We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Hotel Born

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Born
Ranked #37 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed for one night at the end of Aug, we had four nights in Puerto of pollensa, one in Palma and six in Cala Bona. The hotel was beautiful, the staff were very friendly, we had a room on the third floor overlooking the side street,very quiet at night, we slept like logs. We walked from the main bus station and stopped for lunch in a side street cafe. We walked to Belver castle, which was quite hard work as it was up lots of steps after the marina, it was also about 88 degrees! the castle was worth the visit, the tourist bus also stops there. We also went to the cathedral, The Ramblas and the whole of the centre of Palma. In the evening we went to a restaurant called the caveman, very nice. I had a seafood dish with the biggest prawns I've ever seen! The breakfast was brilliant, the coffee was lovely and sitting in the courtyard was wonderful. We had a great time.

Room Tip: We had a street room, it was quiet, even in Aug!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    208
    47
    22
    9
See reviews for
40
229
33
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Took a while to find the hotel but when we did it was perfect. Up a lovely alleyway - quiet off the main drag but central for the city sights. Lovely authentic Spanish surroundings, no frills but perfect tranquility, lovely bedroom and the most magnificent breakfast in a very pretty courtyard. Highly recommend for a weekend break!

Room Tip: Overlooking the courtyard would be lovely but very noisy first thing in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fargi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Charming and atmospheric hotel with great location, ideal for exploring Palma and the surrounding area. We used local buses which were inexpensive and stopped very near to the hotel; we never had to wait more than 5 minutes. Breakfast is taken in the peaceful courtyard, which is a great way to start the day. Authentic features, including a fresco above the bed, made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kungsbacka, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Hotel Born gives you good value for money in the very center the of Palma de Mallorca. The small family run hotel is situated in a 16th century building with a great atmospheres. It's located on a calm narrow street with almost no traffic, except horse-drawn carriages.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fastback-1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a great hotel at a very reasonable price. The staff really helpful and friendly. The breakfast superb, taken sitting in the courtyard. The location is very central but its location down a small street meant no noise from outside, we had a courtyard room, my parents stayed last year in an outside room and found it to be very noisy. The room was large and whilst not luxurious had all the conveniences needed and was spotlessly clean.
We will definitely return

Room Tip: Request a courtyard room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn-Katrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just at the heart of the city, this hotel is situated on a lovely narrow street. The entrance hall is impressive, as much as the nice courtyard where the delicious breakfast is served. You can feel the old Mallorquin spirit at this historic building. The rooms are modest, with few decoration items and comperatively old furniture (the beds are not that comfortable). One difficulty is climbing up the stairs to the 3rd or 4th floor with heavy luggages, so it is recommended to reserve a room on the lower floors, preferably overlooking the courtyard. The price of the hotel is very reasonable compared to its peers.

Room Tip: Choose rooms at the lower floors if you have heavy luggages
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ceren U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel is so much more than the low star rating. Located up a little side street it was easy to find. We walked from the Palma Soller train station and found it very easily. Our room on the first floor overlooked the palm filled courtyard from traditional shuttered windows and was furnished with lovely dark traditional Mallorcan beds The beds were very comfy with real supportive mattresses. Slept like a log. The bathroom was clean and modern and the shower powerful. I wish we had a little longer here as we had a brief overnight after holidaying in Soller in order to catch an early flight.
The breakfast was amazing, pastries and breads in abundance, cold meats, eggs, fruit salad, yogurts, juice, little buns with tomato. Breakfast was self service and eaten in the courtyard. Lovely!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryfromBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
Hotel Saratoga
#35 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
1,091 reviews
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
517 reviews
HM Jaime III
#12 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
1,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Almudaina Hotel
#14 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
950 reviews
Hotel Palladium
#38 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
282 reviews
La Llotja-Born
Puro Hotel
Puro Hotel
#34 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Born? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Born

Property: Hotel Born
Address: C/ Sant Jaume, 3, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#27 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Born 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Born reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Born Palma De Mallorca, Majorca
Born Hotel Palma De Mallorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing