We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hangout Hostel”
Review of Hostal Terramar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal Terramar
Reviewed February 5, 2009

This hostel is a bit shabby but a real home form home. The rooms are well equipped and the staff are lovely. It was great to have a kitchen and we loved the local night scene.

Some might find the Terramar a little rough but for twenty somethings on a budget it is perfect

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank paulastrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 87 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2008

For a hostel we found the room to be a good size, loved the shower, but found the room floor rather dirty with mounds of dirt/dust in the corners. We also found the lack of basic fan or any ventilation in the bathroom and room a bit strange which forced us to leave the window open always. Security-wise: the security door was often open and the rooms have a very basic lock, therefore definitely be sure to mind your valuables. The biggest downfall and most important was that our room, number 17 was EXTREMELY noisy. The plaza right below the window seems to be a gathering place for young people coming back from the bars and people seemed to always stop right below the window -- and I’m not talking about just a few people at a time, rather, large groups of people. The last night a fight broke out and it was actually quite scary. This noise was heard even with the window closed. And, on top of that, while the staffer on Sunday was very VERY friendly, the woman we encountered upon arrival and then again by voice through the hallway the following morning was not very pleasant. I am a very heavy sleeper however, we could not sleep at all during the three nights nor mornings we were there. Maybe a different room on the second floor would have been a bit better because at least one would be away from the reception, however the walls are generally thin and do not muffle the strong echo. Therefore, we would not recommend this hostel for sleeping. It is probably great for those who want to party or do not require sleep, however if you decide you want a good night's rest or a romantic restful week-end, best to choose another accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alwayshappy2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2006

This hostel is located just off the main walkway in beautiful Palma de Mallorca. There were 17 men in our party, all arriving after a few Sangria's. The check in was a breeze because of the great positive attitude of Jing on the desk.
The rooms were all very clean but basic as one would expect. The hostel was also secure and the other guests were friendly.
Jing and Bing arranged taxis for us and were great throughout the trip, despite being over-run by a bunch of loud English lads.
Overall, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matt1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Australia
28
Reviewed November 14, 2005

This hostel was lovely! Spent a few nights there in June, and there is an awesome rooftop where everyone hangs out and meets other travellers, it is very close to a shopping area (not so close to the city centre), bus routes, and the nightlife, and there is a great general area patio, and beautiful lounge room with book case. As a hostel, I was really impressed and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank teresabressan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
Thank Rosa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Angelo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Amic Horizonte
Hotel Amic Horizonte
#59 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
912 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea
#25 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,978 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#15 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#26 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,567 reviews
0.5 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#27 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,244 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#16 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Terramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Terramar

Address: Plaza Mediterrania 8, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range: $31 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Terramar 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostal is aimed at budget travellers. We have apartments, doubles ensuite, single ensuite, double and single rooms or dorm beds. Something to suit everybodys budget and accomodation wishlist. Situated in the nightlife part of town. Good bus links to the port, airport, beaches, city center and the rest of the island. Guest kitchen and laundry service. Lots of communal areas inside and out for hanging with fellow travelers. Please note that this hostal is intended for the young and the young-at-heart and will not suit those looking for tranquility or luxury. What we do promise is you will meet some great people and will be made very welcome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostal Terramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Terramar Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing