We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First rate service but food was a let down”
Review of Restaurante Contraste - CLOSED

Restaurante Contraste
Price range: $13 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
779 reviews
481 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“First rate service but food was a let down”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Contraste is not in the best of locations being slightly out of town and just off the run down Joan Miro avenida. It is surpringly nice inside and has a very interesting menu which offered much hope but unfortunately the quality of food was a let down and portion sizes far too big. The plates were nicely presented but the food lacked finesse.The best thing about this place was the service from a young russian man who did everything to make us happy including a 10% reduction in the bill.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    17
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top tapas ....”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended this place, when toque was fully booked....as its very close.

We ate early evening, and had a 3 month old baby with us ( not to eat ! )

The gentleman that served us was very friendly and helpful

We had the 16 euro offer : black pudding fritters, tempura cod balls, Greek salad, and chicken coquettes

All of them were delicious and really substantial ...

We'd highly recommend this place and intend to go back to sample some more

The couple next to us had a steak that looked fab, so will be ordering that next !

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JulzROVERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh on SEa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Arty food”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Dined here with my husband and two friends. Service and ambience good but oh! dear the food.
Husband ordered Sea Bass: two pieces of fish the size of your index and middle finger hidden under a mess of al dente vegetables. No one enjoyed their meals and I can't even remember what we had.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MojaveLeighonSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONTRASTE, Propietario at Restaurante Contraste, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Good afternoon. First of all we would like to apologize for your bad experience in our restaurant, and thank you for your criticism in order to improve ourselves. In his critique mentioned seabass dish, possibly it is: "Wild sea bass, muslin ball celery, sautéed pak choy and vegetables in saffron clouds" and among the pictures published on this website could also see the photo of this dish, it is one of the favorite dishes of our customers. Regarding fish rations are between 150g-190g which is usual for fish. Also to tell you if you had commented during dinner dissatisfaction with the food, it WOULD HAVE changed at the moment, without any problem.
Sincerely Restaurant CONTRAST
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top Spanish/international cuisine in modern and stylish setting.”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Just along the road from the Victoria, this restaurant is excellent. The food, from the freebie starter to the pudding, is tasty, interesting and beautifully presented. The service is good and friendly and we spent a very pleasant evening there. Don't let the outside put you off. Once inside, you'll love it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Modern delicacies”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Ate here one evening and was over the moon at the quality of the Tapas, especially the fish and giant prawns. Lovely decor and good staff. A perfect place for business or family meals together.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank isabell599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Contraste also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing