We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Portixol Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Ideal weekend break”
Reviewed March 6, 2009

Our stay in Portixol was fab despite the unsettled weather in Majorca (including a huge downpour - but we were there in Feb so I am not complaining!). The hotel is trendy and cool but very comfortable. Our room - port view - had lovely views over the marina and was very spacious, with sofa, ensuite bathroom with power shower, and a separate sunken bath (complete with candles). The staff were friendly and knowledgeable. I had a very nice massage on special offer at the time, which I really enjoyed. Breakfasts were really good with loads of choice in the buffet and they will also provide cooked food on request. The restaurant is good but not great - menu is sort of fusion, there are no specials, it's quite expensive and it doesn't appear to change (eg with the seasons). The bar menu is a cheaper alternative though not great for vegetarians. However, don't miss the thai prawn soup which is delicious. The bar gets busy and has a good buzz about it. Portixol is a good 20-25 minute walk from Palma -- which we liked because we prefer to be in a quiet area but some people might find the hotel a bit far away from the centre of things. It's so close to the airport (20-25min drive) that it makes an ideal spot for a luxury weekend break. It's not cheap but worth it for a special occasion. (And by the way, seemed gay-friendly).

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyBlueCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    92
    30
    18
    14
See reviews for
66
194
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2009

We (myself and a friend) booked a Mediterranean View Terrace room for 3 nights and were really looking forward to enjoying the sea views, so we were shocked when in fact most of what you could see was the rooftop of the ground floor of the hotel. We felt cheated really. Our room was on the first floor; the view is probably better if your room is higher up.

The restaurant is good, although there's only 1 main course for vegetarians! Good bar as well. The Bellini tasted fresher than the one I had at the Opio restaurant in the Puro hotel, where we dined on one evening.

You can have breakfast until 11:30 which is simpy wonderful.

Other things we enjoyed a lot were the pool (the looks, couldn't try it in December!), the Finnish sauna, a very relaxing massage in the Spa, and the vinyl collection in the living room.

I read in other reviews and the hotel's own promotional texts that the restaurant is popular with locals, and this turned out to be true, and it did make a difference.

The staff were very friendly indeed, which I value a lot.

The general atmosphere was very peaceful, but the building was surprisingly noisy e.g. when shower was used in another room, which sometimes made it difficult to sleep in the morning.

The room was very tidy. As for the style of the decor, some items in the room were a bit on the kitschy side, and we also found the lobby area to be quite tasteless, to be honest. But you might disagree.

On the whole, this hotel, while not remarkable in style, is excellent for relaxation and I can recommend it for that purpose.

  • Liked — Peacefulness; friendly staff, good location; late breakfast
  • Disliked — Some of the interior decoration; building sometimes noisy
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Finckelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Portixol for 5 nights during August 2007. We were on our honeymoon. What a wonderful experience. Our room was just the right size and we had a spacious balcony. The restaurant was spectacular and we enjoyed going to the bar before heading out to Palma in the evenings. We were definitely among the minority as Americans but that only added to our experience.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dales15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2008

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights from 4 October . As it was my husband's 60th birthday we decided to splash out & book the Atico ( roof terrace). We were extremely pleased with the facilities as the weather was glorious so most of the time was spent up there in splendid peace & luxury once we had had the excellent breakfast . Whilst we thoroughly enjoyed our stay we did have a few niggles , reflected in other reviews . Service at breakfast was casual to say the least & like others we had to ask about the cooked breakfast . It was not offered. Also, given the cost of the accommodation etc I think the bar area does not reflect this . It lacked comfort & atmosphere on an evening. Lastly, we were surprised that we never saw anybody who appeared to be in charge & we were therefore never asked if everything was to our satisfaction although I accept we could have approached the Reception staff who were extremely helpful . I know we had the most expensive accommodation . However , in terms of facilities & appointments I have stayed in more luxurious accommodation for less money ( eg Son Net at Puigpuynent ).Not sure I would return unless I could afford to book Atico again.

  • Liked — Facilities on the roof terrace
  • Disliked — Casual service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisymaydurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2008

My husband and I have just returned from the Portixol and had a fab time. This is the 4th time we have stayed and it lived up to our expectations.

We love the relaxed feel of the hotel - no problem wandering to the pool/spa area in your dressing gown! Since we last stayed an outside jacuzzi has been put in near the sauna and gym. The gym is also better equiped with some cardio machines now.

This time we stayed in the large port view room which was fab. It was a good size room with both a bath and shower - candles provided in the bath area. Before we have had a room with a terrace but, given the time of year, and based on previous experience, when we did not make full use of it, we opted for the port view room. The room did have great views right across the harbour and bay of Palma.

The breakfast consists of a great buffet and you can request cooked eggs and bacon. We find breakfast here very relaxing and tend to much away for 1 - 2 hours. Papers are also provided for guests free of charge. Previously we felt the lack of service in terms of the provision of drinks at breakfast a bit disappointing but found it to be greatly improved.

Rather than go into Palma to eat in the evenings we ate locally - we found a couple of very good tapas bars away from the seafront (one was one street up from the seafront and the other on the main road). We also ate in the hotel restaurant one night and felt that the food and service were up to the usual good standards.

The reception staff are very helpful and will always provide you with information and advise. The hotel has a great selection of CD's and DVD's you can borrow if you want to listen to music or watch a film.

We did find everything more expensive in the bars and restaruants in Palma than previosuly, but guess that the poor exchange rate doesn't help.

We will not hesitate to go back to the Portixol as it is one of our favourite hotels but next time we go to Mallorca we will try the Esplendido in Soller.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Water not being replenished in the gym
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2008

First time we have stayed at the Portixol, but have stayed at their sister hotel - the Esplendido before.
Overall a great hotel, although we personally didn't think the restaurant menu was to the same standard of the hotel or as good as the Esplendido.

The location is great, plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance, the harbour is lovely and only a short trip from the airport.

We would go back and would recommend for a 2-3 day break.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2008

This was our second visit to the Portixol, We stayed there on a very brief one night stopover two years ago and were so impressed, decided that our next visit to Mallorca had to include a slightly longer stay in Palma at the Portixol.

This hotel manages to get it so 'right'. It is undoubtedly trendy, minimalist and stylish but unlike many other hotels fitting this description - is also friendly, comfortable, welcoming and very laid back. The staff are wonderful and throughout the hotel the attention to detail does not go unnoticed. Whatever your age group - be it young or old you will not feel out of place and it also manages to be really family friendly.

On this visit we booked a Mediterranean sea view room with terrace - this was a fantastic room, very large, and the terrace was really welcome. On our previous stay we were in a Port view room - whch although much smaller and minus the terrace was also very good (it actually had a better bathroom) and if I am totally honest probably offered better value for money.

The restaurant is first class and the service superb - it is extremely popular both with residents and non-residents and therefore is advisable to book ahead. Pricey - yes but definitely worth it.

It is difficult to find fault with this hotel however we did have one (very small) gripe and that was with the breakfast service. The breakfast buffet is great but service on both mornings was just a little bit too relaxed - we had to go and find someone to bring us coffee and although a (really good) cooked breakfast can be provided, this is not offered readily and you have to make a point of asking for it - but this was my one and only complaint.

We borrowed two of the hotel bicycles and cycled the length and breadth of Palma - the dedicated cycle lane is fantastic. As well as cycling into Palma and the port we also travelled in the other direction from Portixol and found a restaurant situated right on the beach - El Bungalow, that I would highly recommend - the fish lunch we had was excellent.

A superb hotel, a great location and yes, this is now officially my favourite hotel - I cant wait to return.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SallyEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palma de Mallorca
0.3 mi away
Melia Palma Bay
Melia Palma Bay
#33 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
159 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ciutat Jardi
Hotel Ciutat Jardi
#53 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
91 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel UR Portofino
Hotel UR Portofino
#36 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
449 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aparthotel Ses Cases d'Or
Aparthotel Ses Cases d'Or
#29 of 46 in Cala d'Or
74 reviews
1.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
#4 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portixol Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portixol Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Portixol Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Calle Sirena 27, 07006 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#10 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#15 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#24 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#37 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portixol Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portixol combines old tradition with modern style and comfort in a unique way. This small and exclusive hotel is beautifully situated in the Portixol harbour within easy walking distance of the centre of Palma and its majestic cathedral.Space and light is the overall impression of Portixol - a delightful mix of light Scandinavian simplicity and Mediterranean colours bringing together functionality and flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Portixol Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portixol Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Portixol Hotel And Restaurant Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing