We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, friendly staff and excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa
Ranked #31 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Kensington, MD
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, friendly staff and excellent location”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Palacio Ca Sa Galesa is a beautiful hotel located in the old town facing the waterfront. It is in a perfect location for major tourist attractions (eg the cathedral is next door) and restaurants. We had the Brahms suite, which is a long, spacious room with a king bed and a pull-out sofa bed. The windows open out into the courtyard. It is, however, right above the reception area and can be noisy (hearing people's conversation) at times.

There are various communal areas in the hotel - library, kitchen, dining and living room with a fireplace etc. The rooftop terrace is a nice place to relax when the weather is warm. The hotel staff was friendly and always tried to help and to make sure we had everything we need. My wife had a body massage and facial, and she had a smile on her face for 2 days, claiming they were some of the best treatments she ever had.

The hotel is not shy when it comes to charging for services and products. Some are worthwhile (massage) and some are not (minibar). Breakfast is not included and we did not have breakfast at the hotel during our stay. However, they do give out free stuff. For example, we received a bottle of cava upon arrival, and they served almond cake and tea in the kitchen everyday (try the cake, it is delicious) and sherries in the living room.

The bed in our room was hard and the pillows were either too high or too flat. They have a varieties of pillows to choose from.

Overall, we had a very pleasant experience at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PolarBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaciocasagalesa, Gerente at Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for spending a little of your time writing about Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa. Your feedback clients is really important for us, as it is the best way to be able to improve every day.

We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay at the hotel and that you enjoyed your holidays at the house.

We do really appreciate your comments regarding our beds, and despite all the clients have a different mattress’es taste, it is a really important issue that we pay very close attention to, in order to offer you the best sleeping quality.

The hotel’s mattresses are semi-hard, being this the most preferred texture, but we do also offer soft mattress’s covers for the clients who desire a softer feeling. This way we try to adapt the bed to your own tastes. If you would have told it to our staff while you were at the hotel, we would have been pleased to change it.

Our main goal is that you feel like home while you are at the hotel and this is why our reception staff asks you everyday if we can do anything for you and if you are feeling comfortable in your room. We are avaliable 24 hours to assist you and to attend all of your demands.
In any case, the whole team will try their best to communicate and explain at the client’s arrival the different bed’s and pillow’s textures available.

Being an old palace of the XVII century gives us an exceptional but also an unusual building structure. While doing the renovation to become the house into a hotel, we tried to maintain as much as the original structure as possible. The house is actually maintaining the “Mallorca Patio” structure (house surrounding a main courtyard) and in order to preserve this structure and being able keep the old palace feel, the reception had to be adapted in size and location to the original construction.

As every person has a different hearing sensibility, we have already changed our working procedures in order to always leave outside doors and windows closed and to remember to control staff conversations level.

All your comments are the best way to improve continuously, so we always keep in mind that our goal is excellence in service.Thank you again for your time and suggestions.

We hope to see you back soon!

Best regards
Sonia Marzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    48
    25
    16
    10
See reviews for
53
239
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I loved the location of the hotel. It was right in old town near the cathedral and I could walk to everything. The staff was great and the room - a small suite - was large enough for my daughter and her husband and myself. The sofa bed was in a separate area so it gave everyone privacy. We thoroughly enjoyed the dinner in the dining room even though it was a bit pricey. I just wish the weather had been better so we could enjoy the roof top deck.

Room Tip: We did have a bit of road noise so if you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs. I am a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thepilotRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaciocasagalesa, Propietario at Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel. Your positive comments encourage us to continuously improve our services. We are really glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you back soon (hopefully with a better weather as you said)

Best regards
Sonia Marzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

When you read all the fantastic reviews previously of this hotel you begin to wonder if they are genuine. Let me assure they are ! My wife and I stayed four four nights in October and we couldn't have been made to feel more welcome by the staff. It is more like a country hotel in the middle of a city, from the roof terrace with beatiful views of the cathederal and the bay to all the lovely reception rooms. We were upgraded to the Vivaldi suite and the bathroom was as big as soom hotel rooms we've stayed. Breakfast is a little complicated as there are 3 different options, but I'm nitpicking. Can't wait to return

Room Tip: Definately choose a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blufox8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaciocasagalesa, Gerente at Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel. Your positive comments encourage us to continuously improve our services. We are really glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you back soon!

Best regards
Sonia Marzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

First of all, this is a majestic property worth a visit for the 'public' rooms alone. The high-ceilinged first floor hall and reception rooms are a beautiful relic of a bygone age - highly evocative. We stayed in the Vivaldi suite which is the only guest room on this floor immediately adjoining the hall and reception rooms. It made us feel like a king and queen as we essentially had the run of the place to ourselves. Even though it was clear we were not the only guests in this small hotel luxury hotel, no one else seemed to be taking advantage of these rooms and the adjoining kitchen at all. That's the good news...but here's the bad.

The reception area of the hotel is a little glass-fronted cubicle off a courtyard downstairs. It felt a little like we were checking into a jail. The staff were trying had to be kind in the MOST unwelcoming and cramped hotel entrance we have EVER experienced (more like a bad B&B, a total contrast to the style of the first floor and completely out of context). Our checkout in this crazy tight space also made me totally uncomfortable, especially as we had to have an uncomfortable discussion about the bill. This hotel has a way of pricing the breakfast that is more complex than most hotels room rates - three different price levels and surcharges if for example you want 'real' orange juice rather than the standard orange juice on the menu. Needless to say, when we checked out the breakfast charges were wrong, even though we had tried to discuss this with the surly staff at breakfast. A trivial matter perhaps, but it made leaving less pleasant than it could have been. The beds and pillows were much too hard and we struggled to sleep. We were given alternative options but they were not much better. At least the wifi was free, even though it wasn't working on the day of our departure.

I don't understand how they can claim to be a five star hotel. Compared to La Residencia in Deia (where we had spent the previous 3 nights, brilliant attentive service, ultimate in luxury, unbelievable beds and bed linens, inclusive breakfasts etc) this is no more than a three star establishment. As a suggestion to management to entice us back we suggest 1. include the buffet breakfast for all guests and avoid the constant hassle, 2. include water for free - a five star hotel does not charge its guests for water! 3. Put in place a welcoming reception area in the lobby, surely your designers can come up with something better that integrates with the character of the rest of the hotel! I wouldn't mind paying a bit more for an environment that was really geared around making life easy for the customer.
By the way, my wife said she had the best physiotherapy massage of her life on the roof terrace. Thanks for that!

Room Tip: Rooms are very different in size and character, do some homework to make sure that you get what suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FreqTravW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a one night stay in Palma before picking up a yacht charter the following morning. Having not been to Palma since I was a child, our stay in the Old Town and in Ca Sa Galesa gave me a completely different opinion of Majorca.
The hotel is stunning, it truly is a hidden gem. It was like staying in a country house hotel but in a city and in a crowded back street. I'm not sure how they did it, but they were able to transport you into a quiet, luxurious oasis on entering their property.

The hotel is all about service, so when they give you a tour, they really do show you everything and make you feel very welcome and at home. The kitchen was my absolute favourite, it was how you would design your Spanish villa, complete with a maid who served complimentary afternoon tea and almond cake with biscuits. It was just so lovely to have kettles on the stove and being able to help yourself from the fridge and cupboards.
The courtyards were lovely, and the pool area downstairs and on the terrace upstairs again all beautiful. Just a shame we didn't have time to use them.

If I went back to Majorca, I wouldn't hesitate in staying here. It was a treat and definitely memorable. Not for children though, as this is a couples romantic retreat if I've ever seen one. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doydc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaciocasagalesa, Gerente at Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel. Your positive comments encourage us to continuously improve our services. We are really glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you back soon in a longer stay, so you are able to enjoy our terrace and wellness area.

Best regards
Sonia Marzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We loved the roof terrace, the ridiculously convenient location, the sherry in the evening, the tranquil courtyard, and above all we loved the fact that we felt like we were house guests in a palace rather than customers in a hotel. If you want to stay in a convenient location, be pampered, stay in a fabulous room with a four poster bed and enjoy relaxing in a palace then you absolutely must stay here!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaciocasagalesa, Gerente at Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel. Your positive comments encourage us to keep improving our services. We are really glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you back soon!

Best regards
Sonia Marzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was our 4th visit (last stayed approx' 4yrs ago). We love the location, unobtrusive but friendly staff and elegance of the place. However, we felt that some areas had declined in comparison to the competition nearby:
- Tea,coffee & milk supplies in room not restocked (UHT milk in plastic tubs).
- Honour bar had limited stocks of spirits, perhaps due to abuse at some stage? Limited variety of complementary sherry that was not stored on ice.
- Fountain in beautiful courtyard in poor state of repair & not working.
- Gorgeous roof terrace charges 69Euros for a cabana with TV, drinks & snacks. TV???? This area needs wonderful lanterns not plastic novelty animals!
Still love the place but for the cost we may be looking elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ram1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaciocasagalesa, Gerente at Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing once again Palacio Ca Sa Galesa for your stay in Palma and also for sharing your experience with us.

Let me answer your notes:
- Tea,coffee & milk supplies in room not restocked: We apologize for that. I'll make sure our housekeeping team has it in mind for the next occasions
- Honour bar had limited stocks of spirits: I will review it personally. There are times when the status of this honour bar changes from day to day...
- Fountain not working: We have our fountain currently under refurbishment, we hope it's fixed soon.
- Haimas in roof terrace: This is a new service we are offering and you have also the option to purchase only half-day, so the price won't be 69€, but 39€.

Your comments encourage us to keep improving our services. We will do our best to convince you we are the best place to spend your nights in Palma.

We hope to see you back soon!

Best regards
Sonia Marzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
#9 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
509 reviews
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
#4 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
537 reviews
Hotel Cort
#17 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Llotja-Born
Puro Hotel
Puro Hotel
#32 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
494 reviews
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
434 reviews
Hotel Convent de la Missio
#20 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa

Property: Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa
Address: Calle Miramar 8, 07001 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#14 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#29 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palacio Ca Sa Galesa is an iconic 5-stars boutique-hotel in the heart of Palma de Mallorca. It is located in an elegant XVI century palace which perfectly combines island's architecture with French, Italian and English style.This charming hotel has 12 rooms, all of them unique and different. The wonderful interiors of Palacio Ca Sa Galesa are smartly decorated with valuable works of art by great artists such as Miro, Calder or Bennasar. The hotel is equipped with comfortable lounges and meeting rooms, a library, a bar, a restaurant, a breakfast room, a quiet courtyard for relaxing and a spacious terrace for sunbathing. Hotel's excellent location allows guests enjoying some excellent views of Palma's bay and Cathedral.Palacio Ca Sa Galesa offers a wide variety of quality services including Wi-Fi Internet access, 24 hour room service, express check-in/out, air conditioning, heating, parking facilities, free bike rental and a new wellness area with gym, thermal bath circuit, heated indoor pool, sauna, Roman bath, Jacuzzi and health and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Ca Sa Galesa Hotel
Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing