We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of money. Don't bother.”

Palau de l'Almudaina
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.37*
and up
City Sightseeing Palma de Mallorca Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Boat Ride...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A royal palace has stood on this site since soon after the Arab conquest.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Waste of money. Don't bother.”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

We visited the palace because it was next to the cathderal, which we had already been in. For myself, a 22 year old male holidaying with my girlfriend, this was totally boring. There is nothing interactive in the palace and it wasn't cheap to enter. It was literally a walk around and looking at carpets and old stones, which mostly have been reconstructed anyway. Not worth the time, effort or money. Very disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    269
    108
    34
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Expensive!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Rooms and courtyards of the palace are interesting, but there are few contents, making it an expensive visit at 9 euro

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vagab0nd53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
68 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Palau in Palma”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have the chance of see tripadvisor before I go so we didn't get inside (and paid the entrance fee) based o other reviews. So from outside I have to say it seems big, and a kind pf arab palace that got intact to our days. The thing we liked mosted is the view of the Palau from the down gardens at night (we were lucky enough to have a musician playing typical music and I have to say the tune was perfect for the moment).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Celso S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Interesting building but limited access or things to see”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We paid to get in (wish I've checked Tripadvisor before going...) and wasn't the best value thing we did. Interesting to see inside a medieval Mediterranean palace: similar but different to similar castles / palaces in Northern Europe. Was vaguely interesting to see the official rooms used by the king and queen, but nothing as spectacular as many UK stately homes. The collection of archaeological material was limited and the majority of the pictures fairly standard stuff.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TonyDownham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emlichheim, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Favorite tour in Palma!”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I LOVED this palace! The entry was more expensive than the other attractions, but well worth it. Be sure to get the audio guides, as they point out some great artifacts and tell the stories behind each room. The tour wouldn't have been the same without them! This is a MUST SEE!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AMNelson07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palau de l'Almudaina also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Palau de l'Almudaina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing