We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Born
Nearby Hotels
HM Jaime III(Palma de Mallorca)
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Melia Palma Marina(Palma de Mallorca)
$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Gran Melia Victoria(Palma de Mallorca)
$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Palma Suites(Palma de Mallorca)
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Boutique Hotel Can Cera(Palma de Mallorca)
$322
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel UR Portofino(Palma de Mallorca)
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of $228/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Innside By Melia Palma Bosque(Palma de Mallorca)
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Posada Terra Santa(Palma de Mallorca)
$270
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Palma Bellver Managed By Melia(Palma de Mallorca)
$184
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa(Palma de Mallorca)
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
493 results
Traveler rating
172
230
54
24
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
230
54
24
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno liftold palaceoverlooking the courtyardold townfirst floorcentral locationbar boschcontinental breakfastcharming hotelside streetreception areaexcellent locationlarge bathroomwithin easy reachnice breakfastthree nightsvisit palma
Filter
Updating list...
171 - 176 of 493 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was our second visit to this Hotel and we enjoyed it just as much as the first time. It is in a 400 year old Moorish Palace and is located right in the heart of the city. We went in April 2013 and there was no noise externally nor internally. The hotel is furnished in the traditional Mallorcan style and whilst not 5 star is very comfortable. The breakfast comprises a full buffet suitable for all tastes and there is unlimited tea and coffee; my wife took afternoon tea in the courtyard and it was a pleasant and serene experience. We had a small suite on the first floor (Room 109) and we liked it a lot. A word of praise for the staff especially Antonio who advised on excellent Restaurants and trips on the local buses, certainly an enjoyable experience, but please do try to speak Spanish if you can it is only a courtesy and the staff really do appreciate it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkArchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Perfect location for enjoying the historic quarter of Palma and a good deal for a short stay.We paid 273 Euros for 3 nights incuding breakfast for the two of us.The hotel has charm and character - it is a former palace - and the courtyard is a very attractive feature.We had a twin bedded room (208) on the 2nd floor.Decent size and spotlessly clean.BUT the beds were not very comfortable -lumpy springs made for a less than perfect sleep!
Apart from that,no complaints.Very good buffet breakfast served in the basement or to eat out in the courtyard.On the whole I would recommend this 2 star hotel to anyone on a short break to Palma.Take the train up to Soller for a fabulous day out.

Room Tip: No lift so be prepared to carry luggage up stairs.Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard for a pretty aspect.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millicento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Having stayed at Hotel Born a couple of years ago, we booked again, asking for the same Junior Suite as before (via The Other Majorca website) which we were allocated. Despite the fact it is at the top of the hotel, up four flights of stairs and I have dodgy knees, it was worth it!

The staff may appear to be a bit taciturn to some people but we have found them nothing but very helpful and friendly when approached and we like the fact, when we are there, we are able to come and go without interference or comment.

If/when we visit Palma in the future, we shall definitely stay at Hotel Born. It's central position is second to none.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jktraveller73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

If you are bored bored bored with samey blocks of purpose built hotels. Is it impossible to remember one from the other? We hate those places.
As a couple we much prefer to stay somewhere where we can absorb the history and charm and the vibe of the location. The Born was just our sort of place. Historic, memorable, romantic. We were delighted to find an ancient domed painted ceiling in our room and won't ever forget sleeping in the beautiful bed below.
I would suggest if you can afford it to book a superior room as one of the standards we viewed had very high windows which you could not see out of. It was top of our price range but we felt the extra cash for superior was well worth it.
Some folks could find the beds on the firm side but we loved them and slept well. Some may find there is a little noise but we loved waking up to the gentle buzz of the city. Ask for a courtyard facing room if you prefer to be quiet. We however loved looking into the ancient narrow street from our little balcony. It was wonderful to be so central and just step out into this amazing city. Plenty tapas and restauraunts to choose from in very easy walking distance.
Contrary to other reveiws we found the breakfast yummy and the staff very helpful with all our questions about where to find things and places, bus stops etc. All spoke English superbly.
We loved Palma, our new favourite city, got there on a Ryanair cheapie, stayed a week and only scratched the surface, we'll be back to the Born without a doubt.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joobyruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

This is our 5th time to Palma and I have to say that this little gem of a hotel is the best overall hotel we've stayed in. Don't get me wrong we've stayed in plusher hotels but they have been significantly more expensive and generally been room only. Yes there's no lift but this is a city break so how much luggage will you actually have? The stairs aren't steep, it's only over 3 floors excluding a couple of off shot areas and there's always the staff to help.

On the subject of the staff - I've always found that when you are in a foreign country speaking to people who's native language isn't English, be patient, speak a little a slower and don't get frustrated. If you aren't then don't complain if the staff appear rude. People react to how they are treated!!!

This hotel typically is b&b and I have to say that as people have said on here the choice is good. It's not just the choice but the quality of the good is also fabulous.

The rooms are well appointed and as people have said being there out of season will be a little colder than normal however we didn't find it too much of a problem as the bedding is warm.

On the subject of noise in the rooms facing the "lane". The noise is generally people noise not traffic noise so again the solution - take ear plugs!

In essence this hotel is too good and in too good a location to explore Palma to allow little issues to put you off - resolve the issues before you go and enjoy your stay, the hotel and mostly the lovely city of Palma.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinZachery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews