We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Apart Hotel, friendly staff”
Review of BQ Augusta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BQ Augusta
Ranked #18 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I took a short break at the Augusta at the beginning of June. Arriving by taxi form the airport (approx €25) - however you can get a bus to Porto Pi and walk uphill to the hotel.

The hotel was lovely and clean, rooms spacious with the added bonus of a small kitchenette if you fancy cooking up some lovely goodies from the local Carrefour. The hotel also serve a decent lunch / dinner

The rooms are quite spacious however the walls are rather thin - so I didn't have the best sleep thanks to my loud, inconsiderate neighbours!!

In terms of location you are about a 20 minute walk from central Palma, a lovely walk along the front looking at all the boats. It is situated at the top of a hill so if you are a little unsteady on your feel it is something to note

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovehols4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 420 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Augusta Apartments is a great little resort which offers swimming pool and gym facilities. We opted to stay in the original rooms which were very comfortable - with private ensuite, stove, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, bath and balcony. The upgraded rooms are slightly modernised, and on higher floors with better views.

The only negative for the property is the location. A good 20 minute ride by bus to Palma, and also to the closest beaches. We followed the direction instructions given to us, and got off the airport bus at the suggested stop, and had to struggle with our luggage carrying up approximately 60 steep steps in the hillside before arriving at the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perthyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

These apartments are not right in the centre of Palma, but don't let that put you off. Being a little out of town means they have more space and room for sun loungers and one of my musts an outdoor pool.

We arrived at Palma airport and got a taxi straight away to the apartments, journey time was 15mins. We were checked in and at the bar before 10pm, after leaving edinburgh on a 6pm flight, this was a real treat. We managed to get some pizzas at the bar before they shut. Pizzas were tasty, and beers at 1.50 €, we were laughing.

We were given room 307 which had a recent balcony and a view of the city, overlooking the pool. I think the room had been remodelled because i noticed in passing that not all rooms were to the same standard. Our room had modern furniture, laminate flooring, and tasteful art.

The kitchenette was very basic but clean and well equipped. Two rings, various pots, frying pan, plates cutlery, glasses, bottle opener, and cleaning supplies. Best bit for us was the full size fridge.

If you are planning to cook your own meals Carefour is a 10 min walk away in the Porto Pi Centre, its a huge supermarket and had everything we needed and a lot more. Worth mentioning there are lots of other shops there too.

The hotel pool was perfect for us with good quality loungers and there were plenty go to around.

Palma old town was only a five minute taxi ride away. The Marina is only 5mins walk away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loui_loops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Nice and modern hotel with very nice pool area with sunbeds. Very helpful and friendly staff at reception, unfortunately pretty rude ones in restaurant. Walls between the rooms are thinnest I ever seen, so you could hear your neighbors snoring and doing all other things. Breakfast buffet is nice, especially freshly baked pastries, but variety of main items is very limited and after having breakfast there for 2 mornings in raw, you got bored with exact same food. Hotel offers free parking and car is really needed since hotel is not near to anything. The beach and city center are within a walking distance, if you have strength to walk couple of kilometers. Free wifi is available around the pool. Room service was kind a chaotic, and first time our room was cleaned after staying there for 2 nights.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We arrived at midnight (due to being put on a coach for Palma Nova despite telling no less than 3 people we were for Palma....you are English therefore you must be going to Palma Nova!) when we should have been there in time for food (10pm) and drink (11pm) the receptionist was excellent and opened up the bar for us to have a beer - after in-excess of 3 hours being involuntarily chauffeured around Palma Nova and Santa Ponsa that was the best beer ever, there was even a vending machine to allow us to go to bed without grumbling tummies. Having only been to "holiday" hotels in Majorca aimed at the low cost tourist I was impressed with this little hotel - proper sprung mattresses, no horrible plastic mattress liners and carpeted floor (handy as it wasn't warm enough for tiles). The room was of adequate size and everything worked...oh and it was clean, very clean. The buffet breakfast in the morning was served from 7.30 until 10.30 and there was plenty of everything - I guess after 4 mornings with the same offerings I was a little tired but I only eat toast at home so it wasn't really a problem.....that said the toaster was awful....that is my only criticism.....get a couple of new shiny 4 slice toasters that brown you toast in less than 4 minutes - yes it really was that long I timed it! The hotel does have a restaurant but no one really eats there as it is part of the trip to eat at different restaurants each night - that said we did have snacks (pizza, chips, sandwiches) and they were lovely and very reasonably priced. Talking of prices - the bar is not cheap (well we are talking Euro zone here) but neither is it expensive and the drinks are large - 4-5 Euros for a very large G&T, also the bottles of wine are fantastic it isn't really worth bringing them in from the Supermercado. The pool area is expensively furnished and also fabulously clean. The kind of people who go to this hotel take care of things so you won't find mess and broken chairs etc. Could go on and on but I will quit with the fact that we are already planning an Autumn break to this hotel - less than 2 and a half hours flying, less than 15 mins transfer (take a taxi not a bloomin` shuttle!) we can nip across for a long weekend...result!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindsD53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I love love love this view! Our stay at Augusta hotel was great! We have booked a superior room with view towards the city. From our balcony we could see the Cathedral, the sea, the castle! You wake up and go to sleep with this amazing view! On the second night we even had a small dinner on our balcony enjoying the romantic atmosphere! Buffet breakfast was great with plenty of choice, room was quiet and clean, and staff was welcoming and spoke English. As other reviews say we used bus 3 to reach the city centre in 15 min and the same bus to go to Cala Major beach in less than 10 min. The bus stop was about 6-7 minutes walk from the hotel. The Hop-on Hop off tourist bus also stopped on that bus stop, so it was very convenient. We definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polyksena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The only explanation I can think of for the outstanding value offered by this apart-hotel is the location, which is to the south of the city, fifteen minutes from the centre by a frequent bus or five minutes in a 6 Euro taxi ride.
Rooms are basic, but comfortable and well-equipped with kitchenettes, bathrooms with a real bath (I'd been resigned to three days of showers) and a balcony with table, chairs and - this being Spain - ashtray. Everywhere in the complex is spotlessly clean.
'Complex' doesn't do it justice, really. It's more like an immaculately-run three-star hotel. A decent breakfast spread (no hot dishes) is included, amazingly, in the very accessible price. There's a pleasant bar in the evening offering snacks and drinks, Best of all is the poolside areas; lots of smart loungers, gazebos and stylish outdoor sofas and armchairs, with chic lighting after dark - pushing four-star in this department.
So, altogether amazing value for money. And - big bonus this - it's within walking distance of one of my favourite clubs, anywhere, the wonderful Garito Cafe. Result!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SteveTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.1 mi away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#26 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,568 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#15 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,719 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
#24 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Innside by Melia Palma Bosque
Innside by Melia Palma Bosque
#14 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melia Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea
#25 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,978 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#16 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BQ Augusta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BQ Augusta

Address: Camino Corb Mari 22 | La Bonanova, 07015 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Augusta Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#18 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#29 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range: $102 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BQ Augusta 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 starred hotel BQ Augusta complex in La Bonanova is just 10 minutes' drive from the centre of Palma de Mallorca and offers rooms, studios and apartments. It features an outdoor swimming pool with a sun terrace. All the spacious rooms at the BQ Augusta come with satellite TV. Some of the rooms feature views over the city of Palma from the balcony and the studios and apartments come with kitchenettes. Free WiFi is available. The BQ Augusta serves an extensive buffet breakfast. There is also a cafeteria for light meals and a bar where guests can relax. Friendly staff are happy to suggest nearby restaurants. Palma Port is just 300 metres away, while Bellver Park is about 500 metres away. The historic part of Palma is about 5 minutes' drive away. There is free on-site parking upon availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your BQ Augusta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augusta Apartments Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Augusta Apartments Palma De Mallorca
BQ Augusta Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing