the nightlife but were too tired this trip, will be back to put that right. The short walk to the shops is ok, it looked further than it actually was on my map. Best place to finish the day was on the roof, nice addition to a smart hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed for four nights and on the first night I had trouble sleeping due to traffic noise. I should add that my partner didn't have this problem and said that she slept very well. Nonetheless we asked to be moved and this was arranged very quickly by the excellent staff.

The second room was quieter but we didn't actually get to sleep in that room as the door wouldn't lock so our second night was in a third room. This room was quiet and we both slept well for the rest of our stay.

The room had a smart television, aircon, safe, minibar and decent bathroom with a great shower. We did have a strip light fall out of its socket and break (fortunately the majority of the glass stayed within the plastic cover) and one of the bedside lights didn't look particularly secure but it did stay on the wall.Other than that the hotel was very stylish.

There's a small area on the roof for sunbathing with a (very) small pool. I don't think that many people would want to spend much time there but you could spend a couple of hours with a book quite hapilly.

Breakfast was very nice. Eggs, bacon, sausage, breads, fruits, yoghurt, cheese, cereal tea, coffee & fruits all available.

The location isn't terrible and we enjoyed the walk to and from the restaurants but I can imagine that for some this would be an issue. It's about 1.25 miles to the restaurant area.

Getting to and from the airport by public transport is easy enough. The number 1 bus stops about half a mile away in Avinguda Alemenya and is 20-30 minutes from the airport at a cost of €3 each.

The staff were without exception very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: I found the first floor room to be too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simon-DA14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribadeo
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This is our 2nd visit to this hotel and would definitely recommend.Stayed here for 3 nights this time Hotel is kept very clean and bright. Staff is very nice and really helpful, will book taxis, restaurants etc. Breakfast is delicious, and nice to eat at the communal table or if you want at the smaller tables,its all comfortable and clean. Room was clean, hip and windows looking out to the area around. Bed was comfortable. Roof top pool is small but good enough, sun beds are clean and comfortable. Location is good and within walking distance to the harbour, Cathedral and the old town.

Room Tip: Think all the rooms are very similar although there is a 'superior' larger room at more cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosyD32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
1.4 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#15 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
1,641 reviews
0.9 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
790 reviews
0.5 mi away
HM Jaime III
HM Jaime III
#12 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#13 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
1,483 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
449 reviews
1.3 mi away
Melia Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea
#26 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HM Balanguera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HM Balanguera

Property: HM Balanguera
Address: Calle Balanguera 37, 07011 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#7 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#11 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#22 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — HM Balanguera 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HM Balanguera Hotel is an urban 4-star hotel built in 2012. Its Mediterranean character and special design make it an attractive option for those seeking accommodation in the city of Palma de Mallorca. Its exceptional location, close to the city center, allows guests to reach the main attractions in a few minutes walk. Museums, historic buildings and shopping areas are easily reached without the need of a car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your HM Balanguera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HM Balanguera Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing