We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top tapas ....”
Review of Restaurante Contraste - CLOSED

Restaurante Contraste
Price range: $13 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top tapas ....”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended this place, when toque was fully booked....as its very close.

We ate early evening, and had a 3 month old baby with us ( not to eat ! )

The gentleman that served us was very friendly and helpful

We had the 16 euro offer : black pudding fritters, tempura cod balls, Greek salad, and chicken coquettes

All of them were delicious and really substantial ...

We'd highly recommend this place and intend to go back to sample some more

The couple next to us had a steak that looked fab, so will be ordering that next !

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JulzROVERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    17
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh on SEa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Arty food”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Dined here with my husband and two friends. Service and ambience good but oh! dear the food.
Husband ordered Sea Bass: two pieces of fish the size of your index and middle finger hidden under a mess of al dente vegetables. No one enjoyed their meals and I can't even remember what we had.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MojaveLeighonSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONTRASTE, Propietario at Restaurante Contraste, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Good afternoon. First of all we would like to apologize for your bad experience in our restaurant, and thank you for your criticism in order to improve ourselves. In his critique mentioned seabass dish, possibly it is: "Wild sea bass, muslin ball celery, sautéed pak choy and vegetables in saffron clouds" and among the pictures published on this website could also see the photo of this dish, it is one of the favorite dishes of our customers. Regarding fish rations are between 150g-190g which is usual for fish. Also to tell you if you had commented during dinner dissatisfaction with the food, it WOULD HAVE changed at the moment, without any problem.
Sincerely Restaurant CONTRAST
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top Spanish/international cuisine in modern and stylish setting.”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Just along the road from the Victoria, this restaurant is excellent. The food, from the freebie starter to the pudding, is tasty, interesting and beautifully presented. The service is good and friendly and we spent a very pleasant evening there. Don't let the outside put you off. Once inside, you'll love it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Modern delicacies”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Ate here one evening and was over the moon at the quality of the Tapas, especially the fish and giant prawns. Lovely decor and good staff. A perfect place for business or family meals together.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank isabell599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Valentine's dinner”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

A party of ten with no prior booking but we were made very welcome. We were shown a special menu for the few days around this date. We had a fabulous meal cooked to perfection. Not cheap but good Yorkshire value for money! What an excellent meal to celebrate St Valentine. My congratulations to the chef for ensuring we all had a wonderful evening.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank OughtiJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONTRASTE, Propietario at Restaurante Contraste, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, every customer for us is welcome. We are pleased to have enjoyed their evening in our restaurant.
Sincerely
Pavel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Contraste also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing