We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smashing location, great charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Born

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Born
Ranked #36 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Smashing location, great charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We didn't mind the stairs, we loved the character of the place, and breakfast in the courtyard was a scrumptious delight. It was an easy walk to everywhere including the airport bus stop. Service was charming and friendly. The room was clean and spacious and comfortable. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorksLass_CAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    202
    47
    22
    9
See reviews for
38
225
33
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We return to The Hotel Born whenever we spend a few days in Palma. Despite the lack of a lift and "our" room being on the fourth floor, it is worth the climb (even with protesting knees). The view may not be magnificent but it is interesting (backs of old buildings). The hotel has a lovely atmosphere and, with a continental breakfast included, is excellent value for one so centrally placed.

We shall be back!

Room Tip: We have a Junior Suite which includes a comfortable sitting area overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jktraveller73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

If you don't like stairs for whatever reason, this hotel is not for you. If you like real character and history - it is.

We have stayed at some of the best hotels anywhere - but whilst this is in no way a luxury hotel, it really is a gem of a base to visit Palma. No frills, but in its own way, perfect.

Its a 16th century building in the heart of a historic city - there weren't many lifts in 1550 AD. Its old and oozes charm and character. The wonderful almost Gothic reception area is a thing of beauty as is the lovely courtyard. The hotel does offer free WiFi which is more than Holiday Inn can manage. We were on the 4th floor - 68 stairs to be precise which is a bit of a climb - so when booking you may wish to ask for a lower floor. That said, we didn't mind in the slightest and- it was superbly quite.

Our room was immaculately clean - we ended up with twin beds with quite hard mattresses, but actually we slept amazingly well. The bathroom was well appointed and the view over the courtyard was lovely. Lots of TV channels in all languages.

The real USP is the location; its perfect. There is a wonderful tapas bar next door but one on the right as you exit reception. It's superb. 100m beyond that, just across the road is Bar Bosh - open until after 1am with a great atmosphere.

Breakfast is very traditional with fresh juices and Cava, an extensive buffet and freshly made coffee to order. Staff are lovely too and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: There is no lift - so if you don't do stairs, don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EW1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We had a great time at the hotel, staying in a huge room with two big windows, spacious bathroom and sitting room. It's location is perfect to visit the city and also go shopping. There is a bus stop nearby and all kinds of restaurants, cafes, shops, around the corner. We were leaving early in the morning to catch our plane and they prepared a breakfast pack for us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Had a great weekend in late December at the hotel born, central location no bar but when your in the centre of palma there really wasn't the need, plus you could order drinks and coffee from reception, prices extremely reasonable, friendly staff, fabulous breakfast and wonderful character of this former merchant house, we will definitely staying here again on our next trip to this wonderful city.

Room Tip: No lift so if you are middle aged like me and my husband ask for a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Being regular visitors to Palma we had often looked to stay at the Born due to the old age charm of the Hotel and the Central location , having 'wandered in' to catch a glimpse one time.

For our latest trip we did indeed stay at the Born , and will definitely stay again.

Yes there are no lifts and the hotel is showing signs of age and there is no bar or restaurant , but forget all that , the building is magnificent and the central location more than makes up for the lack of bar and restaurant.

The buffet breakfast was excellent and you can order drinks from reception if you wanted to drink in the room , the hotel staff were extremely friendly and provided great service.

The rates are also very reasonable , give it a try you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: As there are no lifts may be best to ask for 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

My friends stay here most years for a week, but will not do a Tripadvisor report, as he doesn't want to advertise its existence. We stayed for a week in October and had a really good room. alas, on thee 3rd floor. NO LIFT. I would certainly stay again, but only if I had a fist floor room, Ignore the 3 star rating, it is better than that. (my guess is that the low rating is given because of the lack of elevator). The breakfast is good and can be enjoyed in the courtyard. The staff wee very friendly and accommodating. The huge front doors are secured late at night, so no riff-raff coming through. Tv in the room, though small flat screen, had most UK stations.

Room Tip: CHOOSE FIRST FLOOR, unless you are young enough to tackle the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baznoble1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saratoga
Hotel Saratoga
#31 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dalt Murada
Hotel Dalt Murada
#49 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Almudaina Hotel
Almudaina Hotel
#18 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cort
Hotel Cort
#14 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.6 mi away
HM Balanguera
HM Balanguera
#11 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.4 mi away
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Born? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Born

Property: Hotel Born
Address: C/ Sant Jaume, 3, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#27 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Born 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Born reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Born Palma De Mallorca, Majorca
Born Hotel Palma De Mallorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing