We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant, great atmosphere”

Palapa Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #223 of 2,160 Restaurants in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good restaurant, great atmosphere”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

The ambiance here was great, and the service was the best we had in Palma. The food was not the best but still very good, although there were a few things not available on the menu, which had a lot of pasta. But, the basil mojito and basil daiquiri are worth the trip alone!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank __Kirk_G__001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    45
    9
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“What a nice surprise !”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were on our way to the Bus Station, leaving our airbnb lovely host. Tired of the heat and exited to be on holidays we just sat down. Order some drinks. As we were hungry, we have asked for menu. Immediately very nice guy (probably owner) has arrived and ask us what we want to eat and he suggested us to share Burratona and Octopus' carpaccio. Fresh, made with love and wonderful service. We had little table outside. And that was holidays in the air.
If you are looking for a good food in Palma de Mallorca - that is the place. Maybe not very spanish food, little pricey but amazing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xandrator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horten
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hands down the best restaurant we visited in Mallorca”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We revisited the restaurant 3-4 days after our initial visit, and were even more impressed with the service and overall quality of food. We were a party of seven and everyone were very happy with their meals. My tip is to enjoy a mojito, freshly made and tasty. The bruschetta is the best I have had, even better than the meals in Italy that I have had before.
The biggest surprise is the nice, quiet feeling you get, one block away from the traffic noise and crowds that Palma is full of.
We stayed in Mallorca for two weeks, this is the best meal we had ! Highly recommended !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MortenHorten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Understated and superb!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Took my family here last night and seeked out this place as off the beaten track (which is good) no reservation but seated us outside. Very warm welcome from Claudio, great recommendations for food which we took up. Starter of fantastic mozzarella cheese with bruschetta for 2 was outstanding. Girls had patatas bravas and bbq chicken wings, mains homemade lasagne (honestly best I've ever eaten out) Mrs had chicken noodle dish which she loved. Mojito was good, piña colada was ok, need to use coco Lopez in cocktail or just not right, but we had a fabulous night. Reasonably priced as well. Definitely the highlight of our time in Mallorca so far. No Tia Maria, but Claudio said he would get some in for our booking on our last night... What more can you ask :) looking forward to our next visit. Just shows you when you stay away from tourist traps they really care about you and they give you fabulous friendly service and food they really care passionately about.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DarkandStormy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A gem you need to seek out”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Five of us (three adults and two teenagers) looking for somewhere to eat and saw a good review here. It's on the corner of a narrow street and does not look to be special. However the welcome was fantastic and one of the owners went through the menu making suggestions. We toom up most of his suggestions and were not disappointed. The buffalo mozzarella was superb, the pasta very tasty and my nephews plate of mixed meat very good. Other nephew described his lasagne as best he had ever tasted! Wine recommended was good. Desserts excellent. Whole meal 108 Euros - worth every penny and the cheapest of the evening meals we have had here

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelnutGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palapa Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Palapa Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing